We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
117
51
19
10
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
117
51
19
10
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas bar brief encounter heritage centre sausage rolls junction bar tartare visited today quick pint former glory roast beef pies cooked to perfection generous portions sunday lunch fish and chips be visiting again afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2019

though we live fairly locally we have never thought of visiting this hotel . The hotel has undergone quite a lot of refurbishment so we thought we would give it a go. we went on a saturday night without booking but luckily there was a table free in the main restaurant. There is a tapas bar but that was fully booked,
The menu is extensive with cheap and mid range meals and you can also order from the tapas menu
My wife had black pudding for starter and she said it was delicious. I had the chicken wings which were good
My wife had chicken breast for mains and i had the home made steak pie. The crust was thick and the filling was delicious.
The manager and chef came round to talk to each table and the chef confirmed he had personally made the pies himself that morning.
The service was excellent and staff seemed genuinely pleased with our good feedback.
fresh flowers on each table amongst many other little touches.
we will return but next time we will try the tapas bar and menu.
work is still in progress to complete rooms and a function room upstairs.
we were pleasantly surprised by this visit and can recommend

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnfuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Stati... T, Reception at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Thanks for your positive feedback, you must try the tapas bar soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

We booked by walking into reception and asking for a room that same day - Valentines Day. Maggie at reception offered us a choice of 3 rooms and showed them to us. She then made a space for us to dine in the hotel's fabulous dining room with a cosy fire burning in the restored fireplace. The food was excellent; the hotel seems to concentrate on a limited menu of high quality dishes that can be freshly cooked to order. Their apple frangipani is an outstanding example of how this can be achieved. All the staff were friendly, chatty and helpful; nothing seemed to be too difficult. The room price was very competitive; if you take two excellent breakfasts into account, this was cheaper an the Premier Inn's quoted room price for that night, and much, much better value.

Room tip: The staff The hotel is willing to let visitors view available rooms. Worth doing.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Arrived here just as they were stopping serving. Staff were great and accommodated us. Had gorgeous tapas and quality wine. Food was tasty and staff very friendly. Carnforth closes early but this place stayed open. Highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank 34alisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Recent bar renovations have made a big improvement, but the management and friendly staff are what makes The Royal Station Hotel a great place to visit. The attractive restaurant has a varied menu (with afternoon teas also) and excellent bar snacks including tapas are always available. There's usually a selection of real ales in the bars too!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Bonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Went for late Sunday lunch, it was brilliant. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Our friend said it was the best Sunday roast dinner she had had in a long time lots of roast beef, lovely veg and amazing Yorkshire pudding all piping hot. Will be back and would like to try Tapas.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews