We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Garden Centre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potters Kitchen

Potters Kitchen
Ranked #38 of 62 Restaurants in Inverurie
Cuisines: British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at Garden Centre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visited restaurant today at lunch time. Good variety of food on menu in pleasant surroundings totally ruined by slow service at hot food section due to only one member of staff having to cope during a busy period. Totally bemused by the fact that three other staff members covering the soup and sandwich area appeared either unable or unwilling to help their hard working colleague. This, due to the layout of the food and beverage sections, had the knock on effect of a 15minute delay in paying for purchases (only one till operator in situ) and actually sitting down to eat. Result..... meals and hot beverages being lukewarm at best. Very disappointing first experience in this restaurant which could clearly benefit fom an operational and layout appraisal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvieInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The restaurant area is bigger than the plant section!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This self service restaurant is on the first floor of the garden centre and is possibly equal in floor space to the lower floor gardening paraphenalia and larger than the outdoor plant area. The food area is clean, tidy and noisy as it is so popular with families. It has an area where children have to be over 14, and therefore asssumed to be quiet(!) - I think it's called the quiet area. It lessens the noise as it's to the side of the main food area. The food looks great, the bakery section is stunning - huge merengues, sponge cakes, scones. The soups are lovely - we has yellow split pea and ham, delicious! Sandwiches look nice but are not as tasty as you'd wish. I had ham and pickle, looked lovely, generous but not too much taste, Husband had bacon and cheese wrap and was disappointed, He'd expected it to be warm and it wasn't. It was pre-cooked bacon and cold, grated cheese in a wrap. Also tasted very salty. We've not had a meal when we've come here, it's usually soup, cake, sandwiches - soup and sandwich £6.95. Staff were nice, food is delivered to your table where necessary. Whole area is surrounded by the gift area so it looks nice and is quite tempting on the way out! We will go again when we are in Inverurie, there is parking, food's good enough and there's a nice browsing walk on the way out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We are here most weekends..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Why are we here so often? As they do a great kids basket. My daughter is delighted by wide range of choices she has so makes the decision to go here easy.
Sunday roasts are excellent with wide range of vegetables on offer.
Panini's aren't the best but this is the only dish I have ever been disappointed in.
Cakes etc are excellent- varied choice including gluten free available.
The daily specials can be a bit pricey but if you look carefully there is often a deal on which is usually excellent value and delicious.
Soups come with a massive hunk of homemade bread.
They also do very cheap 3 course sample menus- a small soup, small main and a cake (or fruit for the healthy folks). A good option if you really can't decide what to have.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MumfaeMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great place. Clean and friendly. Good value and home cooking. Can be a bit warm on a sunny day due to the metal shed it is housed in but we don't have that many scorching days, so don't be put off. Large self-service restaurant (food delivered to table by waitress). Special deals to be had which are great value. Try the 3 for 1 as it is a good portion size and just what you want for lunch. On our last visit we went with a voucher for 2 paninis/wrap/toastie, cake and coffee/tea for £10. Cullen skink is great. Great value as we both had the bbq paninis and magic tray bakes with a pot of tea each. More than filling. There is also a small play area for children in the corner which keeps wee ones occupied while you relax and enjoy your coffee. Tends to be busy at lunch time so would recommend having a late or early lunch to avoid the queues. Even at busy times I have never had an issue finding a table as they are cleared quickly. If there is a long queue you can always have a wander round the shop and garden centre and come back. Recommended as one good stop off point in Inverurie amongst many cafe and coffee shops that have sprung up over the years in various places.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Been going here for many years, food good but by time we got to table lunch was cold. Wide variety of food for all tastes. If only they could speed up the serving/paying time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReidFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potters Kitchen also viewed

 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Potters Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing