We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony room”
Review of Kingswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingswood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The entrance with it's well tended garden was very welcoming as we're all staff members.
The decor may need refreshing but the nature of the building does not allow streamlining.
The bathroom would benefit by hanging a handrail over the bath to make stepping in for shower less hazardous (room 5).

Room Tip: Brilliant view through trees across Forth and to Edinburgh from the balcony rooms. Food, rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments re the handrail are duly noted. Our views across the river are indeed beautiful. Our best green feature is of course our new Biomass Boiler, installation was completed at the end of May and we hope that all of our guests will appreciate its benefits by Autumn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed her for 2 nights with my parter as we were attending my cousins wedding. on arrival we were shown up to our room which was at the back of the building but that did not cause us a prblem as we would only relly be in the room to sleep and get ready for the weedding. The food we had was supberb, 2 course for £10.95, can't beat that. I feel I must mention Nicola, what a wee star she is and must b a deight to have on your Team. The wedding day was great also, everything was beautiful and I don't think my cousin could have asked for anymore. Good work Kathryn & Rankin

Room Tip: If its a view you want then the rooms to the front but bear in mind the railway is there also
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to complete a review, certainly the front rooms do have a beautiful view but we are pleased that you were comfortable in one of the perhaps quieter rear facing rooms. We are very proud of our staff and Nicola was so pleased to get a special mention which she certainly deserves.
It was a beautiful wedding and I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have just returned from a two day stay in a balcony room - number 5- overlooking the Forth, spectacular views! When we arrived the waitress in the bar told us about a boat trip to Inchcolm island which she thought we may enjoy, she got us details of train times , boat times and also gave us a computer printout of how to get from the train station to the pier, we took her advice and did the trip which was extremely enjoyable. The room was lovely and the food was very good and well presented by very helpful staff. The owners, Kathryn and Rankine were very much hands on , always around and very pleasant. A thoroughly enjoyable stay , we will return!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have lovely views overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mag1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We are course delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for all of your kind comments and we look forward top welcoming you again on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped here with my family for dinner I used to go when I was young 50 yrs ago lovely food lovely place staff excellent ***** but I think need to break away this high tea thing sorry but I don't think toast& carvery go stay traditional but do dinners earlier for families I would have loved starter main dessert at 430pm on a Sunday would have paid double price of high tea

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank fluffy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and kind comments. High Tea is very traditional in Scotland particularly at weekends and I am sure you would have noticed just how popular High Tea is here on a Sunday, although the Carvery is one of the choices there are various other dishes available. Whilst I am sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed that the full dinner menu was not available at 4.30pm on a Sunday, we are so well known and busy for High Tea on Sundays that we feel it would be unwise for us to change something that works so well for us.

I do hope that perhaps next time you are passing it is a little later in the day when our full menu is available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were delighted with our welcome especially as Kathryn went the extra mile for us honeymooning pensioners! Very much appreciated. The room was lovely with a gorgeous view from the balcony. Everywhere was lovely and clean and couldn't fault it. The food was absolutely lovely with very generous portions. Would we go back, without a doubt.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank marion k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you very much for all of your kind comments which were much appreciated.We do hope that we may welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were a family of 4 with 2 grown up children. We shared the double ajoining rooms and were very happy with the accommodation and the staff. If I had one quibble the bathroom could have been better, there was obviously a problem with the plumbing but also the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner in areas. The beds were very comfy and the view overlooking the estuary very nice. Overall very happy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and want the window open take earplugs as next to coastal railway and roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Sheena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review,your comments have been duly noted, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay our views across the water are quite wonderful and fortunately there are few trains after 10pm and the road is also quiet during the night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Do you remember when the people who met you at the hotels you visited hadn't been "trained" to welcome you but really did. Well, that's the feeling you get at the Kingswood Hotel. The room we had was modern and clean. The view over the Firth of Forth was beautiful and seeing the cruise ships come and go was interesting. The meals were wholesome and homely. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the view and the road + railway are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Edmund W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are really pleased to hear that you found our welcome to be 'genuine'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burntisland
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
12.8 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
23.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Hotel

Address: Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kingswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Hotel Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing