We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Manor House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Manor House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Simply this is a lovely house, that gives you a lovely welcome. A smile from Liz (who was looking after the place while the owners were away), was our welcome when we arrived, and so began the friendly atmosphere of "The Manor". A nice four poster in a room that may have needed some updating was ours for three nights (the bathroom was the let down being dark and needs to be re-done with good clean, simply it seems to have been forgotten) . It was however full of character and allowed us to relax in a quiet setting. Be aware that you will be challenged by a large breakfast......!!!, it's good!. So in short with a little updating this place would be charging twice as much, and as is is good value......nice friendly place.
Thanks to Liz, and the nice Manor........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a lovely old manor house in a small village, a few miles outside Bath. The location, close to the river at the end of a narrow lane, is idyllic. The rooms are all quirky and attractive, the house is jam packed full atmosphere, but what made it perfect was the delightful welcome from Dave. Nothing was too much touble, breakfast (delicious) was served with a smile and it was a totally enjoyable experience. Thanks Dave, loved it!!!!
MIGHT not be a great choice if you don't like animals though, as there is a resident goose and a few friendly cats. I thought they added to the charm.

Room Tip: If in doubt, talk to Dave!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doomdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Manor House for 1 night and oh how we wished we could have had more time there.On our arrival on Friday afternoon, Norman or Beth were unable to greet us, however we were left the key to our room and directions on how to find it, and there was fresh milk in the fridge and lots of lovely tea bags to choose from. We didn't meet Norman until later that evening once we had returned from our night out in Bath, and he was very friendly and welcoming and asked us what time we wanted breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in a lovely attic room (I can't remember the name of it) and it was just like home from home, and very cosy and lovely. It was so peaceful there and as it was a warm night we were able to have all the velux windows open and fall asleep to the sounds of the countryside! In the morning we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast and chilled out in the garden for a bit. I don't think that Lucy the Goose liked my partner very much though as she kept shouting at him!!
We would have loved more time there and will definately go back again for hopefully a full weekend of R&R.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BristolBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

beautiful historic house. very friendly and welcoming proprietors,who anticipated our every need.
we stayed in the willow room, the bed was very comfortable and the whole place was spotless.
they supplied an excellent vegetarian breakfast and had a huge choice on the menu.
i wish i could go back every weekend!
the only thing i would say is that although there is a parking area at the front of the house,it is not as big as it looks on the picture,and parking can be a real problem at peak times

Room Tip: we stayed in the willow room which looked out over the front of the house. its peaceful location and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebecca710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

In May I spent five nights at the Manor House. Beth and Norman are fabulous hosts and made me feel right at home. Their lovely hotel is so warm and welcoming
and from my “Willow Room” I had an inspiring view to the willow tree with its fresh green leaves protecting the entrance. The great location in the rural
surrounding of Monkton Combe is only about 10 min away from Bath and very central for starting trips to Bristol, Glastonbury, Wells, Stonehenge, Avebury and
all those fantastic places I visited.
The hotel itself is very individual. Its heart, oh yes it has got one, is in the sitting room, with the very old fireplace and if you are lucky you may have a delicious
breakfast there like I had.
Outside in the pretty garden you can also have breakfast ( I didn’t because it was a little bit cool) but you can have there a chat with Lucy the very proud and
friendly goose.
Next year I’ll be there for another stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This manor house is set in a great location in a picturesque village near Bath. The proprietors were very good and attentive hosts who made our stay very pleasant. They were a mine of information, and very helpful with advice and directions.
I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon and will never forget it, it is a magnificent house with so much history and it has a great feeling to it. if you are looking for a special few nights away this is the place to stay, beth and norman [the owners] will give you a warm welcome into the house and we were made to feel so at home, they could not have done anything better they let us choose what time we had our breakfast they booked us a table at a local restaurant they could not have made our stay any better i could write so much more about how much we enjoyed staying there and how special the house and garden is but all i will say is if you dont go to stay there you will have missed out on a fantastic experience and an amazing house. loved every minute of being there wish we was still there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
0.0 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Property: The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Address: Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, rambling Medieval Manor in country village 2.25miles/ 8 minutes drive from centre of Bath. Dating from 1262 with Tudor inglenook fire spacious ensuite bedrooms with TV, video, DVD, WIFI. Fantastic candlelit restaurant with excellent local reputation for fine food in 16th and 19th century dining rooms on Fridays, Saturdays. Bring Your Own Wine - No Corkage Charge! Rural walks along brook to local pubs, canal boat/bike hire 5 minutes wander. Parking, gardens. Heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath Hotel Monkton Combe
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing