We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for the lake district”
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a pleasant week in July in one of their studio apartments. The accommodation was spotless and the environment very relaxing.
There was a nice seating area overlooking the lake where you could enjoy an early evening drink.
This resort is just on the border of the lake district, so be prepared to drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is one of a number of Diamond Resorts with Wooden Cabins dotted around a huge lake on which water sports are the order of the day. As members of Diamond Resorts we spent some of our points for a weeks stay (we wanted two weeks but the resort was fully booked). The cabins are spotless and the grounds kept in pristine condition. The staff are all extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to do in order to make your stay that much better from the groundsmen and domestic staff to the ever manned Consierge. We found the beer prices in the bar a little heavy but the menu in the restaurant was reasonably priced. Our only gripe was that adult only time in the pool was restricted to early morning, or late evening which clashed with dinner time. All in all a thoroughly nice weeks stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside chalet allocation when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithril013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in late September as part of our Diamond membership. We love it here, as there are so many places locally to visit - the obvious choice of the South Lakes, but also walking in Silverdale, Arnside, train trip across to Grange over Sands (fantastic estuary views), Kirkby Lonsdale, Lancaster, and Yorkshire Dales.

Staff were incredibly helpful, we had to ask for a move because of an injury my husband had sustained so an en-suite bathroom was needed. We'd been spoiled on our numerous previous visits and had always had a modernised 2 bed 2 bath lodge, so hadn't appreciated we'd need to request this in advance - but no problem as the staff were so helpful.

The accommodation is spotless and ground beautifully maintained. Good varied menu and great service in the restaurant, although I do agree with a previous reviewer that it could be livened up a little in the bar / restaurant with music.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We are really pleased that you’ve chosen to use your membership to stay at Pine Lake Resort, and that you had a great time here! We do always encourage our members and guests to let us know in advance if they have any specific accommodation requests, so that we can do make every effort to fulfil them. We welcome all feedback, and we’d like to thank you for your suggestions regarding the bar and restaurant.

We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Angela Gallagher
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

stayed here a few weeks back with my hubby in a studio really lovely place rooms were spotless and a good size ..........the pizza and pasta night in the resturant was good value for money £6.99 p/h all u can eat ........It rained all week so never really got out and about ....Would I go back yes but to a lodge and with a croud of folk as the bar was like gods waiting room and the music was so depressing so come on guys get a wee bit more up beat the music was so bad a asked my hubby to pass me a gun to put myself out my misery (sorry but really its not all old folk that go there ) as i say i would go back but not as just a couple

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie196241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. we are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience. we are sorry however that you were disappointed with atmosphere in our bar and we assure you that your comments have been noted. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and hopefully in more favourable weather conditions.
With best wishes

Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pine lake resort is the most beautiful and budget resort in our opinion!
We stayed in a lakeside house at this resort for a night of Sep 13, 2013. The house had 2 comfortable, clean and well-furnished bedrooms, and 2 comfortable sofas in a living room. The 2 toilets with toiletterie were in good condition and very clean. The kitchen where we cooked our meals was full-equipped with lovely design. The beautiful lake is just a few step from the house. The staffs were very kind and warmed-welcome with smiling faces.
The resort is near The Lake District. We can drive to Windermere Lake in 1/2 hr.
We spent only 115 Pounds for the night in this lovely lakeside house.
We love everything here!!! Nothing to be complained.
We enjoyed to stay here so much that we'd like to recommend this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: The house we stayed in was at the nearly end of the resort. So it wa calm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umawadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

It is really great to read your positive review and we are very happy to have been able to host you. Thank you for your nice comments, especially about the team. We hope to see you coming back soon!

Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a week at Pine Lake Resort in September (booked via the RCI Points system). We hadn't holidayed on Lancashire before, but this proved to be an enjoyable stay, with plenty of nearby places worth seeing - eg, Lancaster, Carnforth (especially the railway station for those who recall 'Brief Encounter' which was filmed there), and many country walks, river views, pub lunches and teas.
Pine Lake resort is attractively laid out completely round the lake, with pleasant looking lodges - we were in one of the studios, which are modernly fitted out, with enough space, furniture and kitchen items to add to the comforts of your stay. It is pleasant walking around the lake shore and taking in the fresh air and looking at the wildlife. The resort has a restaurant, swimming pool, tennis court, crazy golf, and many water sports (though we did not use these).
If you want a base in Lancashire then Pine Lake does fit the bill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased that you chose to stay at the Pine Lake Resort, and that you had a great time here. We hope you’ll consider us if you choose to come back to Lancashire in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Started with a toddler. It was absolutely perfect.

Swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna, steam, crazy golf, playground, tennis court, all included.

Wildlife really good, swans, ducks, herons, cormorants, fish etc.

Pub food excellent.

Games zone perfect for our family...soft play, 2p machines, lots of space, kids tv, air hockey, pool, table tennis.

Just perfect.

Also on site a little shop for self catering, but Booths only 5 mins drive in Carnforth

Also on a short drive up to the Lakes

Also on site a watersports centre with waterskiing, banana boat, tyres, canoes etc. really great fun.

Room Tip: Google 72 Pine Lake and rent it privately from the owners. Good rates, spotless, and amazing views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We’re really pleased to read that you had a great time at Pine Lake Resort – thank you for this lovely review. We hope we’ll see you again!

Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
6.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
282 reviews
11.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
693 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range: $40 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the sweeping coastline, hilly countryside and village pubs of rural Lancashire, Pine Lake Resort provides a four star retreat, as rated by Visit England. It features a heated indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness centre and spa with steam room and sauna. Watersports and fishing are also available. Additional fees may apply. The Scandinavian-style lodges and cosy studios include a full or partial kitchen with hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Each accommodation has a private bathroom with bath or shower, heated towel rail and hairdryer. Freeview TV, a DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. Some lodges have a private veranda. The Lakes Bistro restaurant and bar provides delicious local and international cuisine in a friendly setting. For groceries, guests will find local supermarkets less than 5 minutes away in the centre of Carnforth. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, at an additional cost. The glorious scenery of the Lake District National Park, the Lune Valley and the Yorkshire Dales are easily reached in 30 minutes' drive. Local buses stop at the property entrance several times a day with access to Lancaster, Bowness, Ambleside and Keswick. Visit the Victorian seaside village of Arnside for a traditional bag of fish and chips, just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing