We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch”
Review of Wheelwrights Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelwrights Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Took our friends and their son with our family for Sunday lunch.

Nice pub with a good reputation for food and overall it lived up to that. Managed to get my kids to try new dishes, surprisingly enjoying the baked Camembert and then sticky toffee pudding which can rarely find in Singapore.

Our roasts, were overall good accompanied by perfectly cooked vegetables, however one of our party returned the pork as it was cold and then received a pork chop/steak upon return.

Price is on the expensive side compared to other restaurants, however represents reasonable value given the portion size and general quality. We'll make a point of returning when next in the area.

Room Tip: Ratings are based in the restaurant, we didn't stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 325 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went with friends using our great value Travelzoo vouchers. I felt the lunch menu was a curious mix of starters and main courses and my corned beef starter was very salty indeed. However the quality of the food was generally very good and the service was friendly . I had the Otter Ale and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a very pleasant Saturday lunch here on a voucher deal. A well balanced menu with a specials board to add variety. We wanted something suitable for a hot sunny day and both had a very nice brill fillet, served with rocket salad, roasted peppers and very good, slightly spicy, tomato salsa - really good. The star of our lunch was the elderflower and gooseberry parfait - served with crumble, elderflower jelly and gooseberries with a little lemon balm to complement a lovely range of fresh flavours - excellent and ideal to complete our "summer" lunch

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Room 1 bathroom toilet handle broken rusty towel radiator bath with shower mixer not good no riser bar for shower head had to hand hold to shower no shower curtain water goes everywhere nice wooden floors ruined because water splashes when showering. Dirty skirting boards. Bedroom not dusted prior to our visit. Paint flaking off ceiling. Duvets looked a bit iffy and I also noticed that duvets were stored in a shed in the car park - sorry this is a NO NO as mice get into sheds!! Breakfast good. Could be a fantastic place if a little more money spent very tired looking and it's only June. Maybe our room was a blip???

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandiejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We live locally in Bath and regularly eat at the Wheelwrights, but after the 'beef tasting evening' last week I feel I just have to write because it was literally one of the best meals I've had anywhere for any price. It was conceived by their relatively new chef ( we also went to his excellent Spanish evening) and served with a different selected wine for each of the 5 courses. The ambience of this pub is also fantastic, warm and cosy at any time of year and during the summer you can sit out and have a drink overlooking the spectacular views. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wheelwrights for a meal or a drink (they also have very good rooms I hear)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank TravellinB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Myself and a group had arranged a cycle ride to the pub we had emailed previously to let them know there would be about 10 of us at 1.30 unfortunately we arrived late. On arrival a few of us went straight to the bar and apologised and asked if we were still OK to have lunch in the garden the guy behind the bar was quite short with us and stated your not here booked until until the tomorrow and blamed the email for the confusion, however a young lady (who was very pleasant throughout our time there!!) said someone must have written it down wrong the man just rolled his eyes and asked what we wanted. As food arrived some of us were disappointed in the sandwiches as we were being charged £6.50 the presentation not overly great or quantity/quality. Some went back to the bar to order some sides of chips again the man at the bar was quite rude and just snapped how many we paid and went back to the garden. The girl serving us was really polite and apologised some of us had to wait longer than others.
I would not eat here again but the gardens are lovely for a quiet drink luckily the weather held out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed the Italian style food on the nice restaurant pub close to Bath. The wen list completed the good menu. Service is still learning and needs significant improvement. Will come back when we are in Bath again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range: $140 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing