We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

we have just returned from 3 nights here , 4 adults. The lodge was huge and would have been comfortable for 6 adults. The check in was quick and staff were pleasent,although didnt go out of their way to help when we asked about somewhere to eat as it was 9.15pm and the resturant shuts at 9pm, we googled and ordered from a local a pizza take away in carnforth which was delivered direct to our lodge door that was great.
We ate in the resturant on friday night as we planned to join the quiz in the bar, but our food took close to an hour to arrive so we missed it. The food was nice and reasonably priced the wait time was awful and the resturant wasnt even busy.Real shame as it was the only negative thing we had in the whole time we were here!!!
On Saturday we went to the pool and were pleasently surprised by the sauna and steam room as well as the jacuzzi. The facilites were lovely and clean , they are small so i would imagine in high season it would be cramped, But for us was lovely.
The views from the logde are fabulous, we were literally 2 meters off the lake the swans and geese came up to the patio if you sat outside, obviously expecting food.
we were told we werent in a refirbished lodge but we really couldnt fault it!! It was very very clean, only thing that would have been of benefit would have been the option to have a double in the room that has twin beds, it wasnt a major problem as we pushed the beds together but would have been a bonus.
We really liked this resort and it was very reasonable for 3 nights worked out around 45 each for 4 adults.We would definatly visit again in the summer with family and kids if the cost doesnt increase dramatically.

Room Tip: we were in lodge 47 , the lodges at the end of the lake away from the entrance are closer to the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank na0mi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    284
    78
    23
    21
See reviews for
349
357
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay here with another couple. On arrival we were unaware we were going to be asked for a £50 deposit secured on a card but it wasn't a problem for us but it could be for some people, also we were asked for our printed voucher for our free gift although on our confirmation it said we didn't need to print just show the voucher on our phone at reception on arrival, the staff on reception insisted that it was stated on our info but we still haven't seen this and there were at least three other different groups without a printout that thought you could show the voucher on your phone so obviously is not clearly stated! They did allow us to send a copy of the email to claim our gift. We thought the welcome at reception wasn't very friendly and that the staff were not very welcoming and that really we were putting them out by being there. Our lodge was very nice and was very homely and had everything we needed but we certainly would not return we think the resort facilities are overpriced and can't believe they charge for wifi access, that if you book a lodge you are charged a set price for electricity usage (surely it would be better to include this in the price). Reading the comments book in reception it appears some comments have been tampered with or tip exed out we can only assume these must be bad comments which is why we felt we couldn't leave our thoughts in there. Overall we loved the lodge and the views but once we stepped outside the lodge we couldn't find anything positive so if you are going to use this place as a base to explore the surrounding area it will be fine but if you are looking for a friendly welcome and intend spending time on the resort steer well clear!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank krml1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We do regret to read that you had some difficulties whilst claiming you chocolates and champagne. We have discussed this with our reception team to ensure that a more understanding approach towards these guests who wish to email us the voucher will be taken. You have also mentioned the £50.00 security deposit requirement, the electricity and Wi-Fi charges; we would like to advise that details of those are available to our guest at the point of booking and on our website, however we will work with our reception team on communicating this information more efficiently.
We would like to take this opportunity and advise that on occasion some of our guests, or their children, do leave comments which are inappropriate, these we try to remove so that they do not offend the readers. However, we will rethink our manner of addressing this issue, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry if any of the above has caused you any inconvenience and we thank you for our feedback. We hope that this has not marred your future dealings with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Pine Lake 3rd/4th january with my parents as there xmas treat. We had a lovely refurbished lodge overlooking the lake (44). One night we stayed in and cooked in the lodge then the other night we ate in the restaurant. The food was excellent - much better than i expected, very reasonably priced and the bar area was very welcoming.
The place was very clean, we ued the swimming pool, sauna and steam room.
We booked it through a group on deal and we will certainly be looking at going again.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have points withDR and stayed on 2 occasions in December, the difference in the 2 lodges was massive, however I loved both stays.
We booked in for the Xmas week 19-26th Dec, the house keeping work hard, even got a call Xmas day! Really???
We decided to not cook and ate Xmas dinner at the restaurant, we were so impressed. I have already booked again or next Xmas and I won't be cooking!
It's a quiet location ( apart from M6).
Great location for lakes and motorway access
Only one complaint the beds are way to hard, in all the bedroom, even the kids were aching
Roll on next visit

Room Tip: Ask for modernised defo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Pine Lake! We hope that we were able to provide you with a memorable Christmas break, and we’re pleased to read that you’ll be returning here this December!

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the beds, however. We want all our guests to have a relaxing time during their stay, and we encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns about their accommodation, as we’ll do everything we can to resolve things.

We hope this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Pine Lake, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Angela Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

me and my husband stayed 2 nites 2/3rd jan lovely place and peacefull food nice pasta/pizza all u can eat was lovely 7.95 bar prices were a bit expensive 4.80 for pint and half lager, nice pool with sauna and steam room to use u can take your own towels or 1 pound for hire and 1 pound for locker also wi fi have to pay for i took my kobo tablet it was gunna be 6.50 a nite so didnt bother food expensive in small shop in hotel reception better off taking your own,

Room Tip: studios are near to reception area some road noise but not bothered
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were very fortunate to spend our new year in a warm, cosy log cabin at Pine Lakes! Our lodge (251) was lovely and although not directly on the lake we wer only 20seconds away.
The kids loved the pool and the play area in the complex was great so we could enjoy a relaxing drink!
We ventured outside at midnight and were delighted to see fireworks over the lake, with such a clear, still night we couldn't have asked for more! :o)
We were using this break as a trial run for a weekend i've booked in July with friends and after our experience I cant wait to return and feel very confident in telling everyone what a great time we'll have!
Well done Pine Lakes :o)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratatouille123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you had a great time at Pine Lake over New Year – thank you for your review! We hope that your stay next summer is as memorable and enjoyable as this break was, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Angela Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had a short three day break over Christmas. The point of our stay was to chill and relax. This was achieved. Clean, well presented lodge with all the amenities we needed. We only really digressed with reception and bar staff but both were a pleasent experience. It served our purpose for a quiet short break over the festive period. We shall be back for a more active break

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is important to us to know that our guests find our resort comfortable and relaxing-thank you! We are pleased to read that you may be visiting us again, we are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
11.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Property: Pine Lake Resort
Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the sweeping coastline, hilly countryside and village pubs of rural Lancashire, Pine Lake Resort provides a four star retreat, as rated by Visit England. It features a heated indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness centre and spa with steam room and sauna. Watersports and fishing are also available. Additional fees may apply. The Scandinavian-style lodges and cosy studios include a full or partial kitchen with hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Each accommodation has a private bathroom with bath or shower, heated towel rail and hairdryer. Freeview TV, a DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. Some lodges have a private veranda. The Lakes Bistro restaurant and bar provides delicious local and international cuisine in a friendly setting. For groceries, guests will find local supermarkets less than 5 minutes away in the centre of Carnforth. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, at an additional cost. The glorious scenery of the Lake District National Park, the Lune Valley and the Yorkshire Dales are easily reached in 30 minutes' drive. Local buses stop at the property entrance several times a day with access to Lancaster, Bowness, Ambleside and Keswick. Visit the Victorian seaside village of Arnside for a traditional bag of fish and chips, just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing