We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly local”
Review of New Inn, Yealand

New Inn, Yealand
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 5/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Carnforth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for drinks yesterday and as usual the place had a great atmosphere with everyone enjoying the lovely beer garden in the sunshine.
A great team, highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank sandydavepotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to try this place for a while, and it didn’t disappoint for a family meal. Food was tasty, and served with just the right amount of time in between courses. Service was excellent, and the friendly antipodean proprietor made us feel very welcome.

Only slight downside was that my starter was not hot throughout, and the meat on our mains was slightly over cooked, but that is being picky.

Seriously good value, with a 3 course meal for 2 adults and 2 kids with drinks coming to £80.

Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Catwease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A fine example of an a Great British overpriced inn with mediocre food, poor service and overpriced drinks. Just over £71 bought our party of four 1 drink each consisting of two pints of lager shandy, a pint of lager and a £9.10 double Bombay Sapphire gin and tonic.
Two fish and chips, one small fish and chips and a dry chicken dish.
The fish and chips were freshly cooked and acceptable but with a portion of mushy peas sized as if it were caviar.
Two requested slices of what turned out to be stale bread and butter and the salt and vinegar for the table took five minutes to arrive.
We even had to go and find our own menus and order our drinks at the bar after waiting, subsequently going to the bar again to give our food order.

Sorry, but it was not very busy at the time of our visit and we feel it was not value for the money, with young waiting staff who appeared to be out of their depth.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Boney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Had a lovely experience - staff very very friendly. Food was excellent. Well worth the visit and will be back

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Marian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

I have visited the New Inn twice within 6 weeks and each visit was hugely successful. The look they have created is a subtle blend of the old features with modern décor. The staff are very friendly efficient and accommodating. The food is the star of the show! The menu is imaginative and beautifully presented. It all tastes delicious and all for a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn, Yealand also viewed

Carnforth, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to New Inn, Yealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing