We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the Best Guesthouse in Bridgnorth ( Really !! )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoneway Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the Best Guesthouse in Bridgnorth ( Really !! )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This Guesthouse really is a little Gem ...just like Tracy and Steve who were both warm and offered homely hospitality with exceptional food .Nothing to complain about there.
You would be foolish to miss this Great place to stay in Bridgnorth. The rooms may be small but were clean and cosy with great character, after all this is a Grade 2 listed building. Our room was overlooking the cliff top Railway which brings out the child in all the men !!
Also a great bonus is the Free Parking nearby ;-)
Ideally situated to visit the fascinating Museums which are steeped in Victorian Culture and Heritage nearby at Ironbridge .Also a great base to visit the beautiful countryside around Shropshire !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    22
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
104
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
U.K
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

stayed two days and really enjoyed Tracy's hospitaility nothing too much trouble. Even went out and bought gluten free bread for me, I usually go without.
Room very clean and comfortable great shower, nice toilitries. Car parking no trouble, easy to find ..only a few minutes away. Bridgnorth is a very old town with narrow streets so parking outside this lovely quirky place is not an option,
I would't hesitate to recomment this place and will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here on the 9th & 10th in the en-suite looking out at a cliffs railway i was pleasantly shocked & suprised to see this. we could not of been made more welcome from tracey & steve they were great! everything we needed in our room was thought of & was there. they gave us lots of tips for places to see & visit. breakfast was brill! help yourself to a large fresh variaty which was topped up constantley & most of all FRESH! dinner & desert were the same, BRILLIANT! The decor & furnature went perfect with the building, you would not believe this building was der before tracey & steve had took this over, a job very well done! myself being a area superviser for a cleaning company and you cant help but to look around lol! my job is to check the work at top well known companys & i can safely say they have exellant cleaners the building was spotless. GREAT JOB ALROUND! we will never forget our stay & hope to visit again soon, perhaps if there is some kind of HALLOWEEN event ,it would be great fun. FROM ANGELINA & PAUL FROM TILBURY IN ESSEX

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

1. Lack of info in advance re. location or parking.
a) Don't trust your SatNav - there is no possibility of locating this Guest House using one.
b) The guest house's parking is more than 300 yards away on the other side of the river... and then it's in an insecure pub car park. Unloading on a busy streetside, and then steps up to the guest house make arrival pretty difficult.
2. We were shown to the tiniest 'double' guest room I've ever stayed in. Room for tiny bedside cabinet one side but not the other, open unfinished slatted shelves and open hanging rail with wall-mounted TV just visible through the shelves. No possibility of a proper wardrobe - or chest of drawers - as no space to put them.
3. Toilet was not working - no possibility of flushing.
4. View - over the cliff railway (quite pleasant) at the sandstone cliff just a few feet away (not very pleasant) made the room dark and miserable - natural light is very limited here.
5. Sunday morning - the cliff railway - which literally goes under the house - started maintenance work shortly after 7.00am - no chance of a lie-in.
6. Breakfast. If you like corn flakes or muesli as your cereal, you will be okay; if you like pre-packed long-life croissants, you will be okay; if you are happy with cooked breakfast ingredients kept over a warmer for ages and only your egg cooked fresh - you will be okay. We expected something rather better.
We stayed here as a romantic getaway for our wedding anniversary - away from our 3 children for the first time for many years. What a stupendous disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severnvaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy268, Owner at Stoneway Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for your review, however I feel I must respond to your comments.

Your original enquiry came from our website, which makes it very clear about location and how to find us using a Satnav. Free parking in Bridgnorth is very scarce and having a car park 3 minutes walk away is something not many guest houses can provide. We also provide information about the steps and access, should you require assistance. Again, our website makes it clear that because we are in an old bulding, the rooms are compact and furnished to provide the basic facilities our customers require.

It is a shame you failed to mention the faulty toilet, as it was fixed within 2 minutes of us knowing. We are always available to address issues like this.

Many people who book via our website do so specifically because of our location above the cliff railway and find the cliffs and railway itself facinating. All of this is described on our website and is part of the attraction of staying at Stoneway.

We do not understand your comments about breakfast - to date we have had 38 other reviews, the majority of which praise our breakfasts as outstanding. When you stayed, there were, as always, 4 cereals on offer, fresh fruit including melon, prunes and fruit compote, yoghurts, and different marmalades and spreads. We are eco-friendly and really do not like to waste food; because of this we decided to provide pre-packed croissants and brioche to provide fresh products for our customers every day. Hot food is kept on a buffet server so that guests can help themelves to as much or as little as they want, thus keeping down the cost of your stay. It is checked and refilled regularly, and you along with all our guests, were asked if everything was OK with your breakfast. We don't know what more you could expect from us.

We would like to point out that first and foremost, we are a small and humble guest house; not a 5-star hotel, and for £30 per person we believe this is good value for money.

So many of our guests have put extremely complimentary reviews and many are returning for further stays and recommending us to their friends. You are of course entitled to your point of view and we are very aware that we can't please everybody.

Kind Regards
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We have stayed in Bridgnorth many times and our stay with Tracey & Steve was the best by far. Friendly welcome and very relaxed. Room was great and v clean, room 3 has a good view of the river and large bathroom with great shower. Breakfast was high quality and great idea for self service. Great location for all areas of Bridgnorth we will definitely visit again - thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Our stay at Stoneway was everything and more that has already been written.Tracy and her partner Steve made us so welcome that we felt at home at once.The meals were amazing- exellent and beautifully presented -breakfast cooked to order one day as only one of our party of 4 wanted cooked--we loved all the breakfast goodies-nothing to much trouble and the best coffee!Bedrooms well presented and fabulous showers! Great location -all in all the very best B and B in Bridgnorth!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Tracy invites you into her home, not a guest house. Treated like one of the family with the bonus of genuine home cooking, and what cooking! Very, very clean and everything you need for a very enjoyable stay. Practically the centre of Bridgnorth with the cliff railway literally on the doorstep, well under it actually. Up the on the train for the shopping centre, down the steps for the river, pubs etc.
Tracy you are warned, WE WILL RETURN.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RumahSaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#15 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneway Guest House

Property: Stoneway Guest House
Address: Stoneway Steps, Bridgnorth WV16 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneway Guest House is situated above the lower entrance to the Bridgnorth Cliff Railway. We are up approximately 25 steps in between High Town and Low Town with great views of the cliffs and the railway. This prime location is within a short distance of the river and popular pubs and restaurants in Low Town. A ride on the funicular railway, or for the energetic, a climb up the steps, will get you to High Town with its busy markets, shops and lively restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoneway Guest House Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing