We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Scottish Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thainstone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thainstone House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scottish Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We recently had cause to stay at the Thainstone House Hotel for 5 nights in April and enjoyed every moment of it! The staff were friendly and attentive and the room was warm, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was a real treat and you haven't tasted real porridge until you've tasted Thainstone porridge! As it was spring time we were delighted with the daffodils lining the driveway. We didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on it, but we did eat twice in the cosy bar downstairs and were more than satisfied with the food we ordered and enjoyed. All in all a great stay and I would definitely recommend a break in this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: When we rang to book the only double room available was a 'small double bedroom'. It actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can see you again soon

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    161
    74
    42
    34
See reviews for
107
232
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed one night last weekend and it was lovely. From the moment of arrival to departure, all the staff were really friendly and the whole atmosphere was so relaxed and comfortable. Inside the building was beautiful and our room comfortable and clean. Dinner was excellent and so too was breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am glad your experience was excellent. We are proud of our offering here at Thainstone House and I am glad that you had a wonderful weekend

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Thainstone House is a traditional Scottish country house which is full of character and set in beautiful grounds not far from Inverurie. The staff are excellent: very friendly and attentive. The rooms are comfortable but you need a PhD in plumbing to operate the fancy multi-headed rainfall shower system but it is worth it in the end!

Other than breakfast I didn't eat in the restaurant this time but I know from previous visits that the food is very good.

The character of the house, the setting and the fantastic staff make this the number one choice for me when I am in Inverurie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. My team and I work extremely hard to provide the best possible service and I look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Inverurie

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Thainstone to celebrate our first year married on a 3 night dinner, bed and breakfast package and I cannot recommend this hotel and its wonderful staff enough. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we thought everything was brilliant. The location makes the hotel great for exploring the surrounding area with plenty to do and we seemed to hit it very lucky with the weather. We would class ourselves as foodies so were quite excited to see what was for dinner and if I'm quite honest was expecting a limited choice to be available with more for supplement. However the included dinner is a six course taster meal changing every night or a small supplement for a la carte. The six course meal was superb and the variety over the 3 nights and the presentation of the food was exceptional, your chef is a real credit to you. But please pass on a special thank you to Louise who provided us with outstanding service from the minute we entered the restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner, more so you could tell that she really enjoyed her job again Louise is an absolute credit to you. We would also say that this hotel shouldn't be 3 star, it is certainly worthy of 4. We stayed in 107 and the room was in the extension of the hotel, recently refurbished and very clean. Thank you Thainstone House for an excellent weekend and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an excellent experience here and that we managed to make your occasion even more special for you.

I look forward to welcoming you soon

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at hotel whilst visiting relative who was in hospital. The staff were fantastic ( special mention to Liz on reception and Helen in Restaurant) and asked how relative was. Good choice of food in restaurant as well as the bar menu.
Leisure facilities okay but sauna was being repaired.
Our original allocated room was in a brilliant location but only had a window near ceiling,we asked to be moved and this was done with no issues to one with a low window. This maybe something to concider when you reserve room.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EReid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for kind words and recognising the hard work that my team put in at Thainstone. I do hope you can join us again soon

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My friend and I had lunch in this hotel 16/4/14 on a ladies that lunch deal! We both enjoyed the experience so much, the staff were professional and attentive to our needs making us feel very special, I didnt expect the food to be of such a high standard.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, perhaps next time We will try the Evening menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esthersymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch from our excellent Lounge menu in the peaceful surroundings of our Club Room and Drawing Room. I do hope you can join us again soon.

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed one night and the bed was fabulous (4 poster) - really comfortable. Pillows are not good but I always bring my own so… (bath had hair in it and the plumbing was a bit dubious - let the bathwater out and the loo bubbled…???) The staff are what make this place! Welcoming, friendly, helpful - from the reception to the dining room. Just great. The crab soup was really good but the lamb needed better seasoning. The breakfast was ok… Espresso coffee: the staff need training how to make it properly but at least it was on offer, the grapefruit was tinned which was disappointing but edible, the cooked breakfast (egg, bacon, sausage, black pudding and haggis) was well cooked and tasty. The croissants had seen better days… I think you would be hard pushed to find better value for your money in this oil rich part of Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our beds and I would like to let you know that, since your visit, we have provide retraining to our breakfast team based on your feedback

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
19.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thainstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thainstone House

Property: Thainstone House
Address: Thainstone A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thainstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 2 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Thainstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing