We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views and great service”

Fyrish Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fyrish Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 15 Dingwall B&B and Inns
newton stewart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful views and great service”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed for 1 night and was very well looked after by Mr and Mrs Gunn . Decor is a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean ,quiet and beautiful views . I only wanted fruit and yoghurt for breakfast so didn't experience a cooked breakfast . great value for money and would use again if ever up that way again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazysusan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I agree with other reviewers that it was like staying with family more than being in a B&B. The Gunns are very welcoming and friendly and really made us feel very welcome. Mr Gunn even dropped us into town that evening for our meal as it was raining. Any issues with the curtains letting light in had been sorted as we slept very well indeed. The breakfast was huge and really lovely - kept us going from 9am - 2pm!! The setting is amazing, such beautiful views. If I am ever back in this neck of the woods I would definitely stay here. Thanks for such a warm friendly welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My son, walking Barefoot from John O' Groats to Lands End, was treated with kindness from his first moment in Fyrish house. he enjoyed every moment of his stay and said if he ever returns to Dingwall, he won't stay anywhere else but Fyrish. Thank you so much for your kindness,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryorr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Excellent B&B, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and enormously welcoming.

We stayed there for a wedding up at Tulloch Castle. It really did feel like I was staying with lovely relatives. Mr Gunn even drove us to the wedding - so we didn't have to pay for a taxi - and en route took us for a proud tour of the sites of little Dingwall. They couldn't do enough forus. Oh yes and breakfast was excellent.

Criticisms - well the décor is chintzy as hell, but entirely in keeping with the amiable grandparent feel. It was £60 which I thought was perhaps a bit steep for a classic B&B. But other than that fine.

One tip is that Mr Gunn suggested that if we stayed again we should call him in advance as he would even pick us up from the airport. Now that's a generous offer as it's 20 miles, and so well worth asking about.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stopped at the Fyrish for 1 night in May 2007.

The B&B is set in fantastic surroundings. It is at the end of Ferry Lane as you turn right from the train station. We caught the train from Inverness and it took about 10 minutes (slow) walk to the accommodation. This means that the town centre is also just a 10 minute walk. You have wonderful sea views when the tide is in and there is beautiful walking and scenery just yards from Fyrish. There is also an abundance of wildlife and birdlife to view - superb!

We were warmly greeted on arrival by the lady of the house who was very friendly. When we returned from our evening out (about 11pm) the gentleman of the house made tea and biscuits for ourselves and two other guests who had also just returned.

The room was immaculately clean and had a nice "new" feel about it. We had a sink in the room whilst our bathroom with shower and bath was directly opposite. Again the bathroom was immaculate.

Breakfast consisted of cereal followed by an excellent cooked breakfast and lots of tea and toast. Definitely the perfect way to start the day!

My one complaint were the curtains in our room - hence the title. These were light in colour - result was that at 4.30am our room was bathed in sunlight - my body thought it was daytime and I was wide awake! At 6 am I gave up trying to sleep and went for a walk before breakfast at 8. It was not the refreshing nights sleep that I desired and this rather spoilt what is an excellent B&B in a superb location.

The lady of the house told me that other people had mentioned the curtains and that she has some new ones on order. When these arrive I would definitely recommend Fyrish. Until then, if you want a good nights sleep, don't forget to pack an eyemask!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — The curtains!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary_and_Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingwall hotels
0.3 mi away
National Hotel Dingwall
National Hotel Dingwall
#3 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#4 of 15 in Dingwall
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Dingwall Guest House
#10 of 15 in Dingwall
3 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tornapress
Tornapress
#1 of 15 in Dingwall
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fyrish Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fyrish Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fyrish Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fyrish Ferry Road, Dingwall IV15 9QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dingwall
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Fyrish Bed And Breakfast Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing