We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the North”
Review of Kiltearn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltearn House
Ranked #1 of 2 Evanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Kiltearn House is a special treat. Located right on the Kiltearn Bay it has a beautiful view, is very quiet and ideally located if you want to drive up North. We stayed at the Kiltearn House for two nights.

The rooms are full of light, the beds are very comfortable and they have a nice, fresh and more modern interior. The hosts, Ed and Nel are welcoming and were happy to provide us with tips for the area.

The Kiltearn's breakfast room is very spacious and has a beautiful view out to the gardens and the Bay, which together with a delicious breakfast make a perfect start into the day. One evening the hosts served us a fabulous dinner. There is only one restaurant in town and having dinner at the B&B provided us with a welcoming rest after a long day of sightseeing.

Tip: Just follow the road to the church and enjoy a nice one hour round-trip walk, which leads up to the village of Evanton.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Staying at Kiltearn in August was so delightful. I was there with my family for a wedding in the vicinity.Two of us were aged ladies and we had so much wonderful attention from the charming hosts. They made sure that we were comfortable and warm and the meals were excellent. The location provided us with tranquility; lovely to have gentle walks by the water. As it is such a long way from my home right down at the other end of the country I doubt if I will get up that far again but I would like to think that I might stay there one more time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A wonderfull old house with an amazing garden and elegant, cosy rooms.
We have been cuddled through our stay by Ed & Nel, kind and helpfull, and have enjoied every minute spent on the premises.
Nel is a very good cook, don't miss her three course menu, and be prepared for a fresh coocked,tasty breakfast. Ed prepared for us a wonderfull itinerary that took us to places we would not have visited. The house is in the perfect place to reach any tourist attraction spot and is such a calm, relaxing place you wish you could stay there forever.
Don't miss this B&B ,it's a real treat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margherita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had the most perfect time staying at Kiltearn House. A family wedding was the occasion with our party ages ranging from 16 to 91 - our every need was catered for. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The sitting room was perfect for a quiet rest between events, the dinners were delicious and personal touches such as putting the electric blankets on, for the older contingent, in anticipation of our return was very impressive and much appreciated. Ed and Nel were most welcoming and made our special weekend even more so. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Kiltearn House was a haven for us after several very full days of traveling. When we arrived, we were only sorry we had not gotten there earlier in the evening to enjoy this idyllic location and exquisitely kept historic home. Ed and Nel were warm and welcoming in every possible way. The rooms are beautifully done; fresh, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Little touches of charm and welcome are all about the place. We had almost canceled our dinner there, due to our over-the-top schedule. We were so glad we didn't! We couldn't possibly have gotten a meal anywhere in the area this delicious and well-prepared. After two and a half weeks all over Scotland we voted this our best meal yet. Nel was amazing! And Ed was a devoted host in every detail. The glass sun room in which we ate gave us stunning sunset views across picturesque Cromarty Firth, and later the moon across the water was beautiful from our room's bay window. Ed and Nel were kind and accommodating to our crazy schedule (breakfast was excellent) and we left these wonderful people regretful for just having had a short stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug and Mary L... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have just spend the last 15 days cycling lands end to John o Groats and we had the pleasure of staying at Kiltearn house on the way. Of the 15 B & B's we used this was the best. Friendly and hospitable hosts and wonderful home cooking. Would have loved to have stayed longer. Very highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked in for a weekend away and had a great time in this Guest House, the owners are a lovely couple who welcome you to their house and provide all that you need. It sits right on the banks of the Cromarty Firth and there are some great walks and views. Our room was big and had a great view across the water, which made it even more special. We were offered and evening meal "In House" on the friday night, take this offer every time as the food was exceptional and just as good as any restaurant that you would go to. The breakfasts as well were great with you ordering what you want from a list of cooked items, go for the haggis as it was really exceptional although the black pudding gave it a good run. It is a great location for exploring the area, whether it is Strathpeffer, Dornoch, Tain, Falls of Shin or so much more. To sum up, beatiful location, great hosts, fantastic food, very clean and homely establishment and somewhere that I would recommend to all........ thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: We used a Groupon voucher for here, bargain !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kiltearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltearn House

Address: Kiltearn, Evanton IV16 9UY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evanton
Price Range: $115 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiltearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in Kiltearn, Evanton. Close to Dingwall, Alness and Invergordon Kiltearn Country House is a Gold 4 Star Country House offering hotel luxury with the personal touch. Built in 1894 this imposing Victorian Country House is set in a beautiful location directly on the Cromarty Firth foreshore with magnificent views over the sea. Situated as it is , Kiltearn Country House provides an ideal travelling base and easy travelling distance for exploring the northern area of Scotland as well as across to the West Coast and the Islands. All the bedrooms have been recently refurbished and beautifully appointed in both modern and traditional styles. All bedrooms and public areas have free WiFi. Whilst you relax in one of the comfortable chairs in the guest lounge sample a local malt or enjoy a glass of wine by the log burner.The whole house has a lovely tranquil ambiance and is an ideal escape from everyday hustle and bustle. Many of Scotland's finest golf courses, salmon rivers and distilleries are close by with Tain, Dornoch and Inverness also within easy reach. Kiltearn Country House is one of the finest Country Houses in the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiltearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltearn House Evanton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing