We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and thread bear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Tulloch castle was a bit of a disappointment. There is no doubt is has a certain charm and the log fire at the reception is rather cosy. The staff were helpful and friendly and a decent breakfast was served. Unfortunately, the condition of the hotel let it down and it was not worth the £104 for bed and breakfast.
The hotel is a bit old fashioned and the price should reflect this. It is way over priced.
1. No lunch in the bar after 2.30 including Sundays.
2. The furniture in the rooms was old including the old style TV and lumpy bed.
3. The Kettle had to be boiled on floor as flex was too short to reach table
4. Plaster coming off wall in Dining room alcove
5. Noisy around 5 in the morning with banging coming from the court yard
6. Carpets in passageways’ threadbare
7. Only a few seats in lounge and difficult to get a coffee

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not look into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this ocassion. I am disappointed when a guest did not enjoy their stay as we get many guests who positively comment on our hotel and facilities. We are constantly reviewing and maintaining and I have taken your comments on board to be use as an aid in the future. Thank you once again for leaving your feedback.
Kind regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 770 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a family vacation, at this stage with our adult son and his fiancee, we arrived at Tulloch Castle late in the afternoon and immediately fell under its spell. We were warmly received and shown to our two rooms, into which we no sooner began happily settling when we were respectfully visited by Laura, who informed us that the shower in our room was apparently not working; she apologised and offered us the keys to the family apartment, an enchanting grouping of connected, beautifully furnished rooms to which our party was delighted to accept an upgrade. The only thing we could have wished for was more time to enjoy the deluxe accommodation, but the old folks were happy the younger ones chose to retire to their quarters to curl up with their computers (availing of good internet connection, despite the pre-electronic age thick stone walls), leaving us free to enjoy a relaxing soak in the clawfoot tub. A great night's sleep awaited each of us, and breakfast the next day was a wonderful, relaxing experience. The variety of continental buffet and cooked-to-order items wonderfully satisfied our varying appetites, while the subtle period music and genuinely warm service nurtured and prepared us for a busy day of travel. We sincerely appreciate the gracious hospitality offered us during our too brief stay, and we shall highly recommend Tulloch Castle to all our friends while looking forward to a return visit to Scotland—which will not be complete without a (longer) stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoBeard_and_thWench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful comments. Our apartment is a great facility for a grouping of friends or family and we are glad this added to your Tulloch Castle experience. We hope that you can stay with us longer next time!
Best regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our rooms were clean and comfortable and offered good value for money.Evening meal was good, the smoked haddock rissoto was excellent The staff were friendly and accomodating and kindly arranged for us to have a late check out as our son is unwell. The owner could arrange some better signage. It was a miserable wet day when we arrived and the receptionist organised us drinks by the fire, which was much appreciated. We all had a good nights sleep, however the bar doesn't sit well with the atmosphere of the castle and could do with a bit more character. It could easily be an excellent with some thought and money spent on it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olitaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staffing and meals, which I have passed on. We are currently trying out new ideas for the bar to encorporate more of the Castle History. Thank you once again.
Kindest regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

staff very helpful food very good,me and my wife enjoyed sitting in front of the log fire in the main hallway . will go back again and dog friendly at no extra cost, nice setting. castle looked nice at night with the front of it all lighted up

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel certainly has character, and that is why we choose it. It could do with a bit of TLC here and there, but if it was perfect, it wouldn't have the same feel, in some ways it just added to the character. Although it was close to Dingwall and a housing estate, once your inside you could be anyway.. Unfortunately we were too tired to do the Ghost tour, which I would have enjoyed, as i was starting to feel the spookiness of the castle. Anyone looking for orbs, I had loads in my photos!.
Our breakfast was good, with a choice of continental, full English, smoked haddock, eggs benidict and more. The restaurant in the evening was very relaxing and had an intimate atmosphere. If you can overlook the imperfections, you will enjoy staying here. We did.!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely feedback. You obviously appreciated the historic and characterful nature of Tulloch Castle. Thank you once again, the staff will appreciate you comments.
Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Tulloch Castle including dinner on the first night. The "Castle" is atmospheric, the grounds could do with a little love and affection as could the exterior of the building but inside the warmth of the staff, the quality of the food more than made up for it. Dinner in the Turret Room first night was delicious and the breakfasts varied and versatile. Our room (14) had one king and one double bed, clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. The only criticism I had was the extractor in the bathroom wasn't working.
Dingwall, like many highland towns is small with a smattering of shops. A perfect jumping off spot either south of Inverness or up into the highlands, with a couple of good whisky distilleries to visit in the vicinity. All in all a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Try for a front facing room with views over the Cromarty Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our staff take pride in their work and will be happy to hear your feedback. Thank you once again and hopefully we will be able to see you again at Tulloch Castle Hotel.
Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was really looking forward to this, our last night in bonny S. The receptionist, when she'd finished scratching her nostrils, shrugged her shoulders at our dismay on learning that a wedding disco was happening beneath our room. Where was the "I'm sorry can we offer you an alternative room?" they don't appear to do "staff training". It was like a Mexican stand off to view another room. Once through the darkness and dim lighting, to conceal the poor decor, the rooms were shabby and hot.
Breakfast was interesting - one tea bag between two of us, no offer of toast unless you requested and the smoked haddock was barely defrosted. It was SO dark in the restaurant
I couldn't wait to leave. Thank goodness we didn't waste money on an evening meal.
Outside, there has been no interest in the property, weeds grow out of the stonework.
It was the ideal place for a drunken wedding reception, other guests were woken by jolly drunken lasses screaming up and down the corridors and banging on doors.
Don't go there ........

Room Tip: when booking check if there's an EVENT with a DISCO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAW8645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your interesting comments and we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We did indeed have a local wedding in the function rooms on the night of your stay and I understand our receptionist managed to organise you an alternative room, which you accepted, away from the entertainment. There were many children at this wedding who were running around, on the ground reception level, and I am sorry, if they disturbed you. We have taken on board your feedback and will address the breakfast issues. Thank you once again.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
601 reviews
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range: $74 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing