We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Kiltearn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltearn House
Ranked #1 of 2 Evanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at Kiltearn House with my fiance on the evening of the 8th December 2012 and had the most fantastic time.

The stay was truly special and memorable as I proposed to my future wife whilst there.

If you are looking for a peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and serene setting then you will not be dissapointed. The house it's self has a certain ambience and grandeur but not in an austentatious way.

The food was delicious and of a very high quality - Both evening meal and the fantastic breakfast as well.

Everything is maticulously clean, well organised and you are treated like royalty by the extremely hospitable Ed and Nel.

We've already booked up for the anniversary of our engagement and more than likely will be back before that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
88
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Wonderful stay at Kiltearn House with very attentive hosts, Ed and Nel. Location is situated on the shores of the loch and the only sounds were the lapping of the waves on the shoreline. Very comfortable rooms and food was excellent. Would definitely stay again and would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful base off the beaten track. A wee gem

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EVADOCSID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for a meeting in Invergordon. It's a beatiful situation, right by the shore of the loch.The house is a former manse (Victorian) and the rooms are well - proportioned, spotless & extremely comfortable. It was lovely & warm, the towels fluffy, bedlinen crisp and breakfast superb. Best of all the hosts make people feel welcome. My husband asked me not to write a review as he didn't want the place spoiled by hordes of folk! But they deserve top billing and we hope to be back in the not too distant future. Many thanks to you both.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Delia2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Kiltearn House. Our room was lovely with a fabulous view. Breakfast was delicious (it was wonderful to be able to select from an extensive breakfast menu the previous evening). Kiltearn House is in a wonderful setting, just off the beaten track, but near enough to other local facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Kiltearn House for 2 nights whilst my partner ran the Loch Ness marathon. Ed and Nel were fantastic hosts and made us both feel very welcome. It is obvious that they both put a lot of hard work and effort into the Kiltearn House, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the food is excellent (we had dinner and breakfast) and their attention to detail made our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely be recommending the Kiltearn House to family and friends as a great base to explore the surrounding area.

Thank you Ed and Nel, we hope to stay with you again in the not so distant future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 5 nights on a salmon fishing trip. The house is extremely comfortable and Ed and Nel were great hosts and could not do enough. Ed was kind enough to dry our waders and boots each evening. The food was superb and the cooked breakfast has to be recommended. The black pudding was the best I have ever had. I also recommend a dram of the Dalmore which Ed serves as it is a local distillery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent three nights here this past month. By far, it was our favourite place during our 11-day trip to Scotland. Kiltearn House is a gorgeous, spacious guest house situated directly on the Cromarty Firth. The grounds are nice, the view is beautiful. It is handy to the highway if you are using it as a base.
The breakfasts are very good. Both hot and cold choices are varied and plentiful. The service is outstanding!!! We had dinner there one night as well and it was very, very good.
The common room is warm and welcoming and is a nice place to meet other guests.
The room was large, bright and very clean and so nicely updated. It was the nicest room we had during our entire trip.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANsam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanton
5.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
370 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
736 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
336 reviews
11.0 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
12.7 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltearn House

Property: Kiltearn House
Address: Kiltearn, Evanton IV16 9UY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiltearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in Kiltearn, Evanton. Close to Dingwall, Alness and Invergordon Kiltearn Country House is a Gold 4 Star Country House offering hotel luxury with the personal touch. Built in 1894 this imposing Victorian Country House is set in a beautiful location directly on the Cromarty Firth foreshore with magnificent views over the sea. Situated as it is , Kiltearn Country House provides an ideal travelling base and easy travelling distance for exploring the northern area of Scotland as well as across to the West Coast and the Islands. All the bedrooms have been recently refurbished and beautifully appointed in both modern and traditional styles. All bedrooms and public areas have free WiFi. Whilst you relax in one of the comfortable chairs in the guest lounge sample a local malt or enjoy a glass of wine by the log burner.The whole house has a lovely tranquil ambiance and is an ideal escape from everyday hustle and bustle. Many of Scotland's finest golf courses, salmon rivers and distilleries are close by with Tain, Dornoch and Inverness also within easy reach. Kiltearn Country House is one of the finest Country Houses in the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiltearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltearn House Evanton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing