We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
"Photography"

I decided to visit Martin Mere early morning ,to catch the best of the sunlight. There is a large... read more

Reviewed today
Philfromcheshire
,
Cheshire
Love this place

We have a membership and come here usually a few times a month with our toddler. He absolutely... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Edenwood7
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 901 reviews
  
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
585
240
50
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
585
240
50
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck canoe safari pond dipping the reserve bird watching all ages wild birds play area annual membership whooper swans pink footed geese otters being fed wetland centre different species bird seed captive birds different areas
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 901 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited Martin Mere today as we had never been and wanted to watch the birds and enjoy the countryside. It's quite expensive to get in- just over £10 per adult, but there's lots to do to fill the day. We're not expert bird watchers but enjoyed sitting in the many hides and seeing what we could see. We took binoculars which were needed - you can hire them there but they cost £5 and you have to leave a £20 deposit. The cafe was nice - you can sit out and watch the birds. Medium priced - £3 for a sandwich.
We hired a canoe (£5) for an hour and really enjoyed paddling around the waterways watching the ducks, etc, close up.
The only thing we were not very happy with were the very many captive birds there - whilst I guess some can be argued to be for breeding programmes, whole sections of the place felt a lot like a zoo - not what we had gone for or expected. I wonder how they keep the birds there as there aren't roofs on the enclosures? They even have flamingoes - can't believe they enjoy life in the UK! So that was a shame and probably means we won't go back.

2  Thank Margaret391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited here often as a child and unfortunately my memories are of being quite bored waiting in bird hides. I haven't been here for probably 20 years.
Anyway I am assured the site has been upgraded significantly over the years and there is more to do. We decided to visit this morning, a lovely sunny day. I have 2 boys who have just turned 2 and 4 years old.
The adventure playground is different but not really good for the little one, more for school age kids. The cafe is good but expensive.
Overall, we left feeling disappointed, a lot of money for not a lot. We dragged out a 2.5 hour visit and it cost nearly £30 for 2 adults and 1 paying child. I had higher expectations based on the entrance cost. We will not be returning.

Great if you like bird watching. Otherwise, I am sorry to say your hard earned pounds are better spent elsewhere.

2  Thank Hazzle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWTMartinMere, Marketing Manager at WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Martin Mere. It is something we always hear at the centre ‘I haven’t been there since I was a child’ but it is encouraging to hear so many people coming for another visit after so many years, and especially good that you received good word of mouth to prompt you to visit us again. I am sorry, however, that the centre did not meet your expectations. We do endeavour to have a large number of activities happening at the weekends and during the holidays that are included in the admission price so that families spend a large amount of time at the centre and get excellent value for money. These activities in July would have included the pond dipping, bug hunts, family crafts, otter feeds and also the canoe safari, den building and electric boat experience, and the duckling nursery being open to walk through. We have a smaller play area up by the canoes which is more designed for a younger child, but we certainly take your point about the new play area being more for over 4s. I am pleased you thought the cafe was good even if you did feel it was expensive. At the centre we do offer a variety of both indoor and outdoor picnic spaces, which is quite unusual for an attraction, but we do realise that in the current climate many of our visitors do choose to bring a picnic and we have changed and adapted to accommodate this. We also put on a series of events throughout the year that are included in the admission price that offer fantastic value for money. Maybe you would consider coming to our Animal Magic event on 21 & 22 September when you can cuddle skunks, meerkats, reptiles, see birds of prey and so much more – it is one of our most popular family events and it is all included with admission to be sure you will spend at least 4 hours here and have a great day out. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently visited Martin Mere with a group of people, some of who are disabled and some in wheelchairs. To make sure that the day was a success a friend & I arranged to have a guided tour a couple of months ago to ensure that the venue would be suitable for our group. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful both on our original 'recce' and on the day of our visit. The access is great for wheelchairs, most of the paths are paved and the hides are accesible. There are disabled loos at various locations in the centre and wheelchairs available to borrow if needs be. Everything is on one level, as is the large spacious cafe, the shop & small exhibition room. The main attraction for our group was the newly established boat ride which lasts 25 minutes and wends it's way through the reed beds at the rear of the property. The boat is a flat bottomed electrically powered boat which can hold 8 people. The front of the boat can be winched down to allow a wheelchair to be wheeled onto the boat. We had 3 trips with one wheelchair on each boat but it is possible for the boat to take 2 wheelchairs (this, however, cuts down the number of able bodied people who can then be in the boat at the same time). If you are thinking of trying the boats out, it would be best to contact the centre and discuss your needs with the staff.
If you decide to walk further make sure that you have comfy footwear as there is quite a bit of walking up to some of the hides. However, there are loads of seats along the route, plently in shade, and loads of picnic benches if you fancy a stop for your butties.
I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, as it is a lovely and interesting day out. We, by no means, covered the whole site because we spent quite a while in the cafe. The weather was beautiful and we had lunch on the cafe's veranda, overlooking 'Swan Lake' with all it's birdlife.
Hopefully we will return at a different time of year when we can see other birdlife.
A special thanks to Belinda, Paul & Dave who made the day special.

5  Thank LancsRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWTMartinMere, Membership Coordinator at WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review – we really appreciate it! We’re glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely tranquil place to visit.feed the ducks,see the otters and beavers,kids had great fun in the play area and a lovely walk.Take a picknic there are plenty places to sit and eat.

1  Thank willmrpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWTMartinMere, Membership Coordinator at WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - we're really glad you had such a great time and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an enjoyable day at Martin Mere and the sun was out which made all the difference.

There is a lot of walking so Ladies where some comfortable shoes, bring sun cream as well as I'm unsure if they sell it there, you can buy food for the birds on the way round.

There is restaurants and food places on site. The food is delicious but it is rather pricey.
If you are in a family it may be worth bring a picnic.

If you can visit the otters at feeding time then you will get the chance to see them rather than them being asleep or hiding.

They do discount for unemployed people so bring your job seekers paper to get some money off your entry fee.

3  Thank BAHPANTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWTMartinMere, Membership Coordinator at WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks so much for your review - we're glad you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews