We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stalked in Inverurie”
Review of The Black Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Inverurie B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Yet again I managed to get a room in the Black Bull for a few nights whilst I worked in Aberdeen. Yet again the bar was full of very friendly people that were up for a chat and putting the world to rights as we supped real ale and a decent pint of Guinness.

The rooms are great and if you fancy getting a food takeaway you can use the dining room to eat it!

Judy makes a cracking breakfast and nothing is too much. If you are looking for a place to stay you would struggle to get better.

Room Tip: Remember to park round the back and when leaving in the morning turn right as its a one way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Black Bull Inn has recently been upgraded. The rooms were absolutely perfect for my needs. Good comfortable bed, clean and warm bathroom en-suite and a table for making your own coffee/teas etc. I was in room 3 and it was a particularly windy night so there was a little whistling at the window. The breakfast was cooked as it should be, perfectly. Forgot to ask where you got that black pudding?

Inverurie boasts several bars but in my opinion and experience I would say the Black Bull has the friendliest staff and owners. Nothing is ever too much and Paisley is cute! (dog).

I doubt you will find better value for money within the same radius of Aberdeen.

Room Tip: I slept in room 3 but I was in the bar till closing time so dont know if it would be noisy or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My initial thoughts of the Black Bull after reading a review here was "oh dear we're going to a dark and dingy place" however we nearly missed the building as it was nothing like what I was expecting. The landlords have obviously taken advice and cleaned up the place tremendously. The rooms are obviously new and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tremendous and added to the great value for money. The bar which is below the rooms was very welcoming and I had a great raport with some of the locals. A fantastic pint was on offer and the staff were very friendly. A great wee place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiltedcrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Having tried some 50 phone numbers trying to get accommodation in Aberdeen I gave up and my search widened. This pub does not look welcoming. The pub is pretty grotty but the accommodation is a pleasant surprise. It is in an annex. Little bit noisy as the rooms are over the bar, but it is nice and clean, albeit very basic. Beds did not look great but in fact they were very comfy. It is great value for money. The service is good, the breakfast cooked to order, and the beer in the bar is actually pretty good. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cauldcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
2.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
83 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
625 reviews
9.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Inn

Address: 50-52 North Street, Inverurie AB51 4RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Inverurie
Price Range: $82 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bennachie View Bed and Breakfast sits above the Black Bull Inn - both ventures are run by the local Stuart family and are run in tandem.The bar is Cask Marque accredited and offers three local ales as well as an extensive whisky collection.Enjoy a game of pool or darts or watch the match on one of our 8 TV screens.The Bed and Breakfast offers three en suite rooms - two twin rooms and one double. Toiletries are provided free of charge,as is our breakfast, cooked to order, whether you enjoy a fry or fish, porridge or vegetarian, we have a choice for you. For those early leavers you can order a pre-packed lunch on arrival to take with you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Inn Inverurie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing