We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiltearn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltearn House
Ranked #1 of 2 Evanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My girlfriend booked a two night stay here for something different and we were really impressed . The two owners are great and were really attentive... The food is really great quality and you can come and go as you please. If you are in two minds with this place, trust me you wont be let down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmill832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
85
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely 2-night break using a Groupon voucher. We were delighted with our well-appointed room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, although small, contained all the necessaries. The shower was excellent. We appreciated the in-room information which helped us to plan some activities in the area.

Soon after settling in our room we were able to enjoy tea, coffee and cakes in the lounge, where there was a warm fire and squashy sofas. It was a nice way to unwind after a few hours' drive. That evening we ate at a pub in Evanton. Kiltearn House is located in a rural area and it was blissfully quiet at night. We both had a wonderfully restful sleep.

The next day we had a huge and tasty breakfast, cooked by Nel and served by Ed. It kept us going all day! And what a day - we did lots of exploring: a hike to the Black Rock Gorge, a walk on the beach at Shandwick, and a visit to the Pictish Stone at the Church in Nigg. We saw wildlife (seals and buzzards) too. This was a part of Scotland I have not visited before and I enjoyed the leisurely pace. On our return to our room we found that it had not just been cleaned and tidied, but the Easter Bunny had also visited and left each of us a chocolate treat! That evening we enjoyed a lovely meal at Kiltearn House. We were the only guests dining in at the time, and it felt very special. Twilight descended as we ate in the conservatory. Our menu was restaurant-grade, and my partner was thrilled with the wine choice.

After breakfast the second morning, we had a long and engaging chat with Nel. We were very sorry to be leaving once we were feeling so "at home", but all good things must come to an end.

Ed and Nel are a lovely couple and Kiltearn House is a testament to their attention to detail. It is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and retains it's charming character. The grounds and views are truly beautiful. It's the perfect venue for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

A last minute search for a room for the night after an unexpected business trip led me most happily to the Kiltearn. I don't think I can add anything more to the other reviews, only to affirm that the food and the hospitality is top notch! I would definately recommend it and I hope that I will be able to return. Ed and Nel are such lovely people and wonderful hosts. The photos don't lie, this place is a dream!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have known this establishment for many years since it was a church manse, a childrens home, and ultimately a B & B, and have, on numerous visits, always found it to be excellent in every way. This comment relates to the purchase of a Groupon Voucher, and the management disregard on trying to use it when trying to book a short break. Despite the website booking screens showing rooms to be available, I was advised that they were not available for the dates requested, nor for alternative dates - I was advised that Groupon bookings were not reflected on the room booking site, and one presumes from that that such guests were a back-up for low bookings, and not rated as proper guests. We were very disappointed missing the planned short break, and despite getting a refund from Groupon, the attitude and lack of explanation has certainly changed our views on revisiting. I am aware that it is again under new ownership, and do wish them well, but a a final word of advice would be to honour your offers, and retain existing customers as repeat business is a valuable asset.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michieg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie075, Owner at Kiltearn House, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
For a Groupon voucher holder to book on-line they would need to supply credit card details and a deposit would be taken for the booking status to change from available to confirmed. As Groupon retain all the money and only release the 50% payable to the accommodation provider once a guest has completed their stay, there is no deposit, so this is why Groupon bookings cannot be reflected on room booking sites. All rooms are either on reservation, referral, indicated or confirmed- naturally this information is not displayed on booking screens and therefore the reviewer could not determine availability himself. This is why the vouchers specifically request people to email their requests and Groupon state the offer is subject to availability.

At the time of the request, the reviewer was unable to redeem the voucher because all our rooms were on reservation for a company that had requested all our rooms for an extended period, or were already booked or indicated.

Due to consistent high occupancy levels we have to operate an efficient if somewhat complex booking system in order to avoid double bookings.

I am sorry for your disappointment and hope that now you have had a detailed explanation you will appreciate why we did not have availability at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

A last minute Google search led us to Kiltearn House. Absolutely lovely hosts and fantastic food. The house itself is beautiful and the surroundings brought all the peace we were after. Best weekend break we've ever had. We will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Kingsize and super king have views across the Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here whilst working in the area. Both my collegue and I can do no more than agree with the previous reviews of this establishmnet. The rooms were clean and fresh the food was excellent and the owners could not have been nicer. We had to start work early in the morning and Ed assured us that an early breakfast was no problem. (This was an unusual and welcome change from most hotels). The house has bags of character that has not been spoilt with the conversion to a hotel. The views accross the loch from my room were spectacular. If you are in the area this is one not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

First time to this very personable B&B. Hosts Ed and Nel couldn't have done more to make our stay such a warm, comfortable, welcoming stay. I even got a hug on arrival from Nel as I had been delayed with a flat tyre and arrived somewhat windswept and dishevelled.
The food was delightful , we had breakfast both days and evening meal once - more than enough and great quality.

Room Tip: Front bay window suite very romantic - view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redpump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanton
5.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
11.0 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
13.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltearn House

Property: Kiltearn House
Address: Kiltearn, Evanton IV16 9UY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiltearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in Kiltearn, Evanton. Close to Dingwall, Alness and Invergordon Kiltearn Country House is a Gold 4 Star Country House offering hotel luxury with the personal touch. Built in 1894 this imposing Victorian Country House is set in a beautiful location directly on the Cromarty Firth foreshore with magnificent views over the sea. Situated as it is , Kiltearn Country House provides an ideal travelling base and easy travelling distance for exploring the northern area of Scotland as well as across to the West Coast and the Islands. All the bedrooms have been recently refurbished and beautifully appointed in both modern and traditional styles. All bedrooms and public areas have free WiFi. Whilst you relax in one of the comfortable chairs in the guest lounge sample a local malt or enjoy a glass of wine by the log burner.The whole house has a lovely tranquil ambiance and is an ideal escape from everyday hustle and bustle. Many of Scotland's finest golf courses, salmon rivers and distilleries are close by with Tain, Dornoch and Inverness also within easy reach. Kiltearn Country House is one of the finest Country Houses in the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kiltearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltearn House Evanton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing