We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”
Review of The Down Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Down Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited 27/12/12 for a party of 13. We didn't book in advance but they were extremely accommodating, nothing was too much trouble and the carvery was exceptional, as was food ordered from the menu with good portions.
Extremely attentive service despite the busy time. We cannot recommend The Down highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    65
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
105
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have lost count of the amount of times we have visited The Down Inn. The food is exceptional, hospitality good, we have had many family occassions and the staff have always been excellent. The food is great, a variety on the menu but they have the best carvery you can wish for. Great for family occassions, parties and a cosy meal by the open fire. FAB. We spent Boxing Day 2012 at the Down Inn and we again was not disappointed. Well done and much appreciated

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

After visiting the inn a few times for their delicious cavery we thought we,d give it a try for our xmas party on the 15th Dec. We were not disappointed.
The service was very good. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Food was delicious, Disco was varied with a great party atmosphere. No complaints. A good time was had by all.
We will deffinately be going back again.
No one stayed over but maybe next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived in the dark and left after breakfast so didnt get a really good look at The Down Inn, but when we arrived it was friendly and welcoming. Check in was very straight forward and we were shown up to a very spacious and spotlessly clean room. We then went down to the bar for a meal, it was busy and full of chatter. The staff were very helpful. My husband had the carvery which he said was very good, I had a curry which I have to say wasnt the best (wish I had had the carvery too). Breakfast the next morning was spot on, plenty of coffee, fresh fruit, cereals and full english, very nicely cooked. The view from our bedroom at sunrise was beautiful, a clear crisp and icy morning, shame I didnt take the camera.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from spending 3 lovely days at the Down Inn, what can i say but FABULOUS, everything was superb could not fault anything, the carvery is lush everthing is so fresh and the meat very tender,we will most certainly stay there again hopefully in 2013, I booked direct with the Down Inn which worked out very well, the girls Nicki and Sandra are hilarious really made are stay complete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MkLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We decided to try The Down Inn as I had a couple of people to visit in the area.

It was a last minute decision to stay and as soon as I called up to see if they had any rooms I knew that this place would be good. The lady was so friendly and helpful and we got a great deal by booking direct with the hotel.

Our check in was seemless and the lady who checked us in seemed genuinely happy to see us. She was a breath of fresh air after a long journey in the cold and dark. The roaring log fire was a lovely welcoming touch also.

Our room ( Room 2 ) was perfect. Spotlessly clean, warm, spacious and very well equipped. The bed was so comfortable.

We decided to have a carvery in the evening ( having read the reviews on TA ) and we were so impressed. I always remember being taken to a carvery in the 1970's as a child by my parents and remember how much of a treat that seemed. ( Thick slices af meat, crispy roast potatoes and perfect vegetables ! ) My opinion of carveries has been somewhat tainted during adulthood due to the "cheap and nasty" chains that have appeared everywhere. That was until I had The Downs Inn carvery...it brought back all those happy childhood memories of what a "real" carvery should be.

It was perfect and so filling...not to mention great value at £8.50!

Due to the really comfortable bed we actually overslept and missed breakfast! I was so impressed that the lady who checked us in offered to make us one despite our late showing! We declined but what about that for quality of service and kindness.

With so many inns closing and struggling I always ask myself what is the formula for success. I honestly do not know what the answer is but one thing is for sure....The Downs Inn knows the answer! It is a blue print for everything that is good about the traditional British Inn.

We loved every minute of our stay.

Thank you all for making our stay so pleasant. We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently visited The Downs for Sunday Lunch, and found the place to be great value for money.
Having had a bad experience at The Punchbowl, we decided to give The Downs a try, and so glad we did, nice people, very welcoming, great food, highly recommended.

Do yourself a favour, give the Punchbowl a miss, not worth it, and pay a visit to this establishment, you will not be disappointed, a lovely welcoming business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
5.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
204 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#2 of 29 in Bridgnorth
235 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
125 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 29 in Bridgnorth
96 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Down Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Down Inn

Property: The Down Inn
Address: The Down | Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 6UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Down Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Down Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Down Hotel Bridgnorth
The Down Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing