We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a sea view this is the place to stay”
Review of Old Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you want a sea view this is the place to stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We booked a short break at this hotel but ended up staying for five days. I can fully recommend this hotel especially if you like views of the sea. We had a bedroom with a lovely large wooden decked balcony which had superb views over the golf course and the sea. There is a lovely walk across the golf course and onto the beach. We were extremely lucky with the weather so therefore saw the hotel at it's best. The staff were very friendly and the meals were great. Breakfast in the conservatory was lovely overlooking the sea. You must get a sea view room here (it is well worth the supplement). The food in the Coachman Bistro was excellent with plenty of choice. Overall I would recommend this hotel for my age group (fifty something). I will definitely return here as I have relatives nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    144
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
108
258
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We read some pretty awful reviews after we booked a 2 night stay B&B+ Dinner, but I can say we were really pleased with our stay.We were upgraded to a room with a huge balcony overlooking the golf course and the coast.The hotel was warm and cozy and the staff were friendly.Dinner at this time of year is in The Coachman's Bistro-the food was great.Breakfast was also great with a serve yourself juice,cereals and fruit table then a full cooked breakfast if you liked,served in a room with panoramic views.Some of the reviews date back to a time when the hotel was under different management,but I can say they've got it right now.Considering what we paid it was excellent value and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in February 2009. Had a good deal via the 'Yorkshire Post' newspaper. Hotel is of traditional type and appeared well maintained. Decor throughout is traditional, perhaps due for a little up-dating, but we thought it attractive overall. It is a low-rise building with an attractive outlook over a links golf course and the sea. Breakfast is served in a terrace extension overlooking this view - it was tasty, plentiful and served up efficiently and consisted of all the usual hot and cold 'suspects'. Because it was low season, dinner was served in a small seperate building/restaurant opposite reception called 'The Coachman' which is open to the public and not in the hotel proper. We found the food to be average at best and lacking in any imagination - the menu consisted of run of the mill dishes that you can get cheaply anywhere - and we thought the vegetables in particular were of poor quality and poorly presented. The service, however, was cheerful and efficient. Our room was in a small two storey extension just off reception and had a small terrace with lovely veiws over the links and sea. It was clean and tidy but in need of a refurb - especially the mattress which was clearly old, being hard lumpy and not very nice. The sheets were also old and thin. Our en-suite was in great need of a refurb, having dark brown faux marble panels all around and cheap vinyl floor covering. The floor creaked and bounced incredibly loudly and was quite alarming. It was, however, clean and tidy. All the staff we encountered were cheerful, efficient and happy to help and some careful refurbishment and improvements to the food in The Coachman will make this a nice hotel. The pretty coastal towns of Pittenweem, Anstruther and St. Andrews are all a short drive away and access to the coastal footpath is available just across the golf course. We enjoyed our stay but would hesitate to recommend this hotel unless we knew the bedroom/bathrooms had been upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

It has been several years since I last stayed at The Old Manor - before it became part of the Swallow Group - and it has definitely lost much of its shine (and its excellent cuisine) since then. The rooms have the three main features that you find of such hotels in this part of the world; no mixer taps, poor quality electric shower in the bath and an aversion to warm duvets on the beds! However, these oddities were added to by a television that I had not seen since my student days (though it was in colour!) and table lamps with low watt bulbs that looked as if they had been bought in a jumble sale some 40 years ago!

But my room - No.5 - had a beautuiful view over the golf links (covered in a very heavy frost one morning) - and although the room was warm in the evening, the heating was off during the night, which meant that I woke up cold with the sub-zero temperatures outside.

On the evening that we wished to eat at the hotel, we were advised that the hotel restaurant was closed (is this becoming a habit??) but that we could eat instead at the Coachman's Bistro outside; but we were also told that the Bistro closed at 8.30 in the evening! Even worse, the bar also closed at this same time! However, the duty staff managed to provide a wee dram for me to drink in the entrance hall!

Breakfast was good, with the possibility of having a good Scottish breakfast; proper service and not a buffet trolley in sight!

Which brings me to the two saving graces of the hotel - the staff, who were most helpful, and the price. Our rooms only cost GBP 50 each night and from that point of view, it was good value for money. But it would be nicer and much more welcoming if the hotel could pull its socks up a bit, add a bit of sparkle and really offer first class meals once again. That will pull in the punters and restore the shine to this otherwise great hotel; oh, and yes, replace the well-worn tv and the thin blankets with modern equivalents!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel looks good but doesn't deliver. Room was clean but bland. the bed was very uncomfortable with only one thin blanket and although there was a spare in the wardrobe I was still cold.
We had booked dinner bed and breakfast and had dinner in the dining room which was quite good(although the chef needs to learn how to season food) but thr next night we were told the restaurent was closed and we had to eat in the coachmans bistro where the food was terrible, Breakfasts were fine. I was very disappointed and won't be rushing back. The staff did their best but there was no sparkle with them.

  • Liked — views over the golf course
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager32, Manager at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2008
Dear Guests I was extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Old Manor. It is through constructive feed back from our guests that we continue to improve our service at the Hotel.

I have spoken to all my team to ensure that the issues you raised are corrected and that they do not occur again in the future.

I do hope that if you are ever in this wonderful part of Scotland again you will reconsider and visit the Old Manor so that we can show you that the issues you experienced are not the normal course of events.

We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrange
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The hotel itself was fine and food okay but not wonderful. We loved the views looking over the golf course from the dining room. However, we stayed in room 30 in the annex and it was horrible. There was a musty smell. It was dark with one small window on the road. The decor was old. The mattress sunk right down to the base. I could not wait to leave. There may be some lovely rooms at this hotel but I think they would be in the main building. I will be writing a letter to Swallow about this room as it should be advertised as needing updating. Give this place a big skip.

  • Liked — dining room
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippinlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOldManor, Manager at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2008
I am extremely sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Old Manor.

We do work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay at the hotel. I have spoken to all the relevant members of staff regarding your stay and we are looking to correct the issues to have brought to our attention.

I hope that you will reconsider visiting us again if you are every in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here for a romantic getaway. Booked at the last minute and the picture we had seen made it appear this was a country hotel in its own grounds - its not. On the edge of a busy (but pleasant) village, and just off a very busy road.
The hotel looks pretty from the outside, the conservatory has beautiful views and the food is excellent (if a bit pricey), but....
the room was really dated, dark and far too hot. Also it was obviously a twin, but the beds had been moved and pushed together against one wall to make a 'double'. The bathroom was pretty horrible too, with a walk in shower (that had a decent pressure tho).
There was a wedding on the saturday evening, so the restuarant was left short staffed (with stressed staff) but the food was excellent. However, at breakfast the next morning there were red wine stains and poppy seeds on the tablecloth, obviously not changed since the night before.
This could be a nice little place, if more attention was paid to the details. I wouldn't chose it to stay in again, but it didn't completely ruin the weekend away!

  • Liked — the food and view from conservatory
  • Disliked — dingy, outdated room and lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiemonster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lundin Links
8.0 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
563 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.1 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,127 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,147 reviews
7.1 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor Hotel

Property: Old Manor Hotel
Address: 55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Lundin Links
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning coastline of the East Neuk of Fife, with magnicicent panoramic views over Largo Bay and Lundin Golf Links, and a backdrop of Largo Law and Fife's rolling green hills, The Old Manor offers a picture perfect venue for your trip to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor Lundin Links
Old Manor Hotel Lundin Links, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing