We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by a friendly receptionist and shown to room 11. Nice view but on the top floor. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was good, sausages could have been better, but other items were fine. A very old building, and querky in places, full of history and a ghost!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your thoughts on the hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will review our sausages with our supplier - thank you once again.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 772 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Arrived late afternoon on spec. Happy to be told they could squeeze us in. Room 6 is at the back of the Castle up several flights and along corridors. Heating was on full blast and can't be adjusted. Shower room is grubby and the shower is useless. Evening meal was excellent. Serving staff and chef very good. Breakfast was like something out of Fawlty Towers. Stop playing the inane music on the cheap cassette player. Scotland has more to offer than that.

Room Tip: Don't get room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jac448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Our restaurant has now been returned to its usual location after some refurbishment, so things have become more "normal" with regards to location and service.
Thanks you once again
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic room with huge four poster bed and large balcony overlooking the surrounding area,
Had the full Scottish breakfast which was awful, very cheap sausages and bacon and disgusting black pudding.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night. Check in staff courteous and helpful. A promising start.
Room was very nice and clean with lovely views- noticed one of the curtain tie backs was ripped- disappointing.
Breakfast room was not the normal one which was being decorated, I think. I attached in breakfast room and all staff were ensconced behind the scenes. Eventually, I was greeted and offered a table- with no menu. Took one myself from nearby table. Ordered tea which came but with no milk on table I again had to 'borrow' from elsewhere. This was the most disappointing aspect. Poached egg was perfect. I was served one rasher of bacon and a mass produced poor quality sausage- isn't there an award winning butcher in Dingwall? Cereal and milk and juice just sitting out on a table- I appreciate that it wasn't their usual setup but all a bit lacklustre. Considering the price of a room I'm sure they could and should do better.
I feel that with a few minor changes, and the addition of top quality food, staying in this castle could be a truly grand experience. It all felt just a bit flat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinagmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed there for a weekend and not what expected from a four star hotel. The whole hotel is in need of some TLC, outside paint work needing done. Room 5 had had a leak through the ceiling at one point and the wall paper badly stained and ceiling had had a badly done patch up job. The floor in our bedroom was on a slope obviously with the age of the castle but that adds to the character but the furniture was all sloping forward due to this and the wardrobe door was hard to open, the dressing table drawer fell apart when we tried to open it so decided best left alone. No hair dryer in our room.
On a positive our room was really warm and cosy and clean. Most of the staff were really nice and friendly and went out of their way to help you. Wish we could have said that re the receptionist on Sunday morning 13/4/2014 when we went to check out, tried to overcharge us saying there was a surcharge on the bill to which she could not explain what it was for nor did we get a full breakdown of the account which you would normally get, she eventually removed the surcharge but you could see she was not happy and no other words were spoken from her, found her rude and not a people person not a person you would expect on the reception desk.
When we arrived at the hotel other lovely receptionist told us there was going to be a ceilidh on the Saturday night and we might have some disturbance but we never heard a thing and she also showed us to our room and explained because of alterations one of the restaurants was out of use and explained where else to go.
The food was good apart from the hotel being out of mushrooms and fish and two of the draught lager pumps broken in the bar.
A lovely quite location with plenty of things to see and do in the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craftk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a meal last night the main course was salmon I suggest management should check on this as my husband and I were both very ill after eating the salmon . Sorry we should have said something at the time
Yours sincerely

Evening guests

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mhairicormack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff, quiet location. Had a great weekend and would definitely recommend. Hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and very helpful receptionist. My mother, daughter and I had a great weekend. Thanks to everyone.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank lizziebrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
602 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range: $73 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing