We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky or not on room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnforth
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 double rooms room 1 was newly done and clean although bathroom was dated. Room 2 was the opposite grotty dirty and toilet was not flushed from previous guest bed was clean i think very dusty dont think we will stay again. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent and not too expensive.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Got a good deal on laterooms.com and will definately stay next time we visit carnforth. Comfy bed, nice breakfast and pleasent service thanks. Didnt spend much time in the hotel but everything that we experianced was lovely thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely friendly staff but, possibly due to low season, only 1 member on serving at the bar leading to long waits, even with only a handful of people in. We opted for the 4 poster bed as a bit of a treat for ourselves but that was pretty much the only highlights of the hotel.
The carpets were stained, the curtains did not fit the window and were badly hung thereby letting in the morning light in all its glory. it was only when the sunshine was lighting the curtains did we notice the huge red stain taking up almost 1/4 of one of the curtains (see photo below).
The wardrobe is missing a handle, the carpet in the bathroom didn't fit around the toilet, the skirting board on the bath was falling off and the fan in the bathroom was very noisy.
To cap it all off, the cups both had brown lines at the bottom as though they hadn't been properly washed after having coffee left in the bottom of them. There is a clock on the wall but the battery was flat and only when I put one of my own in did I realise that it had a very loud tick/tock and so I removed the battery again.
Given the reports on Trip advisor about the food we opted not to pay extra for a breakfast. This room is worth about £25 not the almost £60 being charged.

Room Tip: Choose a different room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Two night stay for my Mum. £50 for the stay room only. What we didn't expect was to find the previous guest things still in the wardrobe. no glass to drink from, a sanilflo system in the shower room that stank, but what really was unacceptable was that the room was not made up. No excuse there only 3 other people staying. There were fire doors propped open. Manager very casually dressed in jeans! Unprofessional. Back to travelodge then...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyerUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My partner and I were staying in the area and popped in here for breakfast.
The full English was delicious and the owner was very friendly offering us leaflets and information on what's on in the area and what not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLove2Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We (me, husband and 18 month old) stayed here for one night in September and it was great. We had loads of space in the room. The bathroom although a bit dated was very clean. We had a great nights sleep and had breakfast in the pub the next morning. This was great value and the baby was well looked after. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a pleasant stay at this hotel. Reading comments on trip-advisor was a bit apprehensive. We were pleasantly surprised with our room number 21. It was spacious and airy with soft clean bedding and towels, we had a nice view overlooking the Carnforth train station.

The breakfast was excellent. We had the Mega Breakfast which was enough to fill the biggest of appetites, served by a friendly host. So if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel look no further.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a spacious family room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDobsons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
3.2 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
122 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,564 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,129 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Market Street, Carnforth LA5 9BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnforth
Price Range: $82 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1800’s, the Royal Station Hotel has been a landmark building in the small market town of Carnforth for almost one hundred and fifty years. The hotel has a prominent position on Market Street, directly opposite the historic station, made famous by Oscar-winning director, Sir David Lean’s 1945 film, ‘A Brief Encounter’, considered by many to be one of the most romantic films of all time. Overlooking Warton Crag, the hotel boasts thirteen en-suite bedrooms, ranging from cosy doubles to executive four-posters. The cosy restaurant and quiet bar area offer a selection of traditional, home-cooked dishes, made using local ingredients wherever possible, as well as a wide range of beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. The large bar to the rear of the Royal Station Hotel, ‘The Junction’, is Carnforth’s premier live music venue, with some of the North-West’s leading bands already lined up to play. The ‘Events’ area of the website will be regularly updated with our line-ups, a ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Station Hotel Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing