We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thainstone House
Nearby Hotels
$84
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathburn Hotel(Inverurie)
$134
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Pittodrie House(Chapel of Garioch)
$156
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Aberdeen Airport(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$99
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
320
182
92
62
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
182
92
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaster menuspa breakafternoon teadownstairs barboys roomsteak nightspa facilitieshot tubsteam roomcrerar hotelscountry houseboth nightspublic areasthe general managerdrawing roomhigh standardclub room
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 699 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, and location, booked through an online offer. The room was ok, although the "double" room consisted of two single mattresses pushed together, but did make for an awful lot of room in the bed! Food was generally good, although my travelling partner had langoustines which were returned due to being unsatisfactory, and on the second morning the breakfast was decidedly lukewarm (with a similar service level from a rather flustered waitress)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burga6675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Driving up the tree lined drive i thought i was in for a real treat.lovely country retreat.oh how wrong was i.the whole place inside is dark dinjy and dated accompanied by a damp smell.
My room is a joke 101 on the ground floor with no view.the bed is a fold out bed from what looks like a wardrobe that has damaged slats.the bedding and towels have seen better days and the lighting is so poor its hard to see how grubby it is.i was even more disgusted that they charged £5 for a pint.this is the first and the last time i will be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slim1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed three nights 2/7/13, elderly couple on DBB rate.
Staff lovely, friendly and efficient
We had fresh towels daily-nice large bathroom with shower, clean bathroom and bedroom, tho' bedroom had two windows it did have a sloping roof
We had a view of parkland where a deer came daily to feed
We did not use spa or pool, but it looking inviting.
Six course taster menu was adequate for our appetite, but I can appreciate that it would not satisfy younger folk(tho'the option to purchase from a la carte menu at reduced prices was available)
The food was very well presented,well cookedand very tasty(but yes small taster portions)
We loved the old furnishings,decor and restful seating area.
When makeover is finished this will be Crerar hotels normal standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel appears to be mid make-over. We went for dinner only, and did not stay over. The restaurant manager was very friendly and the waiting staff polite and efficient. However the quality of the food was disappointing given the price of the meal and the surroundings. Portion sizing also questionable. Final straw was cheesecake which was crushed digestive next to some "squirty" cream!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our second visit. It recently changed to Crerar Hotels from Swallow Hotels. On checking-in were told only one room had been booked, not the two rooms we required. Staff managed to resolve this problem eventually. Requested early dinner and told that the earliest available was 8 p.m., then offered 7 p.m., which we accepted. Dining-room almost empty at that time.
Shown to room 406, which looked good, but no view. However, noticed loud bang, with
floor movement at frequent intervals. This was investigated by the staff who said it was caused by two fire-doors swinging closed Demonstrated door tension had been adjusted. Sleep disturbed by banging and floor vibration, - then wakened at 3.30 a.m. by fire alarm. Daughter in another room banged her head on sloping eaves of ceiling on responding to fire-alarm.
Stood outside for 30 minutes - no roll call taken, then told to go back to rooms. Again, banging and vibration through floor. Phoned reception at 6 a.m . Banging stopped.
Change of room requested next day and transferred to room 111, on ground floor - again no view. Room very dark, and needing refurbishing. Daughter offered another room, but did not want the bother of moving.
Food. Very disappointing. A 6-course menu, costing £32.50, with either 2 or 3 choices for main course and extremely small portions. Two of us reverted to children's menu, which
was rather poor, i.e. macaroni-cheese and chips (with practically no cheese). The service was very poor - meal took 2.25 hours, mainly waiting over 30 minutes for sweet, being told that it was on its way, it would be 5 minutes, etc. - new chef !! Young waitress told us the bar menu was better, so confirmed we could partake of this up to a cost of £21 each. We did this, but not easy for four people to have meal on small cocktail table in lounge area. Were informed next day (on complaining) that we could eat from the bar menu in the dining-room. This we did on the final night, alternating between main menu and bar menu - good meal.
The meal on Friday was very similar to the meal on Sunday. Soup of the day on Saturday was tomato, as was the soup on Sunday !! Breakfasts were excellent except for the non-existence of the fruit salad, as shown on the menu. (grapefruit and prunes on Sunday only).
The staff did listen to complaints and did their best to rectify them, but it still ended up very much a "Faulty Towers" experience. It would have been helpful if there had been some indication that the bar menu could be used as an alternative - in the dining-room.
The hotel is in a lovely setting in beautiful extensive grounds. Has the potential to be a first-class hotel. Unlikely to make a third visit or recommend it to friends, as we had done previously.

Room Tip: Avoid room 406, and request a room with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneyandnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews