We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We lived here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Severn Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friend and I were sent to Bridgnorth to teach for a month, the University put us in this hotel.
It was an incredible experience, Rob and Cal bent over backwards to help us. They made it into a home for us. Nothing was ever to big, they poured us a drink after a tough day, and cooked us meals.
It is in the most beautiful location, right on the River Severn, right by amazing pubs and lovely shops.
The hotel is beautiful and we both will be coming back soon. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, its lovely.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Upon arrival at our destination, our first problem was parking, which by and large has been discussed otherwise as problematic in the area. We secured our transportation assets in a not too distant area under the watchful omnipotence of closed circuit television.
Upon slipping into the establishment we were met by the manager, who showed us our cards and led us up the slipping carpet staircases to our landing. Entering the room we were met with an ornate collection of furnishings which were practical, however the sheer height up the wall and small screen size of the television was indeed a bitter pill to swallow. We laid our heavy bags down and examined the bathroom, which was miniature, with the bath in the middle of the room. The shower curtain appeared worn and weary, and later failed its attempts to show its mettle and withstand the water from filling the room. Further to the bathroom situation however there was a spare bathroom on the landing which may be a nice touch for those cut short fumbling at their doors in a hurry.
Sadly we rose too late on both mornings to be able to consume the breakfast, and the manager was evidently not pleased upon our check out as there was an awkward silence for several minutes as the card machine struggled to put out the receipt.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nicely located small hotel with welcoming hosts in the historic town of Bridgnorth. The building is very old with lots of character - very good breakfast.
Situated in low town near the river - about ten minutes walk to the Severn Valley Railway - the entrance to the cliff railway is next door so there is easy access to high town. Bus stops very close.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitstableMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night only as I was attending a family wedding nearby. The location was good, right near to the river and the hotel looked quaint with loads of character. Although you have to negotiate a couple of steep roads in order to get up to the main town but you can take the Cliff Lift which takes you up to the town for £1.10. On entering my appointed bedroom I was very disappointed with the size as it was so small. It felt cramped and claustrophobic with too much furniture crammed inside. The wardrobe didnt have enough depth for hanging space for my wedding clothes and they had to be hung on the bathroom door! The bathroom too was tiny and was in desperate need of a refurb. The toilet was so tightly squueezed in near to the wall that if I sat down properly I would have burnt my knees on the towel rail! On a more positive note
breakfast was very tasty and the service was good. Overall an 'ok' stay but if you like space perhaps this is not the place for you but you will love the period charm of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Lots of character in the hotel. Owners friendly. Storage for bicycles. The shower cubicle was a bit small and the plumbing probably needed updating but you can forgive all this really. The owner told us about the caves around Bridgnorth and showed us how his garage was part of the cave system!!! Cool!
Breakfast was amazing. Best porridge of our whole trip. Soft and creamy and I ate the lot not leaving room for beans on toast.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is my second year down bridgnorth on a fishing trip with the lads and have stopped here on both occassions. Firstly parking is 2 minutes away on the car parks, think theres a few close by certainly withing walking distance and doesnt cost a fortune. I found the hosts very good and welcoming, the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the bar/lounge area is a little naff but the bar is all one needs and with very cheap on tap beers available cant fault it, robert will even keep ya company till your ready to retire brilliant. Breakfast, superb, the dining room very well set out with plenty of room, robert makes you feel very comfortable and the missus (sorry didnt get her name) drums up a super breakfast with lots of tea and toast to wash it down. Overall this couple are smashing and id recommend them to anyone, see ya nexy year guys.

Room Tip: if your a light sleeper like me, ask for a back room or take some ear plugs for the traffic early on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Fantastic hotel, friendly hosts, as nothing is too much trouble, beautiful rooms and a cracking full english fry up in the morning. A must for everyone. Superb A+

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Superspurs22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
3.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 28 in Bridgnorth
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 28 in Bridgnorth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 28 in Bridgnorth
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George
The George
#11 of 28 in Bridgnorth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Severn Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Severn Arms Hotel

Address: 3 Underhill Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: $77 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Severn Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Severn Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Severn Arms Hotel Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing