We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Keep this to yourself...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great access to the veranda from the main lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Great access to the veranda from the main lounge
Good sunsets from the west window overlooking the beach
Fabulous location overlooking the Firth of Forth
Every window has a see view
Looking across the bay to theWest and the Leisure Centre with indoor pool, &
Crown Bowling Green
Twin bedroom access via a spiral staircase 2 velum windows with views
Well equipped galley kitchen
Morning Sunshine
Perfect when everybody has gone home and it's your own view
Beach busy on a Sunday afternoon in February
Car parking for 2 cars
Dogs Welcome! Please check with the owner first.
One of the only houses on the beach side of the railway
Great for getting into the fresh air. Remember the tide comes in twice a day!
Lounge at night nice and warm in the Winter
Burntisland showing the port and across to Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth
Looking across to the City of Edinburgh during Festival time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Colin B
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Keep this to yourself...”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What a beautiful home!

We stayed there over Christmas and New Year for the week and what a lovely week it was. When the tide is in you can sit on the garden wall and fish. The views are wonderful and the village only minutes away to walk into.

The house itself is a very cozy cottage that has everything that you need for a comfortable week. The welcome basket that is left for you is a touch of class and shows what wonderful hosts the couple are. Elaine gave us a tour of the cottage and told us she would be on call for any concerns we may have. We did not have any however.

This will now hopefully become our new favourite holiday stay when we go to Scotland.

I can highly recommend this cottage, it is truly a beautiful place to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location next to the beach.
Liked least: Low bridge getting to the property.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark f
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photographs on the website only tell part of the story – this is a splendid cottage in a spectacular location. From arriving on Saturday afternoon, to leaving 1 week later, we found no faults. We were up in Scotland for The Open Golf at St Andrews but saw a great deal more of the surrounding area from this base.

Easy to locate, parking outside the front door, beach 20 yards away, sea comes up to front wall when the tide is in. Dog friendly, Wifi included and a lovely welcome hamper on arrival.

Golf at Kinghorn Links just up the road (£12 after 3 PM midweek !!) and supermarkets close by in Kirkaldy. Coastal walks east and west – we took the path up to Aberdour. Edinburgh is only 40 minutes away, St Andrews similar.

I hope to book this property again in the near future – thanks Cliff !!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliolioli
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great position fantastic views”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very quaint cottage,with fantastic views across to Edinburgh,shops with easy flat walk.
Only thing that spoils it is the proximity to the busy railway lines
Perhaps some double glazing to the bedroom window would quieten the noise of the trains late at night and early morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful position
Liked least: the noisy train line very close to the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaz3004
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic location was like being at your granny's!”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is a wee gem! Old fashioned but lovely and I would recommend this place to everyone. It felt like I was staying at my granny's even the galley kitchen didn't bother me! Fabulous and Cliff and Elaine are gems!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaysS...
scarborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memory Lane.”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This cottage is beautiful, The location were wonderful, the location were really good for getting into Edinburgh and all round Fife. Next time we go we won't go in winter but spring summer or autumn it would be amazing, and to sit on the veranda with the spectacular views would be sheer heaven, the sea is so close and the noise of the waves were so calming.
We went up mainly for family funeral, but came back home feeling relaxed, you couldn't better the spot where cottage is. For me (as I originally come from Edinburgh) it were a trip down memory lane and we shall definitely stay at cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the sheer peace.
Liked least: Liked everyting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47jfm
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location location Location”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great week exploring fife, staying at Seaside Cottage. Enjoying the views across the forth watching the tides, watching and listening to the waders, and enjoying the beach, topped off by the Sand Hotel where we enjoyed a couple of reasonably priced, tasty meals. The cottage was comfortable, great after being out all day around Fife. St Andrews, Aberdour, East Neuk and Culross are all must do's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from inside and out, the lounge
Liked least: No oven was a bit discerning, but microwave combi was up to the job
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views over the Forth”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property was in a fantastic location, right on the beach. We enjoyed fabulous views across the Firth of Forth, and the cottage was convenient for taking the train into Edinburgh and exploring Fife. There was a pleasant welcome pack of local goodies on arrival.

The living room was large, light and very comfortable. The downstairs bedroom was well furnished and comfortable but access to the second bedroom was difficult as it was via a steep spiral staircase. The property was clean on arrival. However, we found the kitchenette frustrating as it was so tiny and some of the equipment was in need of replacement, and there was little space for storing food. There were also blankets and other items stored in wardrobes making it difficult to hang clothes

It took 4.5 weeks and 4 attempts at contacting the owner before our security bond was refunded

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the living room
Liked least: Small kitchen and lack of storage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing