We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the exterior put you off!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George
Ranked #8 of 30 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior put you off!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Along with the welcoming staff, the recently re-furnished interior, and the very good food, you will find this a perfect place to stay.
I would have given this 5* had it not been for the copious amount of dust disturbed when I had to re- hang the curtains in my room, on top of the wardrobe too! Also the rather long wait for service in the evening on what I would say was not a busy night.
But heh guys take this as constructive criticism because everything else was top-notch.
The exterior CAN be a little off-putting, but the position in the Lower Town is perfect - just at the bottom of the SVR approach, and thanks to one of the staff my bus stop for onward travel to Ironbridge was right outside the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverNomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
36
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

It might sound a little over the top but The George really exceeded expectations. The rooms are lovely the food is fantastic and the welcome friendly. The mix between old and new works perfectly to give you the rustic feel with all the mod cons.
The food was amazing, the menu selection was good and the portion sizes just right and I'm a good eater! We went as a family to celebrate my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary the table was laid out lovely with great decorations and just the right number of ballons.
We will be visiting again - Thanks for such a special weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a fine fine establishment, with an excellent menu, well kept beers, live music on Saturday nights and warm, clean rooms with views over the nearby Severn Valley Railway steam railway. The staff are warm and friendly- the service always with a smile. The £155 bill for 2 nights B&B came, nevertheless, as a bit of a shock- you need to be aware of the cost before booking; but you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worcsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMSEY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in very clean modern Single room for which I was given a really good rate. Thank you. Food is outstanding and beautifully presented. Really good menu. Local Real Ales; well kept. Made to feel very welcome indeed. All the staff: Manageress, Barstaff, Waitresses, Cleaner, were so friendly. Just the young lady on the Bar on the Friday night a bit off. But one out of about 10 doesn't really count; the others all more than made up for it.
Live music on a Saturday & the pub is open until midnight, so just be aware if you are staying with young children that you can't expect it to be quiet before midnight.
Wish I was in the area to stay more often - a great pub, and very handy if you are visisting the Severn Valley Railway - opposite. An absolute pleasure to stay at The George.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed on Friday and Saturday night whilst in the area for a friends wedding. The rooms were spotless and the pub downstairs was great - nice local bitter on tap and they stayed up to give us a drink when we got back late in the evening. Breakfast was massive and good quality. Above all else the people who own / run The George could not be nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

The George Hotel is easy to pass by without a second glance. But, that would be a big mistake: because the George only reveals its true talents when you step over its threshold. When you do, you'll find a friendly welcome and a comfortable gastro-pub/ hotel ambience in the large lounge bar and dining area, complete with comfy chairs and a real log-fire. The hotel has been re-furbished to a high standard and represents excellent value for money. We stayed one night with friends as part of a steam-train weekend on the Severn Valley Railway. Bridgnorth station is directly opposite, and cars can be parked in the station car park for £2.50 for 24hrs ( free for hotel guests between 6pm and mid-night). The rooms were really nicely appointed with luxury en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV ( takes a bit of practice to press the right buttons) and tea and coffee making facilities. Our room (Mallard: each room is named after a steam train) looked out onto the station, so for steam enthusiasts it's the perfect location. There is a road outside the hotel, but traffic is not especially heavy and we weren't disturbed. Dinner was excellent: the food was cooked with care and intuition to a high standard using fresh ingredients, and service was efficient and friendly. We drank a really excellent 2006 Banda Azul Rioja from the reliable Bodegas Federico Paternina, which at £16 was a real bargain. Live music was played from 9pm on Saturday until around 11.30pm. The standard was good and we enjoyed it, but don't expect to get any sleep until the set has finished. So, not recommended for families with young children or those wanting peace and quiet, or an early night. But, for the young or young-at-heart with a sense of fun, it's great. It's also a short hop over to the Railwayman's Arms: located on the station platform and serving a wide range of real ales. It's a railway- buff's paradise: the clientele is largely made up of SVR volunteers only too happy to share their love and knowledge of all things steam-train. A good place for a pre-dinner tipple. The historic centre of Bridgnorth: High Town, is a short but steep walk via the station footbridge and Cannon steps, or you can walk round to the Cliff Railway and pay £1 return to let the funicular-train take the strain which also allows you to admire the views over the River Severn as you ascend. Highly recommended for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Choose your favourite steam train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

at the end of August 2010 I spent a pleasant and comfortable 3 night at The George. The decor and cleanliness of the hotel was first class. I found, being a woman on her own, the atmosphere especially in the bar, very relaxing. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was designed around my wishes and an evening meal with my relatives who live in Bridgnorth, was excellent and enjoyed by all, i would, and have, recommended The George to anyone and I hopefully will be returning soon,

Yours faithully

Maureen Sharod

PS The SVR should use the facilities of The George> The closeness would surely be a boon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missemmatrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Property: The George
Address: Hollybush Road, Bridgnorth WV16 4AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing