We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations but left disappointed”
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George
Ranked #10 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i have only visited the pub once for a drink since the re-opening a few years ago & for this reason me & a friend decided to give The George a whirl for a evening meal.
We had both been told good things about the food & were excited about going.
We went on-line before & checked out the menu & had pretty much decided what we wanted.

When we arrived we ordered a drink and were shown to the restaurant area, on seeing the area we asked not to be seated there as it was deadly quiet & also next to a busy exit/entrance door ( no thank you with this cold weather ). Me & my friend also had not seen each other for some time & wanted a good natter so we didnt fancy the super quiet restaurant area & opted to dine in the bar.
The bar was busy for 6.30pm but warm with a nice atmosphere.The menus arrived but they were totally different to what we had seen on-line, we both struggled to make choices from the menu & were a little disappointed to be honest. We made our choices, Mine - Crispy duck, broad bean and spring onion salad over a bed of red chard and rocket dressed with a hoi sin sauce £6.95.
when it arrived it was a big pile of leaves with no broad beans & 4 of the thinnest smallest pieces of duck ever!!. I was gutted & when the waitress asked me if it was ok?, i said the duck was nice...what i really wanted to say was where was the duck & the beans??!!. i am not confident & in fear of rocking the boat with my friend, who thought her soup was lovely i said nothing & waited for my main.
i always have lamb when out & as the on-line choice wasnt available i ordered- Rosemary and garlic coated rack of lamb served on a pool of redcurrant and red wine jus with a garnish of fresh redcurrants and crispy leeks £19.95. Pricey but i had high expectations
.When it arrived it looked lovely, until i cut into the lamb. It was tough & over cooked!. not a hint of pink in sight.. The veg portion was very small but the other sides looked nice. I was struggling to eat the dry lamb so did ask the waitress for some gravy, I wanted to complain but again my friend was enjoying her meal & the pub was very busy at this point so i chickened out. When asked if it was ok i kept my head down & said nothing..
I wish now i had of complained & i should have as the meal from start to finish was over priced, lacking & over cooked. the on-line incorrect menu issue also caused me added disappointment.
sadly but not surprising to say i wont be returning...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Happyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a real shame as this place is lovely, with a great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, good food and very nice staff. However, if they have loud musice playing suring your stay you WILL NOT be able to sleep. The noise is too much. No consideration has been given to sound proofing for guests. I stayed for three nights and bands played for two of those.

I would eat and drink here, but would never stay again until something is done about the noise levels in the rooms.

More suited as a good pub than overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milsyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Always had a good time here the food is excellent. We went for the Xmas Sunday Lunch which was lovely. However we were never offered a sweet or coffee etc.We gave up waiting to be asked and the girls were clearing tables around us.We felt a swift exit was best and my other half didn't want to make a fuss and spoil the day. We were only charged for two courses but it would have been nice to have had the option. Never mind we'll venture somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nadia1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

First time for us to have a meal in the George.
Food was very nice and highly recommended, live band was excellent too, but I'm afraid the two didn't go together. We were seated right next to the band and weren't able to talk. Also it was two busy and three times we asked for our veg, but went without. I hope the team read this and make the changes

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmpope68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were on The Severn Valley Railway celebrating a birthday. There were 8 adults and 4 under 5's. We went to the George for Sunday lunch. It was delicious. We were given a room to accommodate our family. Staff were polite and pleasant to chat with. All in all a good time. I would recommend this place for a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Rich-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed four nights at The George,when we first arrived we were put in the room with the chimney breast running through it,as we entered we could smell smoke ,but thought it was maybe a fire nearby drifting in .Wrong ,wrong ,wrong the chimney needs relining so it always smells like there is a bonfire in the room.we also had a clock that did not work and the tv did not work.
after sleeping there overnight and waking with a splitting headache,sore throat and sore eyes,we decided to ask for a room change. this was not a problem as the very nice lady said they were aware of the problem ????.we were moved to an excellent room with a working clock ,the tv did not work but that was maybe us not being used to the remotes etc.
once we moved rooms everything was excellent and we could not fault The George ,the food is fabulous, the staff excellent and so helpful. we were aware of the fact that on a saturday night the music can be heard in the rooms ,but if you are prewarned its not a problem .
The George is very clean,friendly with excellent food ,just avoid Queen Matildas room.

Room Tip: avoid the room with the chimney breast running through it(currently called queen matilda) be aware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a very comfortable couple of nights here and enjoyed lovely breakfasts. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault the service. The double room was perhaps a little on the small side, but it was nicely furnished and very clean. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minguspingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 28 in Bridgnorth
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 28 in Bridgnorth
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 28 in Bridgnorth
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bassa Villa
Bassa Villa
#4 of 8 in Bridgnorth
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: Hollybush Road, Bridgnorth WV16 4AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: $89 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing