We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing with very poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Conon Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Conon Bridge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Dingwall B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing with very poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

When i arrived on the monday night after a 9 hour drive i asked about food and the reply i got was ' i will ask the chef and see how he feels ' , this was 1.5 hrs before the restaraunt was due to close.
There were some very noisy young girls swearing loudly in the public bar which was carrying through to the lounge where myself and others were having our meal.
The television had only 1 channel available.
When i went for a wash in the morning i found there was no hot water.
I decided to check out after having breakfast even tho i had booked in for 4 nights.
The chef was in charge of the booking out and when he asked me why i was checking out early i told him about the lack of hot water and no tv channels.
He apologised to me and said that it was a regular occurence!
When he called the manager asking about how to deal with this the manager asked to speak with me.
I explained my reasons wth him about my premature departure.
He then pointed out to me about his hotel policy of a 2 day payment in the event of cancelling after the first night.
I said i would pay for my 1 night which i had stayed but not for 2 nights due to my complaints and reasons for leaving in the first place.
He basically said i was lying and showed no compassion to my circumstances whatsoever, and wouldnt change his mind about charging me for the 2 days.
After i refused he told the chef nt to charge me anything.
When i checked with the credit card company later i found he had charged me for the 2 days and taken it off my card .
Im sure i'm not the first person to fall foul of this hotel nor will i be the last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    11
    20
    32
See reviews for
14
22
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

I do not recognise the hotel from some of the previous comments. I had a lovely big room well furnished and so comfortable the staff were wonderful, and friendly and the food was good too no complaints at all and would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

My only tiny complaint would be the lumpy mattress in my single room, but that can be fixed easily and cheaply by the owners.

Other than that I loved this place. It is well situated on the main street in Conon Bridge and you can walk along the nearby River.

The best thing about this place was the food. I had a great "lamb shank" followed by the best ever Sticky Toffee Pudding which was so gorgeous I photographed it to post on here (how sad?!!!).

The dining room is nicely illuminated and cosy and the host and staff were all very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

stayed for 2 nights good value for money had really goodnights sleep staff pleasant and helpful lovely breakfast you cant please everyone .i would stay again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

Breakfast was good and waitress was pleasant.
The hotel would have been accectable 30 years ago but, standards have improved but not it would appear here.
Beds had no mattress cover which is unhygienic, lumpy and uncomfortable
Sockets in walls were not working. Water temperature in shower was not controlable Plumbing was very noisy .Very difficult to open windows. The list is endless. This is not a budget hotel so think very carefully before booking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

Eyemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed here for two weeks whilst working in the area. Lovely room and the food and breakfasts were brill. Thoroughly recommend

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dunbar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIFE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel is quite possibly THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. One night was one night to many.Room 6 was like living in a cold wardrobe.
The Bathroom was also filthy and cold and after having a shower i felt dirtier than when i went in.
I cannot comment on the evening meal.After taking one look at the room i decided not to take a chance on dinner.
The Riverside Inn across the road was very welcoming,with open log fire and pleasant proprietor and did very good food.It was a pity they didn't have rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARKY-FIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islasand, Owner at Conon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2010
This person made a booking then cancelled. He then turned up at the hotel begging for a room and we advised that we only had an emergency room available which was not en-suite. He insisted on taking this and proceeds to complain. The toilet was not dirty as he states but as it was a shared bathroom the previous incumbent may not have left it as he would have liked. This person was ( he claimed) used to booking rooms in 5 star hotels at cheap rates - well we are not a 5 star hotel but a modest and comfortable hotel where guests are well looked after. The guest did however admit that our breakfast was of 5 star quality.
We tried to help this person but it does appear we wasted our time - and yes he did miss our acclaimed food but that is his loss!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
1.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.0 mi away
National Hotel Dingwall
National Hotel Dingwall
#3 of 3 in Dingwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.8 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conon Bridge Hotel

Property: Conon Bridge Hotel
Address: High Street | Conon Bridge, Dingwall IV7 8HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conon Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional highland village hotel providing comfortable accommodation coupled with very attentive service. Hotel has two bars and a restaurant and serves excellent quality meals using the best of locally sourced products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conon Bridge Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing