We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cafe.”
Review of Acorn Centre

Acorn Centre
Ranked #4 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Inverurie
Price range: $4 - $26
Description: Housed within the West Church of Inverurie and is a community-focussed enterprise of the Church of Scotland
Restaurant details
Description: Housed within the West Church of Inverurie and is a community-focussed enterprise of the Church of Scotland
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

At a busy lunch time, the service was prompt and efficient. The food was well cooked and the baking was delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank dpaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2018

On frequent visits to Inverurie to meet friends we always go into the Acorn Centre for a light lunch and usually return later for tea/coffee.
The food is freshly prepared,tasty and always served with a smile.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MEM184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornmanager1, Manager at Acorn Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. That we have so many regular customers like yourselves lets us know we must be doing something right! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Mike


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Popped in for lunch which is served up by volunteers. Spotlessly clean and the food was excellent. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank georger140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornmanager1, Manager at Acorn Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Many thanks for your great review! We look forward to welcoing you back soon.

Regards

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Surroundings okay but very noisy. I would avoid the crepes as were served cold and were certainly not cooked fresh.
Very expensive was £18.40 for 2 crepes, small soup, black coffee, small apple juice and glass of milk.
If you want someplace with nice surroundings, lovely staff, excellent food and cakes, st great value for money go to the Old Post Office at Chapel of Garioch.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank balbarrie668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornmanager1, Manager at Acorn Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Dear Balbarrie668,

Many thanks for your review. It's never great to get a less favourable review, but thankfully as previous reviews will show, they are in the minority. I have investigated your comments and can assure you that all food is made on the premises and whilst our crepes are pre-prepared, I can assure you that they left the kitchen hot. You appear have been charged for a savoury crepe instead of a sweet crepe, and this has not been picked up on when you have come to pay, so please accept our apologies and if you would like to contact me direct and bring in your receipt I can sort this out.
I agree that the Old Post Office is lovely, however our venue is in a completely different town centre setting and has twice the capacity, so it will understandably be noiser at peak times, yet we find the music of conversation to be a beautiful thing and a strong part of our ethos, therefore you are not comparing like for like.

I look forward to hearing from you so that we can hopefully resolve your complaint.

Mike

Michael Pickford
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with a family member and got a warm friendly welcome. All the food is homemade and delicious. Nothing overboard but just what you need for lunch or a quick break. All run by volunteers - very impressed!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank VisitingHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornmanager1, Manager at Acorn Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acorn Centre also viewed

Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Chapel of Garioch, Inverurie
 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Acorn Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing