We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I have to say that the hotel and location look different on the internet. Location-wise the hotel seemed on a remote hill outside Dingwall while it was situated next to ordinary houses in an ordinary neighborhood of Dingwall. On our way in things started feeling better as the reception gives the feeling of an old castle (which presumably it is) and the staff were really nice and welcoming. However, our double bedroom was over-priced at €120/night compared to a castle hotel of the same Oxford chain of hotels (Stonefield Castle) where we stayed for €80/night and had a much much better experience (both 3-star hotels). Needless to say that in Edinburgh we stayed at a boutique 5-star hotel for €108 per night. Moreover, the pillow cases were worn out and the blanket was a disgusting rug that we took off when we saw it (when told the hotel staff replied that these are their standard blankets - changed it with a much better duvet). We also had issues with flushing the toilet as it took over 5 minutes to fill up after each use (we were told that this is because the hotel is old - been to other old hotels and this was not the case!!). Again, in comparison with other hotels we stayed at throughout our Scotland road trip the room only had one little shampoo for two people, one little bath gel and one little soap! Also, when I walked in the bathroom the first time there was hair from the previous person on the tiles in the bathtub. As for breakfast, for €120/night very poor...just Scottish cooked breakfast, cerial, jams and a couple of juices. That's all...Oh, and charged €10/day for internet access (free everywhere else we went to). All in all, NOT recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gparpairis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to see that you gave our service an excellent rating. 800 year old historic castles do tend to be set in acres of ground, however this is not the case here in Dingwall albeit the original quaint footpaths surrounding the castle add mystery and accessibility despite being surrounded by other houses. Rates do vary from hotel to hotel, and throughout the travel and hospitality industry rates are increased or decreased depending on demand. The special offer rate you paid reflected a saving of nearly 40% against our normal tariff which includes breakfast in our four star Tulloch Castle hotel.

I am pleased that our housekeeper was able accommodate your request for a duvet instead of blankets. However, I am very unhappy that the level of cleanliness was not up to scratch in the bathroom, and direct action has been taken as a result of your comments. With regard to shampoo and soap, to avoid waste, more toiletries are offered on request.

Regarding breakfast, I am very surprised at your comments. Our breakfast menu is currently as follows: Choice of orange, grapefruit and apple juices. prunes, orange segments, fresh fruit bowl, cereals such as bran flakes, cornflakes, rice crispies, weetabix, alpen and porridge, a selection of fruit and natural yoghurt, all available from the buffet. In addition we serve fresh coffee, tea, a selection of herbal teas, brown or white toast, croissant and toasted crumpets. For a full Scottish breakfast, we offer a choice of bacon, sausages, black pudding, sauteed button mushrooms, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, hash brown potatoes, potato scones and fried or scrambled eggs. Available also from the menu are vegetarian sausages, boiled eggs with finger toast, poached eggs, smoked haddock or grilled kippers. We also have a selection of cheese and cold sliced ham available on request.

The potenital for including a complimentary Wi-Fi service is currently being reviewed.

Thank you for your comments, they are most welcome as it helps the management team focus on issues which our customers and we, care about most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    204
    113
    82
    70
See reviews for
126
396
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I got married here last week and we had a wonderful time. It was everything you would expect a Scottish Castle to be. Tartan carpets, reds, blues and greens everywhere. Lovely old heavy furniture. Regal beds. Homely open fire. The staff were second to none. They could not have been more helpful and attentive. The food was amazing, the best we have had in a long time. I would love to go back again. With regards to the comments about the castle being tired, yes some of the cracks could be filled in and painted over and room 8 is not the most welcoming but its a castle, not a plush modern central London hotel. It would be ruined if it was modernised too much. A couple of gripes from our guests were the shower was more of a dribble than a gush and the temperature of the water could have been hotter but in our room (room 12) it was fine. There was also a lack of toilet roll but the nice chap on reception duty soon sorted that out. My only moan is that we did not see any ghosts!! Many thanks to everyone at Tulloch Castle and we hope to see you again one day.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — No ghosts!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2009
We would like to thank you for posting your review, which we were delighted to read. In particular we are so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding with us, it's such a special day and we were very honoured to be part of it. The staff do work extremely hard and so it's very rewarding to read such positive feedback recognising their efforts. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you, your family and guests back to Tulloch Castle in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed here for a few days due to working n the area and I was more than happy with the rooms and service, there was a big new year package on but we were not left out and well looked after by Kate the general manager and her excellent staff.
The food and service is excellent in the restaurant and in the bar and I would definately recommend the hotel if you are in the area for business or pleaure.
Lot of history attached to the place and it's well worth a visit to the main hall to see the two large paintings there, I also stayed in the haunted room 8 but didn't see the green lady, maybe next time?

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Drynachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Glad I booked through Easybreaks as the room was not worth the £195 as advertised. Got the room + DBB for £35 each per night and stayed two.
Unfortunately we were there when the Christmas office parties were on, everyone has to have a blow out before Christmas but being wakened at 2:30am was a bit of a pain. A distinct lack of qualified staff to look after the guests which was painfully obvious in the restaurant; extremely difficult to raise even a glimmer of a smile from the young waiting? staff. A good Rioja was £42, way overpriced, even for a 'gran reserva' the food was similar to that served at a christmas party, no individual cooking for us as the chef must have been busy elsewhere.
Some parts of the castle really look the part, old woodwork, grand staircase, heavy doors and reasonably tasteful decor. Others were not!
Our room (8) reputedly 'haunted', was ok, overly hot and no way to turn on or off the radiator. The valve was stuck closed, but even without it, the vivid orange rotating heater provided enough heat and light to scare away any Green Lady.
No offers of ghost tours as advertised, no receptionist, no friendly chat with the staff and no view from our room at the east of the castle.
All in all, cheap, as are most easybreak booked hotels, would I go back, naw, don't think so. Once is enough for me.

  • Liked — The old parts of the castle
  • Disliked — The new parts of the castle
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2009
In response to your comments above we would like to confirm that Easybreaks had been informed that this weekend was a Christmas Party weekend and so it is disappointing that you don't seem to have been made aware of this prior to your stay. Our Chefs prepare every dish to order and the menu always reflects the time of year. Our wine list caters for various price brackets, indeed our alternative Rioja is priced under £20 (Dec 08). The guest directory, of which there is a copy in every room, advises guests to contact reception if they wish to book a ghost tour. We are very disappointed that you did not seem to have experienced the usual highland hospitality and enjoyed your stay as much as our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inderoy Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The positive things to say about this place is the friendly staff and the good Scottish breakfast they serve.
The location of the castle is special, but apart from the reception, the rooms we saw in the Castle needed redecoration. The place seemed to be a little worn out.
We stayed in a double room in the newer (?) part of the castle. The twin beds were worn and the matresses were not comfortable. The floor in our room sloped in all directions, as did the beds and tables and that to an extent that actually made it uncomfortable. You can hear every sound in this house.

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Good scottish breakfast.
  • Disliked — Bedroom and the beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehuldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
Thank you for the kind remarks regarding the staff and breakfast.

The part of the building in which this room is located in the older part being some 500 years old and as such it is a little crooked.

The room is one of our standard rooms and therefore is furnished more simply than some of our other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Just back from our second stay at Tulloch Castle, we stayed this time last year for our anniversary and enjoyed it so thought we would have a return visit.

When we phoned to book they only had twin rooms left not the best for an anniversary night away but we booked anyway as we had enjoyed our pervious trip so much.

when we arrived the receptionist asked if we'd booked a twin and i said yes as that was all that was available she then said they'd had a cancellation and had a double which was great. We got shown to room 17 which had a sitting area that led through to the bedroom part which had a four poster bed : )

we went down to the bar and got some drinks which we took through to the fireside where there was a lovely fire it was so cozy and relaxing it was a struggle to leave to go back upstairs to change for dinner!!

we had booked dinner in the hotel resturant which is very softly lit with plenty of room between the tables so you feel quite private, the food was as on our last visit excellant and as the previous review said served by young girls who were all very pleasant and good at thier jobs I certainly wouldn't say they were untrained!!

After dinner we took the remainder of our champagne upstairs to enjoy in our room.

There was a Wedding on and while it didn't stop us getting to sleep we were woken by some of the guests as they were leaving and again woken early in the morning by the creaking floorboards as the staff arrived for work ( or at least thats what we thought it was!! )

I only mention it as a reminder to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper which of course i'd forgotten!!! the bed was by the way very comfortable and i didn't want to leave it in the morning!!

great powerful shower in an adaquete bathroom although the wallpaper could be done with replacing.

breakfast was served in the dining room this time previously it was served in the oak room which i preferred, the dining room was very warm which was quite uncomfortable and the breakfast was acceptable not the best we've had but by no way the worst either.

all in all another lovely stay and i'm sure we will stay again
hope you enjoy it as much as we did if you decide to go : )

  • Liked — sitting by the fire, the food, the four poster bed
  • Disliked — having to come home and forgetting the earplugs!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have stayed 2 nights in the castle thinking this would be the highlight of our tour through Scotland- which it was absolutely not. The pictures shown on the internet are a masterpiece from a savy photographer but they do not reflect the reality in this estabilshment:
- everything looks a bit shabby
- our fourposter bedroom dark and smelly with view towards the backyard
- after complaints have been given the best room the honeymoon suite which was ok
- bar did not look very inviting and its realtively modern furniture (in relation to the rest of the castle) seemed to be out of place
- reception service ok but not more
- every morning on our way to and from breakfast the whole corridor was covered in used bed linen, towels, leftovers from other guests, all the things noone wants to see- the maid had just thrown everything outside of the rooms
- the door to the absolutely appaling office of the management was open all the time spoiling the time in front of the open fire in the hall as you could see all the run dun furniture in there and the chaos there
- situation of the castle was too close to the town, no nice views really exist
- food in the castle restaurant was excellent, the service freindly but with no trining whatsoever (young girls helping out)
- breakfast was ok

To sum it up: It does not meet the expectations one would have after seeing the homepage with its pictures and taking the expensive rates into account.

  • Liked — Food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — the rest
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank always0nthem0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
Please be assured we take your comments most seriously and I have discussed your comments with my Managers and Heads of Departments. Here at Tulloch Castle we pride ourselves in customer service and the standards we offer and clearly on this occasion we have failed to deliver as promised. I would like to thank you for your constructive comments as these will aid us with staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
5.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Property: Tulloch Castle Hotel
Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing