We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional bread and butter pudding?”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Burscough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Farmers Arms occupies a beautful canal side location in Burscough with amazing views over the local countryside.The entire venue was extensively refurbished in 2013 to provide great surroundings in which to enjoy top quality pub food and drink.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Came for the Christmas lunch - excellent in every respect, food service, atmosphere. However, I have never before in my life eaten bread and butter pudding with NO FRUIT in it. Or did I just get the wrong spoonful from the dish?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marged36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Marged36,

Thanks for your recent visit to sample our Christmas Fayre menu.

I am pleased that you found all aspects of your visit to be excellent.

I have asked the question in relation to fruit within the bread and butter pudding you have queried.. Our chefs make from scratch all of our desserts and individuals will use some creative license. The main thing for me is that you appear to have enjoyed the dessert.

I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Regards


Barry Donoghue
Venue Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 361 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

The canal-side location of this restaurant makes it a lovely location for dinner. The general atmosphere was pleasant, staff very friendly, the food was good. BUT the service was slow over an hour for our Garlic Bread, waited over one hour for the main course . They had run out of some meals on their menu, now this was a Saturday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear tinman48,

Thank you for your recent weekend visit and taking the tiem to post your thoughts on the experience.

I am glad that you appear to have enjoyed the visit and take on board your comments in relation to main course service time and items being sold out. I would confirm that everything on our menu is made to order from fresh local produce (which gives our customers the best quality food experience) and at busy times (in particular) this can mean that service time from order can be up to 45 minutes. I would agree that an hour is excessive in relation to your visit and would therefore apologize.

We run over thirty main courses (inc our daily specials) but as everything is freshly made on busy nights we can sell out of certain menu items. Whilst customers may find this initially disappointing I hope it is balanced by the knowledge that our chefs do not go into a freezer and pull out bought in/ready prepared meals as happens in a lot of large chain eateries.

I hope that you will visit us again in the near future and we can ensure you leave completely satisfied.

Regards

Barry Donoghue
Venue Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

MY sister and her family were home from Yorkshire for a pre Christmas visit so we decided to go out for a Christmas lunch as the next time she will be home is New Year.We were made very welcome when we arrived and were shown to our table immediately were our drink orders were taken.We all ordered the turkey Christmas lunch,and I must say we were all impressed with the quality of the food.We all had the 2 course menu,and at £11.95 it was a bargain.The restaurant was busy with lots of families all enjoying a pre Christmas meal.The staff are always pleasant and attentive,and even though its a half hour drive from our home it is well worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dottyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear dottyLiverpool,

Thank you for visiting us once again recently and letting us know your thoughts.

It is most pleasing to the Management Team that you enjoy the food/expereince as much as you have confirmed - especially as we know you regularly travel a reasonable distance to visit us.

We will strive to ensure that we continue to provide a quality experience each and every time you visit us in the future.

Thanks again.

Regards


Barry Donoghue
Venue Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This old pub is in a very quiet and unique position along side the Leeds and Liverpool canal and serving quality cask ales.As president of Burscough motor Boat club our committee voted to have our Christmas dinner at the Farmers as some members could moor and sleep on board.This is a very clean and friendly place with very helpful staff.We helped the catering by getting all members menu orders and handed them in 4 days prior to our evening event.The food was very very good and generous too and was enjoyed by all.Three courses at £13.95.is good value the atmosphere was excellent which was helped with our large raffle we had,and good wine as well.P.S. on most of my visits to different places the price of wine is like London and Paris prices.Thank you on behalf of B.M.B.C. for a superb night .Phone.01704 896021.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 549dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear 549dennis,

Thank you very much for choosing to hold the Burscough Motor Boat Club christmas meal recently at our venue, and taking the time to let us know your thoutghts on the experience.

I am pleased that you and your colleagues appear to have very much enjoyed all aspects of the evening and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards


Barry Donoghue
Venue Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked a table for 10 people three weeks ago at the Farmers Arms. When checking all was ok earlier this week the restaurant manager tried to fob us off onto 2 separate tables. Attempting to convince us that there had been larger reservations before us. His colleague confirmed this was not the case. We were eventually offered a table in the pub not the restaurant, all together which suited us fine.

We went to the pub with friends visiting from across the country after eating at The Farmers in the summer. A pleasurable dining experience was had by all earlier in the year. We'd be warned that some of our friends had not experienced the best service and food recently, but have had no issues ourselves in the past.

After ordering drinks at our table, we were told at 8pm(!) on a Saturday(!) that they had run out of most meals on their menu. No burgers. No steak. No mixed grill. Limited Fish. It resulted in us leaving with our guests to get a takeaway, very embarrassing after building the local up so much.

Great make over. Normally brilliant staff. Let yourselves down this time and we won't be bringing guests again in the future.

    • Food
2  Thank Viking1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Viking 1026,

I am very sorry to hear that your recent return visit to our venue with friends was a dissapointing experience and would therefore firstly offer our apologies.

I have looked into the matter with the staff who were on shift in order to understand and provide response.

After checking with our Operations and Venue Manager I would confirm that there were no subsequent large party bookings (following your own) given preference in the restaurant. However upon your booking three weeks prior the staff member who took your booking should have clearly communicated we were full at your desired time for large bookings in the restaurant and ensured you were happy to be seated in the bar.

Our food is 100% freshly prepared with fresh local ingredients delivered daily. We had an exceptionally busy Saturday afternoon in the venue which did mean that we sold out of a number of menu items. This is obviously not ideal from a customer's prespective but can occur resultant from our commitment to using the freshest ingredients. Including our daily specials we carry close to thirty main course items on a daily basis and so hope that we can satisfy with an alternative in such an instance. The fact it appears we were unable to do so in this case is most regretable.

The fact that your experience was not to the high standards you have previously enjoyed and after recommending us to the rest of your party is hugely disappointing to us and we can only apologize and hope that you will visit us again in order we can ensure you leave entrely satisfied.


Regards


Barry Donoghue
Venue Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Arms also viewed

Lathom, Ormskirk
Burscough, Ormskirk
 

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing