We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work on basics!”
Review of Banks of Ury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banks of Ury Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Inverurie B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Generally, just about ok. But basics are failing. Quite badly.

Hot water tap loose. (So you struggle to turn off!)

Limescale covered shower head. (Water squirts out of the shower as water is going all over the place!)

Black mould covering shower hose (connecting mixer to shower head)

No hand wash, there was a hand wash bottle, but it was empty.

Otherwise, the room was juat about ok in presentation. Floors could be cleaner, lots of white "bits" all over floor. Just needs a good vacuuming!

BE WARNED;

The walls are super thin. I managed to hear practically every word of a conversation next door. (And the person on the phone who, i hope, was on speakerphone as was clearly audible!)

My worry; if I can hear them, they could hear my conversations! Not great for any privacy!

I couldn't get to sleep until the guests next door fell asleep and boy they can talk. Mostly about rubbish too. It was very annoying.

Obviously just a cheap plasterboard divider has been out up!

There was no evening food/eating options available at all. But a few options locally if you need fed.

I decided to skip the breakfast that i had paid for as I had no appetite to try eating here as I feared if they are cutting corners in the things you CAN see... What corners are getting cut on the things you CAN'T see... No thank you.

Will I be back? No. Sorry. I just won't.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shab2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The rooms are very clean and tidy. I stayed in 202 and had a great view of the town. I've stayed here on buisness and pleasure. The locals really are great in the bar area even though I'm English I was still made to feel very welcome and the banter was great. The beer is fantastic (stay away from the black jack vodka) lethal. This really is the friendliest hotel/bar in town. I will be staying here again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: 202 a good view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-Hodgkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Welcoming owners and beers at a reasonable price. Bedroom suited my needs perfecty and it had been recently decorated by the looks of it and very clean! Room 102. Could hear people in the bar as this room was above the bar but best just to pop down and join in. I would certainly use this hotel again. Some of the locals had a darts game where whoever got furthest from the bull they had to drink a double whisky. Entertaining.

Room Tip: I had room 102 and could hear the bar and early morning traffic but this did not disturb me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a weekend here. Hotel is very basic and its just a few rooms above a loud bar. Classed as a bed and breakfast and breakfast isn't even included unless you pay extra! Rooms are definitely not worth what they charge. Positives were the rooms had comfy beds, a nice enough bathroom and were quite clean and the location was good although unfortunately i won't be staying here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel as a last resort as all other hotels fully booked. Only positive was that the staff where friendly. Cost of room taken on arrival obviously to make sure customers dont refuse to pay and that they stay. The room was filthy and in desperate need for upgrading. Carpet stained, walls in room dirty and marked. I have travelled alot for business and I have never stayed anywhere so poor. The other reviews have obviously been left by the staff. Walls like paper so heard various noises all night. Tv small and did not work properly. I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel. I would not ever leave a negative review however I would not want anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

stayed at the banks for about four months and Theresa and Mike made us all feel welcome. rooms were warm comfortable and spotlessly clean. The lady of the establishment cooked lovely and filling evening meals and catered to my weird tastes easily. Meat and tatties to die for and the bread and butter pudding was heavenly. Bar and locals were really friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a number of months whilst working in Inverurie. The staff are very friendly along with nice and welcoming local customers. Staying in the banks made working away from home a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverurie hotels
0.2 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
224 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
666 reviews
1 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 12 in Inverurie
22 reviews
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks of Ury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks of Ury Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Inverurie AB51 3XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Inverurie
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel that prides ourselves on offering a friendly personal service both in the hotel and in our traditional bar. All rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. Sky sports is shown in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banks of Ury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Of Ury Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing