We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal with family”
Review of The Culbokie Inn

The Culbokie Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely meal with family”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great value for money, big portions, fresh food. the staff were friendly and very helpful. we were asked if we wanted the children's meal when it was ready or with the rest of the mains, which is unusual but appreciated as kids can't always wait as long for their food. really enjoyed our visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chard
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great I'm afraid. Not quite what trip advisor reviews would lead you to believe...”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate there yesterday and too be honest it won't be on our list to go back too.
Three of the four meals were ok, not great, but ok. The portions were small for the price and didn't leave any of us satisfied. One meal though, the pie of the week, was a bit of a disaster and not really what the advertising would have lead you to believe.
It states that its a home made pie with puff pastry but it looked like a mass produced one which was made of short crust. If the price was less it would have been acceptable but at over £10 for a tesco pie and a small amount of veg wasn't good.
Maybe it was a off night but we can only go on what was put before us and I'm afraid it wasn't great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S_J_HALLETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have been several times & always received good service & great food. Would recommend to all visitors & locals to sample the menu which all the ingredients are sourced locally & to the highest standards

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 667212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service & food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good choice of food to suit all tastes. Staff friendly & attentive. Small local pub, not too far to travel from inverness but worth the trip as you can enjoy views over hills. Would suggest booking a table so you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Omega69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness/glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

great choice on the menu - chatty helpful staff - nice atmosphere despite a bit of a damp smell on entering - the food was plentiful tasty and hot - at a decent price - what more could you ask for

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank g2jml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culbokie Inn also viewed

Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 
Evanton, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Culbokie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing