We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Tewitfield Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tewitfield Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great accommodation, well equipped, clean and modern. A real home from home with everything you could need.
Even has a dishwasher! Can't recommend highly enough and would return without a second thought.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oscnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very spacious, excellent comfortable beds and clean bedding and towels, bit to near the M6 no curtains so you will be a wake quite early in the summer months, Good value for money if you book on site rather than book with late booking sites.If there are any issues they will deal with these right away.
Domestic staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you me than we can say for the manageress as she was never in.
Would recommend the Mallard section as south facing, we had a four bed as we wanted space even though there was only the two of us and a dog. If you check out other places in the local area of Kirby Lonsdale like the Kings arms they charge £70.00 for a small one bed cottage and the copper kettle charge £50.00 which was old and outdated. You will see there is no comparison.

Room Tip: Four bedroom rooms where all spacious down stairs in car park area was a large on suite bedroom good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind the fact that you can see and hear the M6 from the cottages this is a lovely complex well placed for the South Lakes. There was actually something quite alluring about the peace of the barges, ducks and marina, with lorries and manic traffic running behind it. It is also handy and quick travelling with not many miles off the motorway. We had two cottages and found the equipment inconsistent between the two plus one had wi-fi and one didn't which was irritating. Good friendly pub on doorstep. We would go again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazza5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried to book a last minute break here, after seeing availability on line through agents and their own site saying enquire we rang. The girl did not know if their were any vacancies as they were busy?? She would ring back, when she did her prices were very different to those online and she could give no explanations the whole conversation was very difficult and in the end we gave up. Shame it looked very nice and we were quite keen to go but if its hard to book who can guess what would greet you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank FuzzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages on the water as requested for 4 nights and it was amazing! The cottages themselves are beautiful, modern and spacious and come with everything you could possibly need! Everything about the cottage was excellent. Personal favourite was the stunning patio with furniture that overlooks the water and is about a foot away from it, With the sun beating down it was honestly like being abroad! Absolutely spotless on arrival not a spec of dust could be found.

The marina itself is beautiful with plenty of ducks for feeding and also pet friendly, we didn't take our four legged friend but was nice to see others around. The marina is perfectly placed for travelling all around the lakes, we managed to visit loads of places right out to the south of the lakes and even into Lancaster city centre for some excellent fine dining!

Pub and restaurant on site that does really good food and great for having a drink at the end off the night.

Could not have asked for more, really wish we could have stayed longer and we REALLY want to live there!

Will be definitely be going back again and again!

Room Tip: Apartments with balconies overlooking the marina are also available but if you book the cottage they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent stay with family where is strategically located for the tourist places and different entertainment to enjoy with the kids.The place was quiet and luxurious residence, where available, and various amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHMAD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Booked as a last minute break and stumbled on the best accommodation I have ever found. Ideal place to stay for a visit to the south lakes. Well worth a visit, I will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmans_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
0.1 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
666 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,070 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
1.1 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewitfield Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewitfield Marina

Address: Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range: $67 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tewitfield Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tewitfield Marina is a purpose built hamlet with its own luxury holiday accommodation complex. Situated in Carnforth on the Lancashire and Cumbria border alongside Tewitfield Locks on the Lancaster Canal we provide our guests with the perfect place to stay with easy access to some of Britain’s best loved countryside, with both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales being less than half an hours drive away. There are four different types of holiday apartment available, all 1 and 3 bedroom apartments have balconies or terraces with views overlooking the Marina. Most of the 2 bedroom apartments have Marina views unless stated. Some of the apartments are dog friendly too so please enquire on booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tewitfield Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tewitfield Marina Hotel Carnforth
Tewitfield Marina Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing