We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel. Needs a little attention to decor. Not much...”
Review of Kintore Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kintore Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Here we have a very good hotel. But it's a little tired. Not bad. And trust me, I've been in much worse. But needs sorted now to avoid it slipping.

Customer service is 1st class.

The waiter in the restaurant is absolutely brilliant.

The food served was outstanding.

All in all if they could nip n tuck the decor would be a very very pleasant hotel.

Would I return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shab2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

my aunt and I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel during a mini break travelling around Scotland. The room was perfect, and clean. This hotel was priced reasonably £162 for 2 nights with breakfast included. The staff were exceptional very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and reasonably priced as were the drinks in the bar for a hotel. Packed lunches are available for £5.50 and well worth it including 2 sandwiches, a drink, crisps, a yoghurt and piece of fruit, considering we paid £13 pound the previous day in a café for a sandwich and a cup of tea! This hotel is a bespoke hotel, and it provided little extras in the room such as an iron and ironing board, a fan and plenty of tea and coffee! I would just like to say a big thank you to the staff for a friendly welcome and would definitely recommend this hotel and would return for another stay.

Room Tip: our room only had a sky light for a window which wasn't a problem for us as it provided plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Kintore Arms, and to be honest we were glad we did not have to stay longer. To put the positives first the staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the food was really nice and of good quality, the seating areas were very nice. However the room was small and had no window with the exception of a skylight window, the room was like a sweat box even with a small fan which was in the room it was impossible to sleep at night. So on that alone we would not go back, which is a pity as everything else was good.

Room Tip: Pay more and stay at a quality hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a fabulous hotel and great staff. We arrived early evening and were told that due to unforseen circumstances the restaurant was closed. We asked if there was anywhere else to eat in the village, to which the friendly receptionist popped out to ask the chef, who very kindly offered to cook something for us. The room was spacious and clean. we only stayed here for one night but would deffo stay again if we are up north.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Aberdeen city has grown rich on oil money, and the hotels charge Adu Dhabi prices. An alternative is to stay outside the city and travel in, if possible not by car, since the roads are notoriously clogged, but by train. Inverurie is a town two stops/20 minutes to the north-west on the rail line to Inverness. The hotel is a granite building on the main street, and the staff smoke outside the main door. The decor is rather faded. Some of the rooms are in an apparently new annex, but the stern warning notice placed on the bed about the dire penalties for smoking inside, lowers the welcome. My room, though new was odd, - there are no windows. There was the skylight mentioned in other reviews, twenty feet up, but no instructions on how to cut out the light, nor any phone to ask reception how to do it. The temperature of the apparently modern shower goes in cycles, out of control, between very hot and cold. The dining room has depressing pictures on the walls, a peeling ceiling and old chairs. Bread was found in a deep bin, but no tongs offered: the food came on cold plates. Still, it is much cheaper than Aberdeen

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with work. Single room at £60. On arrival staff friendly and welcoming but noticed threadbare carpets and peeling wallpaper. Room was quite small with single bed but adequate. Seemed clean enough. Couldn't get hot water from shower this morning and shower head wouldn't face the proper way! The window is in the ceiling and although poles in room to open window and pull blinds over, I couldn't manage it so awake at 0340 when daylight appeared. There was also a strange noise coming from pipes somewhere which kept me awake. I ate in restaurant, food was lovely and service good. 'Met some nice people too. Breakfast good too. Think the rooms and hotel in general just need some TLC. Would probably stay again if in area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

While on our weekend jaunt we decided to stay over in Inverurie which would gives us an opprotunity to visit some of the local castles before heading back into Aberdeen. This establishment was found on a popular discounted accommodation site. The price was good for twin room, one night with breakfast. It is an establishment that is 'tired' but looks like they are perhaps going through a period of refurbishment as now under the umbrella of 'Bespoke hotel chain'. The lady at check-in was friendly and welcoming, telling us that the carvery and High Tea was being served until 7.30pm. We went to our room, 1st floor, and found this to be very modern and bespoke and almost not in keeping with the old traditional style of the reception and front facia. There was no window but a large ceiling skylight (velux window), which was operated by remote control. A large ensuite with bath and over shower and a lovely welcome note from the proprietors.
Carvery - we decided to give this a go. A choice of 3 meat, veg, pots, yorkshire pudding and local scottish type stuffing. All very nice. However the carvery was laid out in a very large function room which only 50% of the space was being used. You had to walk across the dance floor to get to the servery. I asked what real ales they had on and both waiting staff did not know what this was and offer a keg variety :( . I advised that over the past 3 days I had been offered in various places real ale from the local breweries, they look non plussed. What a shame that a large hotel cannot cater and promote local produce. We decided not to stay for desert so asked for the bill. There was quite a wait as the staff seemed to disappear then reappear together. The bill came but was wrong. They were charging Over the price that was advertised in the room, and when we bought this to their attention they made an adjustment. We can only presume that there are two prices for the carvery, one for residents and one for non residents. We can both advise the one meal was not worth £9. I will add at this point that while trying to obtain the waiters attention, he looked over and instead of walking over to our table, just smiles and waved back - bizarre.
The room - was the 1st one behind the double doors at the 1st floor, easy access to reception etc but the downside was that it was fitted with automatic door closures which at thepoint of closing banged shut. This to happen from 11pm onwards vibrated the room and caused both of us to have restless nights. It also happend in the morning with the other residents going down for early breakfast.
Breakfast - as a change my friend went for the vegetarian option, while i decided to have the smoked haddock with poached egg. The veg option was okay, sausage tasty but the serving of the haddock was dry and the poachd egg was cold and hard. When bringing this to the attention of the waitress it was responded by a stare and a 'Oh, okay i will tell the chef'.
Check out - we advised the receptionist that we have both suffered a sleepness night due to the door banging and waking us up - received by a stare again,(why?) and a comment of 'okay will tell the maintenance man'. On both ocassions noone had offered an apology, or a sorry to hear that. What's happenend to customer service.
Leaving - this was the worst part and has resulted in a drop in mark. When walking round with our bags to the car, we saw the original ladty at checkin, with kitchen staff all peering into a large industial waste bin. To top it off, on driving out, the head chef in all her aprons etc, was climbing in it! Yuck.
Sorry for the long report but could not miss anything out.

Room Tip: Get one away from the banging door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverurie hotels
1.5 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
153 reviews
5.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 12 in Inverurie
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks of Ury Hotel
Banks of Ury Hotel
#10 of 12 in Inverurie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintore Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintore Arms Hotel

Address: 83 High Street, Inverurie AB51 3QJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range: $69 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kintore Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kintore Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kintore Arms Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing