We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw burger, bland sandwich.”
Review of Gadie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Gadie's Restaurant
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I were at Gadie's last weekend for lunch. How disappointing. My boyfriend ordered a burger, which when it came was stone cold and raw in the middle. We both like a nice rare steak, but if you're serving a minced beef burger with no 'option' on the cooking, the least it should be cooked is 'medium'. The staff offered him a new one but he was so disgusted he said no.

My sandwich (chicken and bacon) was the definition of bland, with a horrible sticky white sauce and the fattiest bits of bacon you can imagine, which could have been crisped up if they'd been cooked longer, but were in actual fact wet and disgusting. The saviour was the bread, which was very nice.

Staff were apologetic about Mike's burger, but the manager was offensively loud and her clothes were unclean and too casual for her job role. She seemed to think it was OK to tell us she'd "told off the chef, they need it sometimes," which was a bit inappropriate.

In credit to them, they only charged us for the disappointing sandwich and my coke, Mike got a free coffee and a (rather dry) slice of chocolate cake. Will not return, bland food badly cooked.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouchedBS, Public Relations Manager at Gadie's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We are very sorry to hear your visit to the restaurant was not a happy one.
We have to make it clear though that you were offered a replacement burger, and you declined. You didn't complain about the baguette at the time and whilst we sympathise that it may not have been to your taste, it was all eaten.
We have addressed the issue of the burger with our kitchen staff and as a gesture of goodwill you were not charged for any of the drinks or other items which you consumed, only the baguette.
It was unfortunate that earlier on this particular day our manager was the unlucky recipient of a child and their wayward chocolate milkshake and was too busy to go home to change. She is always suitably dressed and is offended by the somewhat inaccurate personal comments aimed at her; we feel they are entirely inappropriate.
We believe that in this case everything possible was done to compensate you for your original complaint and bringing personal remarks into a review is out of place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

had delicious lunch here today, cannot fault anything, as a vegetarian-excellent choice. Staff helpful, polite and friendly. Definitely will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 851susanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The first time we went to Gadie's,Friends of us highly recommended this place so we were excited to experience the place.
They serve lunch after 3pm which is great- we ate elsewhere thinking they would not serve food after 2pm but they were.
As for tea, they only had 1 type of cake and 1 type of scone. And they tasted pretty average to me (Scone was not warmed sadly).
Casual seating setting and yet the price does not reflect that. Great tea leaves tea though.
As a vegetarian, not great Veggie option for meals. I would say this place has a lot of potential in menu and the service. Has a shop that sells crafts next door- great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maria y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have been here a few times now and have never come away thinking that it was really nice or we really enjoyed. On occasions, salads aren't the freshest, burgers a little uncooked, batter of the fried fish soggy. However, it is fairly local to us and handy. It has a pleasant environment, quite calming, though a little cold. When we have had lunch here, I would say it is average. On another occasions we have had either cakes, scones or traybakes and a hot drink. The scones and cakes could be fresher. Rather expensive for a slice of cake £3.50 I think! A glass of Irn Bru will set you back a ridiculous £3.30! What?? And the milk shakes are very expensive too. Other than that, would recommend for a coffee. Gift shop attached horrendously expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EATOUTLOADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouchedBS, Public Relations Manager at Gadie's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on your visits. But it's It’s only with feedback such as yours that we can get better and better. On your next visit, let us know if you have a problem with any of our dishes -- our staff are here to help.
[For the record, and for the benefit of other readers, the business next door is a 'craft gallery' not a 'gift shoppe', and the prices reflect the fact that each item is made by an artist or artisan.]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

the food was excellent!!! Not what I expected when arriving, the staff could have been better, but all in all a very pleasant experience. Also has a quirky little shop attached as well. We was lucky to get a table at lunch, would advise booking, and its worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Chapel of Garioch, Inverurie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing