We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute take-away - surprisingly good!”
Review of Far Pavillion

Far Pavillion
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Carnforth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Lancaster, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last minute take-away - surprisingly good!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We needed something to eat for unexpected guests who fancied Indian. We live in the area so looked up the phone no. on the internet and was hit by the last review, which almost put us off. However, as we had eaten there before, we thought we'd risk it. Anyway, we had Prawn Bhuna, Lamb Rogan Josh, Mushroom Pilau and garlic naan. Everything was lovely and freshly prepared. My daughter who picked the take-away up on Sunday night (11.08.13) said the restaurant was packed. I could be picky and say that there wasn't an awful lot of lamb in the Rogan Josh, but loads of prawns in the Bhuna. I am not an Indian food fan, but this has made me think again and we will definately return. I just wanted to put a balance to the last review, as the family who own it work extremely hard and they don't deserve to lose business.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phoebe170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    57
    35
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“top Indian food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The menu is different to many as they also include family dishes from Bangladesh and the food and serviice is excellent

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike123456444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fast Service and Good Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

One of the best Indian restaurants in the area. Excellent food and fast service, even though the restaurant was busy with both sit down diners and take away orders. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Appalling takeaway at restaurant price”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We selected this restaurant on the basis of reviews and were horrified by the generally poor standard of the food. Lamb Passanda amounted to approximately 7 strips of chewy meat in a tasteless smooth red sauce - clearly formulaic and by no means even close to the standard one would expect of restaurant. It's several years since we ate at this restaurant - we won't be bothering again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venicemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy but wonderful”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Called in, and served with usual high standards on a busy night. Food great, service friendly and efficient. As usual welcoming and enjoyed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank morecambewilkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Pavillion also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Bolton le Sands, Lancashire
 

Been to Far Pavillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing