We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good service and good standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathburn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good service and good standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this three star hotel. My husband and I were attending a dinner at the hotel for my father's 80th birthday. There were 12 of us for dinner and we were all delighted with the level of service and with the food - it was a simple menu but well cooked, using fresh ingredients. The hotel is very clean and the decor fresh (if a little dated in taste). The beds are comfortable and the quality of bed linen is good. The towels in the bathroom are lovely and soft. There is a trouser press, iron, hairdryer and kettle provided in the room. Small touches are missing i.e minibar, and there was only one tissue in the box on the dressing table, but this is a minor detail. We were able to buy water at the bar and bring it up to our room. Our only niggles were that the sliding shower hose only stayed at the lowest position which meant my husband (who is 6'3") had to shower on his knees and that the bed only had two pillows on it. Two extra pillows were available on top of the wardrobe but no pillowcases. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and the service was very good throughout the hotel. As local hotels in the Inverurie go, this hotel is one of the best and that includes the hotels with four stars.

Room Tip: Room 37 is larger than most, and doesn't have inlays. It is also very quiet. If you need to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    37
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
30
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and I am very satisfied with the experience. The staff was very pleasant and the room and hotel was very clean. I like the fact that the restaurant opens for breakfast at 6 a.m. The hotel isn't at the town center so the traffic is minimal and it makes for a nice walk to down town if you can do a mile or so for the round trip.

Room Tip: The street lights shine in the windows of the rooms on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week-end and found everyone very welcoming. We have stayed here a number of times but this is my first review. The food is excellent and the breakfasts are superb. Our room was very comfortable and spacious overlooking the garden. The room and bathroom provide everything you could need and the bed was very comfortable, although the duvet was much too hot for June, despite the cold and rain outside. We visit family in the area and with the facilities in Inverurie - sports centre, lovely little childrens' play park and some nice individual shops especkially the food shops in the town and the two coffee shops on the edge of town at Andersons and Ross), visitors to the area and to the hotel will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights bed & breakfast and throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room very clean and quiet, food excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shirleydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just stayed at the Strathburn Hotel for the weekend as part of a group who were visiting the local area.
I think that I can speak for all of us (38 in total) when I say that the accommodation was great and the food was of delicious.
However, what really impressed us was the service which we received from the the staff, who were friendly, polite and very efficient.
We would certainly recommend this place and if we come back to the area, will certainly be booking again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few nights ago. Although I arrived very late, I instantly felt at home, and the staff really can't do enough to help!

This is a highly recommended hotel if you're visiting the Aberdeen area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place is vastly over priced, with a mixed array off staff, ranging from the efficient and helpfully, to the sour puss! At £90 a night you get a clean room hot water and wifi that doesn't work. The whole hotel closes down on a Sunday around 9pm. You can't even get a drink at the bar after a 14 hour day at work. I fail to see where the £90 per night is justified. You can't even use your phone at the bar... Told to go into the conservatory... What! Won't be here again, and thankfully it was my company who unfortunate had to foot the bill for what can only be classed as a standard 3 star accommodation, as it's far from a hotel. Stay clear, premier inn have more to offer. Disgusted!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at Strathburn Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
In reply to these comments I would like to point out the "sour puss" was only carrying out her duties regarding the use of his mobile phone in the lounge. Because we are a business hotel most of our guests make full use of our free wi-fi and sometimes it can get overloaded however we have upgraded our system.

All in all when he stated on arrival that he had already checked out of this two previous hotels because of terrible service we should have been aware of possible problems.

Fortunately I have spoken to his company regarding his conduct and they have apologised to me.

Regards
David Barrack
(Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
2.2 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
19.4 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathburn Hotel

Property: Strathburn Hotel
Address: Burghmuir Drive, Inverurie AB51 4GY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strathburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathburn Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing