We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Dropped Lucky”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Carnforth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2012

High winds caused us to pack up at the camping site and head for calmer settings.
We had driven away from gale force winds and were looking for somewhere to eat.Having found new sleeping quarters,we were hungry and tired.We parked up ,went to the County restaurent and ordered a steak meal.
We waited only twenty minutes for the mael and when it came ,not only was it delicious but very moderately priced.Only two minutes away from the sea ,this hotel seems an idealspot for globe trotters.If you are out and about Carnforth,its worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 186377Adequate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel123, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everything about the County Hotel can be described as average. The staff were efficient but not very welcoming. The rooms were tucked way in an annex next to the carpark with the room windows bordering a main road. The only thing that was not average was the price of £70 not including breakfast which we found out when it was to late that for over seven pounds we got what was laughingly described as continental breakfast, which consisted of cereals, toast and croissant with tea / coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel123, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments, We're sorry you found the County "average", we always try to ensure a positive and friendly welcome perhaps on this occasion we failed to do this, for that I apologise. The annex is situated at the back of our car park with one side of the building facing a side road. With regards to the price of the room - just because you booked via laterooms does not necessarily mean you will recieve a cheaper priced room. I have found with personal experience to book directly through the hotel it has worked out cheaper for me. Our continental breakfast includes:- fruit juice, assorted cereals. choice of fruit yoghurt, fresh fruit, toast & croissant with preserves and tea and coffee. We will take on board any positive/negative comments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the County for a night with friends. We were a party of people who went to bowl for the weekend with the Carnforth Bowling Club. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 12 and as informed they were ready exactly at 2pm (been ready for a long time we think - but rules could not be broken). The rooms are quite spacious and had all you could wish for although probably ready for a little decorating and new mattresses!! The food in the hotel in the evening was a carvery and excellent. Breakfasts however you have to pay for on top of your room price which I thought had been misleading. Bar prices are very high for a large wine costing around £6 and lager around £3.30 a pint. We had ordered sandwiches for the following day to take to our bowling green (an absolute disgrace at £4.50 per head for just sliced bread sandwiches (one or two beef, ham and turkey) but the majority some kind of cheap sandwich filling. We did get a cup cake each in with the price but everyone commented on the disgraceful high price. We had spent a lot of money here over a period of 3 days and as a gesture of good will the hotel should have come to an agreement with price!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel123, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Checking out times at our hotel is 10.30am bearing in mind not everybody leaves on time. The house keeping have a full lodge to clean at this time, that is why we state checking in is from 2pm. If a room is required any earlier then we would priortise it but on this occasion none were. Breakfast was NOT charged on top of the room rate so there has been a misunderstanding with the person who paid the bill and we did not charge for the extra people who did not accommodate with us for breakfast too. It was included because of the amount of rooms that were used by your party. Our large glass of wine is £4.80 obviously had been somewhere else locally and paid that but certainly not here. Sandwiches and cakes had been pre-ordered and price agreed. Unfortunetly for you a member of your party decreased the number required from 50 to 30 bearing in mind there wouldn't have been enough sandwiches/cakes for the original 50. All the fillings are made here and the meats from the carvery. We are sorry you feel this way, but everything was discussed and agreed with the party organiser who booked the rooms. Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just stayed overnight at The County Hotel, the food was excellent both evening meal & breakfast. We chose from the main menu for last night's dinner everything was piping hot and very tasty. The breakfast was ample my husband had the full breakfast which was a very satisfying portion I had scrambled egg on toast which was fine we were served with extra toast cereal, fruit juice & yogurt were also provided. The dining room was pleasant, the hotel itself could do with a little TLC but was clean and for the price was adequate. I would suggest you book through the hotel direct to save a few pounds. Overall an enjoyable stay at the hotel after a lovely afternoon at the Hawk Garden in Leighton Hall. Carnforth village I must say does need a little more spark!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel123, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for you kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at The County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying in the area with group of friends and decided to give the sunday carvery a try. DONT BOTHER overpriced. Dried up meat, tasteless mush in the geise of vegetables and mash potato that I haven't tasted since 1970's packet smash! YUK. Travel another 15 mins into Morecombe and you will find a fabulous Toby Carvery.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargetobny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

the staff and food at dinner and breakfast was excellent - however the outside door that lets you into the annex/lodge banged and shook our room door every time someone came through it which was quite often!! - owner please fix the self closer so it slows down thats all it needed.
room was ok ( we always struggle with hotel pillows)

Room Tip: Dont have a room close to the outside door numbers 10, 11, 12,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were on a cycle holiday. Staff excellent- took the bikes into secure area for us. Rooms comfortable and clean. We were in the annex at the back of the hotel. Very quiet.

Breakfast was the "normal fare" and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelharriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
124 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
3.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Lancaster Road, Carnforth LA5 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carnforth
Price Range: $53 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is located in the picturesque region of North Lancashire and provides a range of attractive facilities that appeal to tourists and holidaymakers, function organisers, those enjoying a meal out and of course ... social drinkers seeking a relaxing 'pub' type environment. The Carnforth based County Hotel briefly comprises: - Lovely, recently updated, en-suite rooms - - Restaurant and Carvery - - Licensed bar - - Function Rooms - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing