We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for Sightseeing”
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed a week in Pine Lake Cottage, Well maintained, clean, safe location. Excellant home base for regional sightseeing. Ate at on-site resturant twice, food & beer were good and fair priced. Overall an excellant value for the area. Large grocery store nearby. Several good resturants in town. We cooked in unit and sat on the porch lakeside watching the swans and ducks in the lake a few times. Only 2 minor complaints, they want an extra 7 lb a day [or 30 lb a week]for wifi internet and they charge a power surcharge if you go over? some amount our surcharge was 9 1/2 lb for the week, not much but still an annoyance.
I would still favorably recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in a lodge for a week in july right on the lakes edge which was beautiful. The lodge was 2 beds and spacious lounge and fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, but was tried and worn and in need off updating, on the plus side the bed was very comfortable and bedding was good and of high standard.The cleaning staff came into lodge every two days, which is was a nice suprise for a self catering lodge. The swimming pool ,sauna and steam room we used most days and were always clean and hot. My son and his friend used the watersports centre on the lake to canoe, thrill rides pulled behind a power boat on a disc and chair which they loved ,the down side was he was looking forward to some sailing but at £50 for 2 hours was way to expensive. They also fished most evenings right outside the lodge a perfect end to a day for them. The staff on site were always friendly and helpful. overall if the lodge was updated we would loved to come back to a great resort and location

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We staid for 2 nights in a studio on a rainy weekend in July.

We booked using a Groupon voucher and were a little surprised when we arrived that our accommodation was a studio rather than a lodge. To be fair though we felt the studios were pleasant and very well equipped with everything you need.

As others have mentioned there is nothing really with in reasonable walking distance of the resort and if you like a night out you will definitely need to get a taxi if you fancy a drink. There is the onsite bar which was okay but nothing special and the drinks were we felt slightly on the pricey side. We were disappointed that on a Saturday night there is no entertainment on but this did not spoil our evening.

One of the nicest things we felt was the ducks that come and visit you at your studio door. I guess they are looking for a little snack!

All in all we enjoyed are stay but had 2 grumbles firstly we did not receive the champagne or chocolates that were part of the Groupon deal and we felt the beds were a little on the small side. My partner and I are both quite tall so it isn't comfy for us to sleep in a small bed. I appreciate having only double sized beds is nothing unusual for hotels etc but I really can not understand why they do not invest in beds bigger than a double for the relatively low extra cost so everyone can have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smiley-Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Positives first - it is quite a nice location - all the lodges are around the lake. The staff were very friendly and the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent. What makes it only adequate for us was that the lodge accommodation was a bit dated. Very clean and bedding etc was changed regularly - all you needed for self catering - but just not updated. Also it always seemed a bit cold in the lodge even if it was quite warm outside. Bit of noise from traffic in the early mornings.
Location wise in my view there isnt much doing in the immediate locality. We wanted to walk in the Lakes but its just a bit of a trek to go to there every day for walking - its about an hour to Ambleside - which isnt desperate but there and back each day is a bit wearing. All in all its OK - hence my adequate rating - just not fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Beautiful peaceful setting. We stayed 2 nights in one of the studios but would loved to have stopped longer. Lovely apartment. Spacious, fresh and airy with absolutely everything you could possibly need on a self catering break even a coffee maker. Real coffee is a make or break for me so finding that was a treat. Nice fluffy towels and toiletries too. There was even the facility to get takeaway (Basics, pizza, burgers etc.) from the bar menu so if you didn't want to sit and hear the rather loud childrens entertainer through the door from the bar to the lounge then you needn't do so. Food and bar prices were a little high but no more than you expect from such a resort.
Staff were marvellous. Friendly and helpful throughout. The leisure centre was rather crowded pre-breakfast time but beautifully warm and nicely clean. Shame I left my bathers and towel there though.
All in all as long as you have transport to get out and about this place is well worth the booking. Compares favourably with local hotels for value and comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cooking-With-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just come home from a 2 night stay which i purchase from groupon.
From the moment we arrived we was impressed.
we booked a lodge we was in 226, after checking in we had a drink then we went to our lodge.
there was me my wife, my 6 month old son and my mum and husband.
when we entered the lodge, we was shocked how big it is, and waiting was a bottle of bubbly and chocolates, there was tea coffee tea towels, towles, loo roll, washing tablets, diswasher tablets, washing up liquid and a small selection of toiletries.
there was 1 double room, 1 twin room, and a cot for my son, 2 leather sofas, as well as a patio set outside.
the lodge was opposite crazy golf, and 30 yards from swimming pool, we was about 300 yards from the reception, bar, and kids area.
the food was very good and good price, the beer was not bad price too.
there is a little shop that stocked basic things but the ,main things.
its so easy to find, and in the centre to visit places.
all in all we really enjoyed it, yes you need a car to get about, but hey thats good as you can visit some lovcely places.
the only downside i have about the plce is that the main west coast train line runs about 500 yrds from the place and very noisy if you have your windows open.
but only a small moan.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petejknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in the studio, which looks like it has been recently refurbished. Very modern and clean. Big comfy bed and very adequate kitchenette and bathroom. The Lakesde lodges looked lovely from the outside with amzing views of the lake. Wildlife quite friendly, although 1 of the swans wouldn't leave one the lodges alone! Very peaceful and we had lovely weather which made it ideal. Good base for venturing into Morcombe or other lake districts.
would definately return, especially if I got another cheap deal through groupon for it.

Room Tip: all seem to the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnforth
11.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range: $37 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the sweeping coastline, hilly countryside and village pubs of rural Lancashire, Pine Lake Resort provides a four star retreat, as rated by Visit England. It features a heated indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness centre and spa with steam room and sauna. Watersports and fishing are also available. Additional fees may apply. The Scandinavian-style lodges and cosy studios include a full or partial kitchen with hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Each accommodation has a private bathroom with bath or shower, heated towel rail and hairdryer. Freeview TV, a DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. Some lodges have a private veranda. The Lakes Bistro restaurant and bar provides delicious local and international cuisine in a friendly setting. For groceries, guests will find local supermarkets less than 5 minutes away in the centre of Carnforth. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, at an additional cost. The glorious scenery of the Lake District National Park, the Lune Valley and the Yorkshire Dales are easily reached in 30 minutes' drive. Local buses stop at the property entrance several times a day with access to Lancaster, Bowness, Ambleside and Keswick. Visit the Victorian seaside village of Arnside for a traditional bag of fish and chips, just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing