We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Strathburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here whilst on a business trip and booked an executive room. It was our first visit to the Hotel and definitely won't be our last! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - especially the waitress who greeted everyone with a lovely smile in the morning and looked after us really well. The ambiance in the dining room was delightful and the food was lovely.

The decor throughout the hotel is of excellent quality and design and had an air of subtle relaxation about it. The bedroom and en-suite were spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings and carpets, with dual-aspect windows overlooking the rear lawn and garden. Being situated at the rear of the building there was no traffic noise whatsoever.

The only negative is that the restaurant prices were quite high but we like to eat out anyway and had an excellent meal in the local Indian restaurant.

We will definitely be visiting the Strathburn again next year.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are tucked away in a quiet corner of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had an overnight stay at this smart small hotel. The menu was not very cheap but good portions and quality. Breakfast was good with Kippers as well as Smoked Haddock and nice eggs sausage & bacon. Great selection of breakfast cereals and fresh and dried fruits. Honey as well as preserves.
Good comfy beds but we were too warm in this hot spell.
A nice stop over with good staff all working together.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is like an extended bungalow from the 70's very bizarre. last minute choice as short notice business trip. Food fine but room a visual nightmare.
Staff however all good and the meal (steak) was better than expected ....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding locally. The room was quite small but adequate for one night. The whole hotel was very clean indeed. Service was good. The breakfast was very good and hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a large wedding party for the weekend. We arrived on Friday in the early afternoon and were welcomed by a really friendly receptionist who couldn’t have been more helpful. Even though lunch was technically over she arranged for some sandwiches to be served in the atrium so we could eat and chat with our friends who were staying in the hotel as well. Our ground floor room was well appointed with a modern and clean en-suite, satellite TV and very comfortable chairs and bed. The hotel also had three good Wi-Fi points in the room, reception and bar areas, which was really helpful as in Aberdeenshire it’s not to easy to get a phone signal at all, let alone 3G.

In the evening the restaurant was busy because of our own large party plus a couple of other groups. However the went out of their way to accommodate us, even moving our pre-booked table to ensure we could eat with our friends. The food was excellent throughout our stay and the evening meal was quite superb, if a little pricy. Throughout our stay the service by all the staff was exceptional and they should be congratulated on their friendliness and willingness to help.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. It’s a bit expensive compared to similar hotels farther south but quite reasonable in comparison with the locality, given the proximity of the oil industry in Aberdeen. It provides a good base for a holiday in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wings_of_the_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to have a meal here last week. The place is friendly, clean and decent looking.

However the menu is basic and pricey. My wife and I both had the same meal, haddock goujons. I cannot remember whether they were supposed to be home made or not on the menu, but they were not upto much. My wife could not eat hers, as they had a smokey flavour and she was convinced that they were not actually haddock.

The staff were friendly and took the meal off the bill, without being asked


There are better places to eat in Inverurie.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Strathburn Hotel along with many other guests attending a wedding nearby. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and comfortable.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, the rooms are incredibly comfortable and all the staff are friendly and amazingly helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
I think there were about 30 or more of the wedding guests staying at the hotel and we were always able to sit together in as large a group as we wanted. Tables were altered in the dining room to accommodate us and staff stayed up very late on the night of the wedding to make sure we all had everything we needed on our return (at about 1.30am!).
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. The facilities are excellent, the furnishings are traditional in style and very comfortable, the meals are delicious, the staff are amazing - what more can I say!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turaga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
2.2 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
666 reviews
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
84 reviews
16.8 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
19.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathburn Hotel

Address: Burghmuir Drive, Inverurie AB51 4GY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range: $132 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Strathburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathburn Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing