We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic period cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old House Hilton
Ranked #19 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Recently stayed for a night as a stopover travelling north from London. Stayed in the self contained suite. We enjoyed the large space of the authentic beamed room, and the privacy of its own entrance with adjacent parking. The decor is charming, the twin adjacent beds spacious and comfortable. In addition there was a separate comfortable lounge. Breakfast superbly cooked from local produce and home produced jams, by a very friendly and relaxed host in a large range styled kitchen completed a very satisfactory experience. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The self contained suite is private and has god access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this room a few days before we were due to travel to the midlands; how lucky we were. We found our room on the first floor to be beautifully decorated and spotless if a little creaky but what would you expect in a house of this age and charm. I must say that my wife and I are not the best of sleepers by any stretch of the imagination but the bed that we had in our room was extremely comfortable and we slept like babies. Tim and Fifi made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble especially at breakfast time, when we were served a lovely breakfast.
The house is full of interesting furniture and ornaments, that our hosts had collected on their travels around the world, which my wife and I both felt made our stay even more enjoyable, there were also some very lovely paintings and illustrations to look at some of which were painted by Fifi.
Overall our stay at The Old House was very enjoyable and our hosts did everything in their power to make it so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_hendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the opening phone call everything was fantastic with this little BandB.
It really is a charming little place, that is a home from home, although don't come here if you have jealousy issues as the breakfast and shower will probably be better than in your own home!
The gorgeous little period building may have the odd creak, however the gorgeous features make up it.
Even though it is straight off a main road (be careful you could miss it) we could not hear any noise and so had a fab night's sleep even with rush-hour traffic and from being at the front of the house.
The room that we stayed in had a lovely homely feel from the range of books, furniture and nick nacks to make us feel at home.

If you are used to basic, boring, sterile feeling places then this is not for you; however if you want a cracking night's sleep and attentive, friendly hosts for your break then this place will be hard for you to beat.

Room Tip: We were in the en-suite. Its nice to have your own front door when you stay at a BandB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ground floor bedroom was easy to access through our own entrance door and carry
luggage to, with car parked on the drive right outside.

The small bathroom was through a different door leading from the hallway. Although this bathroom is solely for the use of this bedroom, it didn’t feel convenient or private when
walking back through the hall past the uncurtained window in the front door. A small
curtain for this window would be a good idea.

The room was large, but we soon realised most of the usable space was taken up with the owner’s collection of miscellaneous furniture, books, paintings and ornaments.
A large wooden cabinet next to the bed was completely full of books and covered in ornaments, with no space for guests to use. A lengthy coffee table took up more floor space. Another sizeable table had several oversized books on it. We found the only hanging space for our clothes was a cheap portable clothes rail in the corner by the door.
We felt like we’d been crammed into someone’s spare room, where the first priority was to store the owner’s possessions, and guest’s needs came second.

There was a nice lounge for guests in the next room.
It would be more appropriate to relocate the bookcases, books, tables and ornaments into the
lounge, and replace with proper wardrobes for guest’s sole use in the bedroom.

Removing the clutter and unnecessary furniture would also facilitate more frequent dusting of the room – it clearly hadn’t been dusted recently, with dust visible on the surfaces. My other half has a dust allergy, and consequently suffered an uncomfortable night of swollen eyes, streaming nose and coughing.

The bed looked very attractive with a solid wooden frame, but was unfortunately too short for me to lie out straight. I had to sleep diagonally across the bed to avoid my head being jammed against the attractive wooden headboard or my feet jamming against the equally attractive wooden footboard. Between the dust and the short bed, we had an uncomfortable night.

Although the location is rural and the house is beautiful, the location is right on the A454 – there is a fair amount of noise from traffic whizzing up and down this road at speed. This isn’t the owner’s fault, but bear it in mind if you’re a light sleeper. Noise travels easily through these old timber framed houses.
Stick to accommodation built from stone if you want more soundproofing. Be aware that your noise will travel through the house if you’re lucky enough to have a passionate lover, or unlucky enough to suffer from snoring, coughing, clumsiness or noisy children.

Breakfast was pleasant, with a nice selection of cereals and home-made preserves. Note there’s only one table in the kitchen for all the guests – if you like your own space, it’s probably not for you.

Overall, we were disappointed. Considering all the previous 4 and 5 star reviews, and the price per night, we expected a bedroom which was adequately cleaned and furnished for paying guests. A listed building does not make up for these basic failings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very comfortable and our hosts were delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very generous with their time and provisions. Very interesting characters too !
Charming old house with lovely garden

Room Tip: en-suite ground floor twin bed room saves climbing stairs for the less fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Where do i start with the old house, its beautiful from the moment you get out the car, the place is stunning and the owners are not much less. I found them very warming and ready to accomodate my every need,the bedrooms were large and relaxing and i seemed to sleep as well as i have ever done. the breakfast was to die for with no end of re-fills and extras thrown in. Well done the old house !

Room Tip: I only slept in the double and that was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevem808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Old House is a listed building partly dating back to the 15th century. It is a delightful characterful property with good sized rooms especially the downstairs en-suite, and has a comfortable large guest lounge where tea and biscuits were served on arrival. Breakfast is served in the large farmhouse style kitchen where the charming attentive hosts treat their guests more like friends than visitors. Located within easy reach of Bridgnorth and the Ironbridge area. A great place to stay in this lovely county

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
0 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
181 reviews
0 mi away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
150 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
77 reviews
0 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 28 in Bridgnorth
290 reviews
0 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Hilton

Address: Bridgnorth WV15 5PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: $49 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in beautiful gardens, The Old House has been in the Sharplin family home for over twenty two years. It is a 16th century Grade II listed building and was originally built as a ‘Hall House.’ Over the years it has undergone many changes, the most significant being the addition of two massive inglenook fireplaces built from pink Shropshire sandstone in the centre of the house, where originally there was just an open hearth fire with a hole in the roof. Surprisingly for such an early house, the ceilings are high, probably because the current floor level resulted from a cellar infill. The rooms are all large and with many exposed original beams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old House Hilton Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing