We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Gruinard Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burntisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gruinard Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Burntisland B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for only the one night but wished we could have stayed for longer as we were made to feel very welcome by both Molly the spaniel and her owner Jean. Our room had a great view and was both clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, even after a tasty meal in the pub recommended by Jean the night before.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXM257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write a review of your stay with us. It was pleasure to have you stay even if only for one night. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit here and hope you will return again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

We found this B&B through a random Web search as we wanted to go to the Festival and had friends staying in the area. We were there for a week and the standards were better than most 4* hotels we have stayed in. Really friendly couple running the place who could not have been more helpful. Breakfasts freshly cooked to order and a side order of fantastic haggis on demand. We loved all sitting round the breakfast table with other guests (there are only 3 rooms in total) and met people from all over the world. This is a quiet, easy going place close enough to the bright lights of Edinburgh (trains every 30 mins, £7 day return) but far enough away to feel you're out in a small village by the sea. Thank you for being such great hosts! D&D

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms most of the year plus an extra one for peak times. We stayed downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLevenshulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We really appreciate it. We enjoyed having you both stay with us and hope you'll come again if visiting Edinburgh. Take care.
Jean and Angus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at Gruinard for one night, but wished we could have stayed more!! The second we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. The Gruinard feels like you are part of the family home but also you have as much privacy and distance as you want - which is a perfect balance!!
Room was spotlessly clean, very spacious and had soo many lovely touches that you will have to go just to see for yourselves! Breakfast was amazing (great to saok up our wee hangover!!) and you could pre-order the night before so it was ready waiting for you.
100% recommended and as we visit Burntisland ALOT we will be back to Gruinard now everytime now that we have found it!! Whoops should of written a worse review or may be fully booked aaaaaaaahhhhhhh! :):):)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotAdair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Gruinard B&B on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is lovely to know that we contributed in making your holiday a good one and we look forward to your return visit on your next trip.
Best Wishes
Jean and Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were placed in a lovely bedroom,then moved to a cramp box upstairs and were still charged the same price:((were told to keep the noise down when we merely chatting in our bedroom at night!we are smokers and were enjoying a romantic night away ,so we went out for a cigarette at 0.10am and were told we the doors to the back garden were getting shut and we would not be able to get back out very disappointed:(especially since other guests did not arrive back from a wedding until 2am:( Breakfast was nice!The local hotel did not provide a satisfactory dinner ,the fish was dry,the chips had a terrible after taste!And this was the only place we could find to sit down to eat in the whole of Burntisland !we will not be back,we will not recommend ,and just to point out we are not an old couple being picky,we are a young couple in our 20's!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your night in Burntisland and that you were unhappy with the room you booked.
I do apologise again for you being shown into someone else"s room on your arrival. A simple mistake with both guests having the same name.
We like to try and give our guests as peaceful and relaxing a stay as possible and the guests next door to your room had been travelling since early in the day from London. They had been in bed for a few hours which was why you were asked to be a little quieter.
If would like to contact us we would be happy to discuss some recompense for your disappointing stay including the large tip left?
I hope sometime in the future you will visit Burntisland again as we have found the people and community to be friendly and accommodating in the last 23 yrs we have lived here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Gruinard is the Best B&B I've stayed in. The room was large, fully furnished and very well organised. The backyard has a great shoreline view of the firth. The best part of it were the hosts Jean and Angus. They really made me feel at home and the breakfast was brilliant, didn't even need lunch after it.. Definately worth staying here a couple of nights and relax in Burntisland which is one of the better town to stay in Fife...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

What a lovely surprise thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you again next time you visit Burntisland. Take care.
Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while hiking the Fife Coastal Path. The owners were very kind, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was perfect, the breakfast was delicious, and the house was charming. There is a train that occasionally runs behind the property, but we hardly noticed it and it did not affect the quality of our stay. We would come back in a heartbeat and strongly recommend this guest house to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsc3008e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

we are just back after spending two days at the Gruinard guest house for the burntisland games, and i can honestly say this was the best bed and breakfst i have stayed at, jean and gus were so very nice and welcoming, the room which we had on the ground floor was amazing and so handy for people with mobility issues, every attention to detail was covered, the breakfasts were lovely, and the bed was very comfortable, the weather could have been better for the games, but that's my only wee moan lol and quite sure if they could have managed it jean and gus would put that right as well, we will definitely be back

Room Tip: ground floor room very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gruinard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruinard Guest House

Address: 148 Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burntisland
Price Range: $38 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gruinard Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Gruinard. A traditional stone built cottage which has been refurbished and modernised without losing any of its charm.Situated only 35 minutes from Edinburgh city centre and an hour from Glasgow it is an ideal base to explore central Scotland. Or alternatively you can walk and explore the beach only half a kilometre from the house.Hospitality and breakfast is our speciality. Food is sourced locally and in most cases homemade on the premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gruinard Guest House Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing