We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Lake Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bolton le Sands)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Rocquettes(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveler rating
634
322
96
31
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
322
96
31
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportscrazy golfwashing machineleisure centrelake districtbedroom lodgeswimming pooltable tennisgames areadiamond resortsthrough groupongames roomtennis courtsself cateringfridge freezermini golfwater skiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for a weekend, Friday to Monday. Great place, lovely setting. We had a studio which is basically a hotel room with a well equipped modern kitchen (microwave and hob only) tagged on. We were close to the main reception where there is a great bar and restaurant area and a separate bar/lounge area if you have kids,which is great.
Our room was very clean, leisure centre is lovely and clean but i can imagine it gets busy peak season. Don't know what peoples complaint was about the bed as ours was so comfy!
We travelled with our 22 month old son and its a pleasure to be somewhere that is kid friendly, as well as an indoor play area there is an nice outside one too.
The on site shop is limited but to be fair there are 2 good supermarkets in Carnforth.
Staff have lots of local knowledge about places to visit etc and are all friendly.

Room Tip: If you or any of your party have mobility problems, just be careful where your lodge is as some are a good walk from the main area!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We’re really glad to read that you had a great weekend at Pine Lake– thank you for your review! We hope that you’ll choose to come back here for another stay, and we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one night at Pine Lake Resort traveling from Scotland back to Heathrow, we wished we would have had more time. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful clearing up confusion in our reservation that was my fault. The rooms are a small apartment and were very clean. The grounds looked like they would be a fun place to explore, but we didn't have time for that this trip. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_B52033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First what we expected:

A secluded hide away close to the lake district, peacefull and idylic with accomodation being a fully furnished lodge finished to a high standard with views of the lake (like pictures on the website show it to be)

What we got:

Complete disapointment. (i.e. non of the above, ok except views of the lake)

The first lodge we were offered was damp, smelly and in very poor condition. The carpets were dirty, kitchen / bathroom was grotty and old. The sofas were not something to sit on ( in total agreement with previous post from Mike-Lindsay) . Sit out on the decking and you may as well stay in a travelodge off a busy motorway because all you will hear is the M6.

Second lodge offered was just as grotty and smelt of stale smoke.

Third lodge, kitchen and bathroom nice but living area still felt dirty and same old manky sofas make an appearance, conviently situated next to a railway line to allow for mininamal sleep.

As for pool and spa facilities, good enough to be something funded by your local council (nothing wrong with that we're not snobs!) but not what you expect from a resort which charges around £130 a night.

We stayed one evening and abandoned the holiday.

Only positives are the reception staff and the manager, both of whom were genuinley sorry to hear of our experience and had tried to make ammends but our holiday at this point was beyond saving.

Were totally bewildered by the five star reviews on this site. Having stayed in many diamond resort accomodations this one is the worst by a mile.

Do yourself a favour if your thinking of booking. Stay in the Black Swan on Lake Windemere which is cheaper and in a totaly different class.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge that has been totally renovated. We were told these existed but some say so do UFO's and I've yet to see one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich-KerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with your stay at Pine Lake Resort. As you have mentioned in your comments our resort receives mostly positive feedback from our guests and therefore, we are sincerely disappointed that it has not been the case on this occasion. We would like to take this opportunity and advise that our lodges are currently being refurbished and the soft furniture has been replaced just over 6 months ago, thus it comes as a surprise to learn that you did not find them in a satisfactory condition.
With regards to our leisure facilities, we need to agree that our pool is much smaller than those found at leisure centres, however we believe it is sufficient considering the size of the resort. It is also newly refurbished and the gym equipment has been replaced fairly recently. Nevertheless, we do apologise for any inconvenience and we regret that prompted by your child being unwell, you have decided to leave the resort before we could try and rectify the issues mentioned. We hope that this has not marred any future dealings you may have with us, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.


Kind regards
Louisa Herrero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The whole family went to pine lakes for a family celebration, two silver weddings and one gold wedding and we were all really impressed with what we found. The log cabins are very well appointed an modern, plenty of room , very warm and cosy . The kitchen has everything you may need , dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave etc and all fairly new. The cabins are in a lovely position around a small lake , the only dissapointment for us was the water sports were closed due to excess water !. We had a meal at the restaraunt , there was a samll complaint with three of the steaks being tough but the manager gave us s free bottle of wine to make up and the prices were very reasonable. One mius point, there was a 50 meter stretch from reception to our cabin , (63) with no street lighting where one of our party fell and sprained her ankle , other than this everything was good and would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertsontw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Pine Lake Resort. We put a lot of care and effort in making our guest feel at home, therefore it is very rewarding to learn that our efforts result in you feeling welcomed and comfortable, and we are happy that you found your apartment appealing and well equipped. However, we are sorry that there seem to have been some issues with your meal at the restaurant, we strive to serve best quality food prepared to the highest standards and it comes as a disappointment to learn that this may not have been the case on this occasion. We have of course addressed this with the restaurant manager. We are glad that you have had an otherwise enjoyable stay and we look forward to your visit in the future!

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived a bit early for check-in but the receptionist managed to find a lodge which was ready, lodge was clean, well equipped with, dishwasher,washing machine, full size fridge/freezer. We had a two bedroom lodge which also had a double sofa bed in the lounge. The on-site restaurant was excellent, good food, friendly staff and reasonable prices, most dishes about £8.50. Water sports available, indoor pool and spa with steam room. Ideal for families of all ages

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to learn that you had a pleasurable stay at Pine Lake Resort, found it comfortable and your lodge well appointed, and that you enjoyed your use of our leisure facilities.
We would like to note that we take great pride in our restaurant and we are determined to provide our guest with a high class dining experience. Our team members strive to offer excellent quality of service and we have of course passed your words of appreciation to them. We do hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews