We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good, well run small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strathburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathburn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, well run small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I only stayed for one night whilst working at Aberdeen Airport. Hotels in Aberdeen city can have eye-watering prices at busy times. The Strathburn simply charged their normal rate of £90 B & B. At first, I thought this was a little expensive but turned out to be good value. Bedroom was compact but was spotless with excellent free wifi. Bar meals very good quality with a decent glass of wine at a fair price. Highlight was breakfast. I cannot remember a better breakfast in ages. Fine quality and really well cooked. Friendly staff too. Really recommend if in this area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
28
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have frequently been disappointed with the poor standards of UK hotels, so was delighted to find that the Strathburn Hotel was so much better than I had dared to hope. I had requested an early check-in, to allow me to have a shower before attending a function. This was very willingly accommodated, without additional charge.

My room was absolutely spotless. It had appeared to be so on a first glance, so I decided to search out dust, as I couldn't believe that it was really as clean as it appeared. I ran a finger along the top of the wardrobe, no dust. A similar situation in any of the drawers. The bathroom was shining clean too. All in all, possibly the most effective housekeeping staff ever.

The decor of the rooms was not particularly to my taste, but was in good order, with no scuffed skirting boards or corners of furniture.

The teapot provided with the tea/coffee making facilities was appreciated. I don't think I'd ever had one provided in a hotel room before.

I ate in the restaurant one evening and had an enjoyable meal. I was dining alone and was offered a newspaper or book (not required, as I had my own). Again, I'd only ever experienced that abroad, a nice touch. Also, I was given a good table, not one hidden next to the kitchens/toilets. The restaurant was very busy and appeared to be mainly locals, which I took to be a positive.

Throughout my stay the service provided by the staff was really excellent. They seemed to be genuinely friendly and were very willing to help. For example, they suggested that they could order a taxi for me, without even being asked.

It seemed as though the hotel would be very accessible for anyone with mobility problems (I'm certainly not an expert, but am just giving my impression). There was a ramp up to the front door, with disabled parking next to it. A lot of the rooms were on the ground floor and there were no steps on the way. My room had a large shower, with a handrail.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Strathburn and would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Rooms good with free wifi always a plus for business travellers. Food a little on the expensive side for what you get and limited menu..decent service and good central location. Good breakfast with fast service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soliddoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly and welcoming hotel staff.
Nice and quiet rooms.
Rooms are reasonably spacious and the en-suite facilities are good.
Restaurant in hotel or a short walk into Inverurie for a choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I can only comment on the restaurant. I was out with some colleagues last week and we had a beautiful meal. The service and surroundings were very good and the staff very attentive. Would certainly recommend. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Was struggling to find a single room in Aberdeen even with the eye watering prices currently charged thanks to the oil boom. Managed to get a cancellation in the Strathburn as it was on my road to Inverness and was more than impressed with the accommodation, food and friendly service from the staff. It's firmly in the diary for future trips in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked this Hotel on the advice of a friend who was very friendly with the owner David for a business stay and was not disappointed, the staff on arrival were excellent and professional, the room was of a very high standard and was very clean, the evening meal was also excellent and the breakfast was superb I would have no hesitation on recommending this Hotel to my business colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easy to access and cannot comment on upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
2.2 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
#46 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathburn Hotel

Property: Strathburn Hotel
Address: Burghmuir Drive, Inverurie AB51 4GY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Strathburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathburn Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing