We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little English tearoom”

Cowan Bridge Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Carnforth
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tea Room
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little English tearoom”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stopped off here on our way back from Windermere for four full English breakfasts. This place is lovely and charming, it was like being in a proper English cottage surrounded by teapots and tea cosies. The breakfast was amazing, the quality of the produce really showed and the service was really friendly. I'm definitely going to make this place a regular stop off whenever we visit the lakes!
Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint tea room”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Have been meaning to call in here for ages and finally did so and I am so glad we did. You enter through the local shop having parked in what appears to be an institute car park behind. Whilst they do meals we just wanted coffee - and we were persuaded to have cake by the display - carrot cake for hubby Coffee and Walnut for me both home made and both gorgeous. It's such a quaint place, cross stitch and knitted items done by the owners sister adorn the walls and roof, old fashioned local photo's available to buy along with books that are not run of the mill. The window sills are full of jams, chutneys and sweets to buy and the shop sells everything anyone would want from a local store. Well worth stopping if just for the cake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuzyJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riddlesden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped of at this lovely little cafe the atmosphere was really nice be had breakfast which was so so nice the service was very good we will defiantly be calling in again, and to top it all breakfast for two tea and toast excellent value at just under 15.00

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillnewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“carrot cake”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Quaint tea room which could easily be missed. I was taken there by a friend. Service was friendly and the choice of cakes were too many to choose from. The carrot cake was recommended and this was possibly one of ths best carrot cakes I have ever had (and there have been a few!). Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on the way up to the Lakes. Great salads,local pies, gravy in a jug for your hand cut chips! lovely specials as well ,all for a very reasonable price. had to try the cakes which were fabulous. Tea was served in a big teapot and china cups and saucers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoughboroughPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowan Bridge Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Cowan Bridge Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing