We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern cottage”
Review of Tewitfield Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tewitfield Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Southern England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely modern cottage”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting family in the lakes and what a find, the cottages were spacious, well equipped with lots of attention to detail and very clean. The views are lovely, but the noise from the motorway might be annoying if the doors were open, but as it was cold we couldn't here it. We will defiantly stay here again. I would rec. low nos in swan house as furthest away from mway

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    49
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
62
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on the way to take granddaughter to Lancaster uni. Lovely place and such an unusual setting so glad now all the local B &B's were full. Would love to have stopped for longer. We were in Swan 16 which was lovely but as there were 5 of us and the apt slept 6 it really needed another chair, we had to bring in a patio chair so we could all sit down.
The bin under sink had not been emptied and the pans were still dirty but that was down to housekeeping really. Definatlely recommend this place even though the beds were uncomfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christineneuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well designed and well fitted appartments, faultless.The noise from the M6 is a bit annoying when sat outside. Good location for North Yotks and the Lakes, decent pub/hotel a minutes walk away and food there is decent, as can be the entertainment

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gashead83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodation, well equipped, clean and modern. A real home from home with everything you could need.
Even has a dishwasher! Can't recommend highly enough and would return without a second thought.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oscnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very spacious, excellent comfortable beds and clean bedding and towels, bit to near the M6 no curtains so you will be a wake quite early in the summer months, Good value for money if you book on site rather than book with late booking sites.If there are any issues they will deal with these right away.
Domestic staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you me than we can say for the manageress as she was never in.
Would recommend the Mallard section as south facing, we had a four bed as we wanted space even though there was only the two of us and a dog. If you check out other places in the local area of Kirby Lonsdale like the Kings arms they charge £70.00 for a small one bed cottage and the copper kettle charge £50.00 which was old and outdated. You will see there is no comparison.

Room Tip: Four bedroom rooms where all spacious down stairs in car park area was a large on suite bedroom good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind the fact that you can see and hear the M6 from the cottages this is a lovely complex well placed for the South Lakes. There was actually something quite alluring about the peace of the barges, ducks and marina, with lorries and manic traffic running behind it. It is also handy and quick travelling with not many miles off the motorway. We had two cottages and found the equipment inconsistent between the two plus one had wi-fi and one didn't which was irritating. Good friendly pub on doorstep. We would go again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazza5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried to book a last minute break here, after seeing availability on line through agents and their own site saying enquire we rang. The girl did not know if their were any vacancies as they were busy?? She would ring back, when she did her prices were very different to those online and she could give no explanations the whole conversation was very difficult and in the end we gave up. Shame it looked very nice and we were quite keen to go but if its hard to book who can guess what would greet you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
0.1 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewitfield Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewitfield Marina

Property: Tewitfield Marina
Address: Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tewitfield Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tewitfield Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tewitfield Marina Hotel Carnforth
Tewitfield Marina Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing