We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This manor house is set in a great location in a picturesque village near Bath. The proprietors were very good and attentive hosts who made our stay very pleasant. They were a mine of information, and very helpful with advice and directions.
I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silverglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon and will never forget it, it is a magnificent house with so much history and it has a great feeling to it. if you are looking for a special few nights away this is the place to stay, beth and norman [the owners] will give you a warm welcome into the house and we were made to feel so at home, they could not have done anything better they let us choose what time we had our breakfast they booked us a table at a local restaurant they could not have made our stay any better i could write so much more about how much we enjoyed staying there and how special the house and garden is but all i will say is if you dont go to stay there you will have missed out on a fantastic experience and an amazing house. loved every minute of being there wish we was still there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Not your average bnb. If your looking for a butler style champagne bucket 'hotel' then this is possibly not for you.

The whole house is decorated in a lovely shabby chic homely manner. It makes it almost a home from home. There are odd touches of glamour here and there with the chandelier and the Laura Ashley wallpapers... but for me it was the smell of the huge sandstone fireplace and the other housemates you will find here!

Lucy goosey and the seven kitties roaming about the beautiful wild gardens give this bnb an air of tranquility and home that is very hard to replicate.

We had a lovely room with a jacuzzi spa bath and a kingsize bed. Very refreshing to check in to find fresh milk and plenty of teabags (more than 1!) with a selection of herbal teas to boot. Room was clean and comfortable with lovely view of the garden.

Breakfast was delish- whole warm loaf to slice at pleasure..fresh produce sourced locally and perfect service... fresh juice etc all available. Seated with views to the garden on such a beautiful day made it a lovely way to begin!

I may only suggest that guests ask for a read of a book called 'heart to heart' before they pop out and have a chat with Lucy in her garden. Those of you who have an open mind and soul will certainly feel something special about this place.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, very relaxing with great breakfast and rooms!

Room Tip: The 'bridal suite' was a lovely big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bnfbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our son and his wife had previously stayed here and commented on it being the place to stay to see Bath. They were absolutely right with a very warm welcome from Norman and Beth for our two-night stay at this lovely retreat. We were offered a hot drink as soon as we walked in, being invited into the spacious reception room, where breakfast was served the next morning. We stayed in the blue room with its spa bath; the bed was comfortable and the facilities were good. Breakfast was well cooked (exactly as asked for), with excellent ingredients. There was a choice of cereal, fruit and full English. Norman and Beth provided generous hospitality and we would highly recommend the Manor House.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just returned from a UK vacation during which we had a marvelous stay at the Manor House.
Our family of 5 stayed 4 nights in the Tudor Wing suite. It was spacious and provided my wife and I with our own "space" instead of cramping everyone into a single room. The beds were comfortable and Norman and Beth were wonderful hosts.
It is centrally located to many more must see sites than just Bath. Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar, Stonehenge and the White Horses of Uffington and Wiltshire are all close by.
I highly recommend the Manor House to anyone looking for a peaceful stay. We would definitely return, with or without the family.

Room Tip: The Tudor wing sleeps 5 and is 2 connected rooms, each with its own ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Booked a weekend away in Bath looking to get away from the crowds of London & found an almost idyllic country B& B . From the moment we arrived, host Norman was extremely warm and inviting & offered us refreshment after our long journey . This continued throughout our 2night stay and the hospitality was faultless . We stayed in the silk room which was spacious with a wonderful 4 poster bed . While the room was nice , we were slightly disappointed with the bathroom facilities as there was no barrier between the shower and toilet. Even more bizarrely the door was see-through & there was no separation to stop the water leaking out from the bathroom onto the carpet outside the door ! We also felt that the curtains , sofa & cutlery could have been more thouroughly cleaned . These are only minor complaints though as they didn't stop us from thoroughly enjoying our stay . Breakfast was delicious & the location was a perfect base to visit to bath away from the crowds . If you want a peaceful weekend away then we'd highly recommend the Manor House .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pameladevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were welcomed with tea and crumpets after being shown to our room. The location is very peacful but within easy reach of Bath town. Our hosts Beth and norman made us feel so at home and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast which was cooked to order was fantastic and we didn't want for anything. They were extremely helpful with places to visit, walks and places to eat.
We were sad to leave after our 4 days with them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
0 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#2 of 3 in Monkton Combe
331 reviews
0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Address: Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, rambling Medieval Manor in country village 2.25miles/ 8 minutes drive from centre of Bath. Dating from 1262 with Tudor inglenook fire spacious ensuite bedrooms with TV, video, DVD, WIFI. Fantastic candlelit restaurant with excellent local reputation for fine food in 16th and 19th century dining rooms on Fridays, Saturdays. Bring Your Own Wine - No Corkage Charge! Rural walks along brook to local pubs, canal boat/bike hire 5 minutes wander. Parking, gardens. Heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath Hotel Monkton Combe
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing