We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked my stay here after finding it on Booking.com and and having no idea what to expect.

This hotel is located in a rural area about 10 minutes outside of Bath. So you really need to have a car to get there and know in advance where to find it. We were surprised to drive up to the hotel (through a farm?) and find a lovely old Georgian style building. The decor was tasteful and very nice.

Our twin room was spacious and lovely, clean and very quiet.

The staff were helpful, and friendly and we got to meet and chat with the owner Simon who was very personable and chatty and made us feel extremely welcome.

I mistakenly thought our breakfast was included and I think I paid 7 pounds for a continental breakfast and my travel buddy paid about 10 pounds for a cooked breakfast. We were not told of the prices when we checked in and because I thought it was included in the room I didn't ask. Whilst there was a variety of different food and it was fresh, we think the price was a bit expensive. The service was attentive and friendly though.

Many people have posted about the lack of a bar and restaurant. And whilst I don't have a problem with this I can see that the lack of a restaurant could be a problem for those that arrive late and a re looking for a bite to eat. It would be nice if they could offer even some sandwiches or someother snack in the evening for late arrivals.

The staff at the Waterhouse did recommend a really nice Gastropub in the village which was pricey but delicious. The Waterhouse went ahead and booked us a table - this is recommended - it was a Tuesday night but the pub was heaving! The walk to the village was about 10 minutes and was a lovely country walk. But make sure you have a torch with you on the way back as there is no lighting and decent shoes (ie: no high heels unless you're super confident walking on uneven ground without falling over and breaking a hip). You might not want to take the walk in winter or the rain though.

There didn't appear to be any air conditioning but there was ventilation and we could open the windows wide.

The bathroom was a decent size and there were nice toiletries! The beds were comfy and at night it was so quiet I had one of the best sleeps ever on this holiday.

I would definately stay here again and recommend it as a lovely hotel in the country. Because it's outside of Bath it's a little less expensive than the hotel located within Bath.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Waterhouse and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the room and found it lovely, clean and quiet, we always hope that our guests will enjoy the peaceful rural setting as it sounds like you did.

We apologise that you were not made aware of the breakfast charges and have taken into consideration your comments as we consistently endeavour to improve our service and offerings for our guests.

We are now happy to be able to offer drinks on site with a restaurant under development so will be able to add to our guest experience by offering snacks and evening meals so hope you will be able to come back and enjoy this addition in the near future.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to Waterhouse again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Ed May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    126
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
281
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, beautiful area and setting and so much potential to be amazing! Room was ok nothing outstanding but decorated lovely and it was a big room,bathroom was small and expected it to be abit more "lush". Bed didn't have head board and bathroom was full of hairs on floor and cobwebs in corners! Hotel did not have bar or restaurant which we would of used in evening, breakfast was good, would of been nice to have a breakfast menu, overall nice hotel but still needs lots of work, and at the moment abit over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your comments have been passed to housekeeping and we are sorry you found hairs in your bathroom. We are just waiting for our licenses so we can open up facilities to offer alcohol and dinner to our guests.
Waterhouse is continually developing and we take pride guests see the bright future for our guest house.

If ever in the area please do pop in to see the development of our facilities and enjoy a dinner on us.
Kind Regards,

Waterhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel. Checked in late, after twice ringing the hotel for directions. It's a family-run hotel so was dealing with the owners who were more than helpful to guide us through the dark of Bath (no sat nav and phone being too slow).
Setting is lovely, room was ideal and breakfast was superb (inc. home-made flap jacks and a great fry). However, this hotel is c10k to the centre of Bath. Because we checked in late we had no choice but to get a taxi into town (£15 and £12 return) to eat as the hotel does not have a bar/serve evening meals.
Such a pity it doesn't even have a wine menu and a sandwich option for the evening as the setting is lovely and the breakfast food was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our guest house. Due to waiting for our licenses we are unable to serve alcohol so sorry we are unable to provide a glass of wine this time round. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our home cooked delights for breakfast and hopefully this shows some insight to what standard to be expected when we soon open our restaurant.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Waterhouse one day. Please do get in touch on your next visit to Bath.

Thank you so much again.

Kind Regards,

Waterhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

the hotel is really nicely located the room were really lovely and very clean the staff was exceptional just real shame we had to go elsewhere for an evening meal and drink although the breakfast was very nicely cooked to how you like it . to get to the local village pub/restaurant to you have to either use a taxi or walk down a foot path at back of hotel which is no good if you are disabled and if you like to dress for dinner because the footpath is quite muddy when it has rained and can be slippy.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Was a pleasure to welcome you on your visit to Bath. So pleased you found our staff and hotel to a exceptional standard. We are just waiting for our licenses to come through to enable us to serve alcohol and dinners to our guests. We would love to see you return one day to enjoy the culinary delights we will have on offer.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Waterhouse and we hope to see you again one day.

Kind Regards,

Waterhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here recently for a family wedding and were very impressed. Quiet location, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast! Rooms very well appointed, minor problem with a leaking shower door but faultless otherwise. Yes the phone reception is not brilliant, but not impossible, we have the same problem at home! All the staff were very helpful and happily accommodated the babies in our family group. Booked taxis for us too. We ate at the nearby Wheelwrights - 10 minute walk across valley - agree with previous reviewer, flat shoes and torch a good idea!
We would definitely return to Waterhouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and we are delighted you were very impressed with Waterhouse.

We appreciate the time it takes to leave comments and we hope to see you again in the near future for your next visit to Bath.

Kind Regards,

Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just spent two days in the above hotel. We were in the area for a wedding at Priston Mill and the groom, his family, and several of the brides family stayed here.
The staff were incredibly attentive, and ensured that everything we needed was attended to. Be warned they do not yet have a licence, but have applied for one, but the good news is that all rooms have a fridge so you can take your drinks, and keep them cool. They do not provide lunch or evening meals as yet, but the breakfasts are superb.
They will organise taxis to Bath or to local hostelries if you need them. On Friday we ate at the Wheelwright Arms in Monkton Combe, the food was excellent, the prices were good and the local beer and cider was too drinkable!!
The standard rooms are large and airy with good showers. The gardens are extensive and the children in our party loved them.
The road leading to the hotel is very narrow, but perfectly fine, providing you don't drive like a maniac.
A special mention for the receptionist Jane, who went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our large party had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99terryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
So so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Was a pleasure looking after your party and thrilled you had an excellent wedding at Priston Mill. We hope to soon to be receiving our license enabling us to serve our guests drinks as well as evening meals. We hope you are able to return to Waterhouse one day to enjoy a drink and meal with us.

Your comments will be passed onto our staff members and we look forward to welcoming you back to Waterhouse.

Kind Regards,

Waterhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here & received a friendly welcome.
Our room was nice but felt unfinished ( no head board, no pictures on the wall,no safe) but still pleasant. Bathroom was nicely tiled & separate shower.
We wanted to eat & were told where to walk across the valley ( about 10 mins ) to the only pub in the village, the wheelwright's arms, which was busy but the hotel had kindly reserved us a table before we left, & the food was superb. The walk back was interesting as it was getting dark & the path had a few nettles. I would suggest a torch & flat shoes as its uneven under foot., but definitely worth the walk.
We slept well & the beds were comfy. We couldn't get a signal on our phones & the wifi didn't work in our room, but did work in reception. The weather was very hot & the room didn't have air con or a fan. Our breakfast in the conservatory was good but they need more tables as we had to wait quite a while. Not a problem for us but no good if you are in a hurry.
I think this hotel is still finding it's feet but we still enjoyed it & when it's completely finished it will be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmay83, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback from your stay at Waterhouse. Great to see you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is valuable information for teh evolution of Waterhouse. Sorry you were unable to get a WIFI reception i your room this has been tested and a strong signal can be found in and out of Waterhouse. Unfortunately as we sit in a valley phone signal is poor and is across the whole of Bath but we see this as an opportunity for our guests to leave life's modern pleasure behind during there relaxing stay with us.

Our restaurant will soon be opening where we will have additional seating for our guests and enable dinners to be served throughout the winter so guests have the option of staying on site to dine

We appreciate you seeing the future of Waterhouse as being bright and would love to welcome you back. Please do drop me an email for any future requirements yo may have.

Kind regards,
Ed May
Waterhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Property: Waterhouse
Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing