We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went downhill”
Review of Kintore Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kintore Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here a few times through work and previous reviews been good but on this occasion totally different.......not in a good way ........upon arriving after a days work at 6:30 we checked in so good there but when we got to our separate rooms my colleague couldn't get his tv working so he went to ask if it was broke to be told "brand new" he begs to differ ....after asking person sitting in office several times before even got an answer they sent technician up .....still broke.....so asked to get another tv seen as were new must still have older one but told no so asked to get moved rooms to be told hotel fully booked but looking at car park and restaurant and bar we beg to differ so final insult was if want to watch tv you can SIT IN THE BAR he was told......then next morning for breakfast we were first and only guests up at 7 for breakfast sitting down and there was 2 waitresses working one a manager and after few minutes other guests came in "2" and waitresses took their order.......still not took ours so we thought wait and see how long takes them to ask us ............ten minutes later and with no apology and had the cheek to ask if everything was ok when were leaving

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I haven't stayed at the hotel as we live local. However The food is great and have a good selection available. We love the Sunday carvery. It's the best around by far. The roasts are really good. It's value for money and the service is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsClaireL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at the Kintore last Monday - fantastic room, really spacious and really nicely decorated. Ate in the restaurant - would recommend the homemade burgers - out of this world! Will definately stay again, we were made to feel really at home, brilliant service. Many thanks to Julie, Laura, Gail and all the team :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhead1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My friend and I last stayed at the Kintore Arms hotel in Inverurie on 5th - 7th March 2013 and again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We do return quite often and the Manager nearly always accommodates our request to have a room at the rear of the hotel in the new extension. the old part of the hotel is a bit dated and the owners could do with spending a bit of money on decoration in the bedrooms but we do find these rooms clean when we have been allocated these. Having our preferred room also means that we don't hear the traffic outside in the morning. Housekeeping staff are always helpful.
We eat at the hotel when we are staying in Inverurie and the menu is extensive and there are always 'special offers' which a really good value. My friend wasn't particularly hungry on the 2nd night and fancied a mushroom ommelette for dinner and although this wasn't on the menu, the chef made this for her. the chef also appeared in the restaurant to ask the diners if they had enjoyed their meal. We found this a very nice personal touch. There were plenty of other snacks available but it seemed like this request was no trouble at all. The food is really good and the restaurant staff are always eager to please. The hotel restaurant is busy as there are lots of business people using it on weekdays but we found the staff very pleasant and helpful.
after our meal, we used the bar where local people have a drink as well as travellers. The bar staff were very quick to serve and after one drink asked 'same again' we also find the bar staff good local networks and are able to direct guests to various places of interest.
Overall, we find the hotel very friendly and all staff go out of their way to make our stay very welcoming. We will definately be booking again in the future.

Room Tip: a room at the rear in the newer part for up to 3 people definately has less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynporteous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was here for one night 2nd March my room was dirty and smelled bad....I then noticed a take away left overs still in my bin from previous guest so reported this to reception...did not look embaressed at all and said she would remove it.....
It was still there next day when i checked out....20 min wait in the bar for someone to appear and serve me also frustrating.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daver68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only went for a meal and won't be back. Upon arrival we were seated and drinks order taken, all good so far. The waitress then proceeded to tell us that she was on her own?? Not interested. There were only 3 tables inculding ours. Order was taken and drinks arrived. When our starters arrived my partners was the wrong order, the waitress did not write down our order only from memory.. This was corrected. The starters were good. Then it got worse. The waitress then cleared down a table and placed the cutlery directly on the chairs - unhygenic. Other tables orders were wrong, and a group of 5 were all served their main at different times over a period of 30 minutes. Our mains took 30 minutes to arrive, chicken Fajitas and roast pork. Being a chef that was the worst ever fajitas I have ever seen... luke warm and in a BBQ sauce of sorts, no seasoning and serving in a curry bowl. Needless to say we paid and left. Yes we could have spoken up about the issues but we had already been there for over 2 hours. The menu was overly extensive with a specials with four choices on each part plus the full menu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank smoky30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was booked in by my work for a week but had to check out after one night. Never realised that threadbare carpets,tacky cheap pine furniture and a lumpy matress could be described as "bespoke". The cleanliness was not great either and extra staff training would not go amiss as there was quiet a lot of veg spilt on the floor by someone who had eaten earlier than myself and had left and both a waitress and a waiter walked past it several times and made no effort to clean it up. I find it hard to see how they can charge such over inflated prices for this place. The receptionist did say that there would be no charge for the one night that I stayed after I had vpiced my complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, General Manager at Kintore Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are very sorry about your experience at the Kintore arms hotel and appreciate your feed back. All of your points have been taken on board and members of staff have been re-trained

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverurie hotels
1.5 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 12 in Inverurie
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks of Ury Hotel
Banks of Ury Hotel
#10 of 12 in Inverurie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintore Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintore Arms Hotel

Address: 83 High Street, Inverurie AB51 3QJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kintore Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kintore Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kintore Arms Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing