We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Grub for Very Hungry People including Veggies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culbokie Inn

The Culbokie Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Grub for Very Hungry People including Veggies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Large portions of good food.Always piping hot and fresh. For the carnivore, plenty of tasty options using local produce. Dear fellow herbivores more choices for us than usual! Yahoo!! Tortilla with vegetables in a creamy Tikka sauce,with large portion of decadent but delicious chips is to be recommended.You can also have mushroom wellington,a delightful dish with lovely puff pastry,a big Portobello mushroom and a huge daud,as we say en ecosse, of veggie haggis.Delicious with the large portion of delicious chips.There is also an aubergine based dish which I haven't yet tried. Athpugh not on the menu,You can have the haggis,neeps and tatties (choice of sauces-mustard or whisky) from the carnivore section but replaced with veggie haggis.Very nice with the large portion of .........etc etc!

Unless you wish to explode in full view of you fellow diners, beware of a three course meal! Puds look delicious though! I had a delightful bowl of home-made potato and leek soup followed by the veggie haggis,neeps and tatties and nearly had to be wheelbarrowed home.(nothing at all to do with wine I may add.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmhighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fabulous place to eat.We arrived around 5:00pm and asked if they were serving food. The landlady said that she would set the cookers going for us no problem. The food was delicious and all home cooked, even real chips n0ot frozen. Ambiance, food, customer service all excellent. can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Full marks. A real find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a wonderful pub and restaurant.
The welcome, the atmosphere, the landlady (who is also the excellent chef) and the food are top notch.
There is so very little else in the area worth a visit in terms of quality food that this pub stands out a mile. The menu is thoughtful and well balanced and really excellent value for money, portions are big so go hungry or share a starter!
The vegetarian choices are great too - a bit of a rarity in this part of Scotland unless you particularly like cheese and mashed potato in pies - try the vegetarian haggis dish, you will not be disappointed.
Despite arriving slightly before opening time for lunch (1pm) we were invited in and given drinks and menus and asked if we minded waiting while the landlady finished opening up. Great service and much appreciated as we had been searching for somewhere decent to eat.
Clearly much effort has been put in to make this a successful pub and restaurant and it has really paid off.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SchleebyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Showed up without reservation in the hopes of getting a table and were warmly welcomed. No table on the dining room side, but offered full service in the bar side. The food lived up to what we had read on TripAdvisor, with the Black Isle Welli even better than expected and the lamb chops the best I have had anywhere. Beyond reasonable prices and lovely conversation from other local diners.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_from_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We telephoned from the Gastronomic Wilderness that is Dingwall to see if the Inn was open for lunch. Cut to voice mail, hang up. Imagine the surprise when, 10 or so minutes later, we get a call back. Yes, open for lunch, yes we have wireless and yes, dogs allowed in the public bar.So we arrived at 12.30 to a Closed Door. Investigation round the back found Mine Hostess who, although destined not to open until 13.00, quickly unlocked the door, poured the lunchtime pints and left us with the excellent menus. A couple of hours later we staggered out over-full of quite excellent food and wine. Try the haggis - meat OR vegetarian - and above all, GO THERE HUNGRY. Portions are formidable and the hospitality should soon be legendary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhileasMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culbokie Inn also viewed

Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 
Evanton, Ross and Cromarty
Munlochy, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Culbokie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing